We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Glendavan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendavan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Dinnet B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I can't fault this wonderful house and hosts. We have stayed in plenty of castles and mansion houses but this had the most perfect mix of quality and price. We were welcomed by Alan who showed us around the house and to our suite (which was a surprise to me since I thought i'd booked only a room), Then he bought up tea and shortbread to our room and explained something about local walks. The location was really nice - away from the road so no traffic noise, views of the forest and hills in the distance.
The room itself had a huge bathroom and lovely big bath. the sitting room with writing desk was lovely also as was the cosy bedroom and four poster bed.
Breakfast also exceeded expectations when the friendly Rebecca cooked up one of the best breakfasts i've had and a huge serving also. There was a great selection of fresh fruits and youghurt and cereals also on offer.
It turned out we'd been upgraded from the bedroom to the upstairs suite, which was very welcome and done at no extra charge.
The only problem with the stay was that we only booked one night and are longing to go back already. I would put this in the top 5 places we've stayed in ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Le066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Superb suite (bedroom, sitting room and bathroom) in beautiful home in the Cairngorms. Great welcome and hospitality from Rebecca, Moira and Alan. They immediately made us feel at home and were very helpful with expert advise.
So much enjoyed looking from our bedroom window in the morning at the red squirrels having their snacks, before being spoilt ourselves by a wonderful full Scottish breakfast.
Hope to come back to this lovely place in the near future. No better place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I cannot praise this B&B enough we stayed for 3 nights and it was absolutely fantastic from the warm welcome on arrival to the first class breakfasts everything was perfect. Rebecca and Alan could not have been more helpful. We really enjoyed the red squirrels. Hope to be back again soon. Once again thank you. Michele and Mark

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fantastic hosts who were very helpful and provided the most amazing home cooked breakfast in a lovely room. Rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Wonderful fresh produce superbly cooked and we had comfortable lounge to use with beautiful fire.
Great location for visiting Balmoral and other local towns – all very pretty with good variety of restaurants. Local scenery was lovely with short walks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited Glendavan House whilst attending my niece's wonderful wedding at Birse church and the Coo Cathederal. The hositality and welcoming atmosphere makes this a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.The surroundings are breathtaking as are the red squirrells. Breakfast was first class. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Alan fot the delicious shortbread, yes it does have magical properties!!
The four poster bed was so comfortable, a great nights sleep.Would definately recommend a stay here to anyone.

Room Tip: Every room had a special quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am currently working in Aberdeen but after a few months of staying in overpriced and overrated hotels in the centre I decided to get out into the countryside and take in some of the wildlife and views Deeside has to offer. I found the a Glendavan on trip advisor and it looked perfect, I was not mistaken!

Everything you read on trip advisor about this venue is 100% correct, the family that own and run the venue are absolutely lovely, the attention to detail is outstanding and they all make you feel really welcome.

The venue itself is spotless with very comfortable beds and rooms, the service and food on offer is also of the highest quality and the owners local knowledge is a great asset when looking for places to visit or local restaurants. There is lots I could say about this venue but previous guests have already said it! I undertake a lot of business related travel and stay in some really nice larger hotels but none of them can compare to the welcome and hospitality of Glendavan house, thank you guys for making my stay away from home so comfortable and pleasant, keep up the good work.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Jcbaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We've just stayed here and it's hard to add anything else that's not already been said about this truly wonderful place It's so much more than a B&B, deserves all the amazing reviews & is truly outstanding in every respect A very special place where you instantly feel at home, cared for & don't want to leave Just read the reviews & if you're ever in the area this is the only place to stay
So to all at Glendavan thank you for a fantastic weekend & looking after us in 6 star luxury in your beautiful home
We will be back :) Fiona & Tony

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ogston Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinnet
0.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
No 45
No 45
#2 of 17 in Ballater
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morven Lodge
Morven Lodge
#4 of 17 in Ballater
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendavan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendavan House

Address: Glendavan House Road B9119, Dinnet, Ballater AB34 5LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater > Dinnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dinnet
Price Range: $169 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glendavan House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendavan House is a 5* Gold Bed and Breakfast offering quality accommodation in spacious and luxurious suites of rooms. Each suite comprises large bedroom, en-suite bathroom and en-suite sitting room with real coal fires that will be lit for you in the evenings. The Ogston Suite also comprises a lovely conservatory from which you can watch the army of red squirrels and birds that play on the decking outside. Situated in glorious and peaceful countryside fringing the Muir of Dinnet Nature reserve and within the Cairngorms National Park, Glendavan House offers a fabulous retreat from busy life. Peace and relaxation guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Glendavan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing