We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Love this cottage so relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy dine in kitchen with open fire and modern appliances Open fire in the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Cozy dine in kitchen with open fire and modern appliances
Open fire in the kitchen
Upstairs bedroom
Triple bedroom
Double bedroom
Cosy lounge with cable TV games, DVD's or just relax
Christmas at Barneys
The stunning Mourne Mountains in Winter
Nearby Tollymore Forest Park
Tollymore Park
View to the private garden
Private garden great sunny spot
View from first floor
Close to the beach
Newcastle
Game of Thrones Country
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dundrum, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
vonne155
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this cottage so relaxing”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a lovely stay at Barneys.This is our 6th time.The weather was lovely and the front garden is a sun trap.Very quiet location but near beach and plenty of places to eat.Thankyou again Julie

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely homely cottage, nicely decorated fresh and modern and caters well for kids”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at Barneys cottage 19th-21st June with my 2 yr old daughter and my parents.

The house is mostly fresh and modern which is hard to find sometimes these days with good kitchen equipment, wifi and TV facilities and most of all there was a mattress in the travel cot which was great to see as a lot of places we stay only cater a travel cot with the plank of wood mattress with a very thin layer of padding which isn't comfortable. So that was great to see. Also there was children's plastic cups and plates available.
My daughter loved the space to run about throughout the downstairs area and the front enclosed garden.
It's a great price for the amount of people it can cater. The location is nicely situated inbetween Dundrum and Newcastle. We will definatly stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: facilities for children, fresh and modern kitchen with homely open fire, sitting room and bedrooms and enclosed front garden
Liked least: upstairs bathroom was slightly dated and shower in the bath wasn't practical, but downstairs showroom was used instead.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crispy201...
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family getaway”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I have just come home from the loveliest weekend in this cottage. Barneys Cottage is spectacular and is beautifully decorated and with all the mod cons to make life easier when away from home. Nestled in the country side with with beautiful views of the Mournes a moments walk away. It's close to both Newcastle and Dundrum. A perfect treat for anyone just wanting a little bit of peace and quiet.
Will hopefully return some day....soon I hope!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2015
Thank you so much. So glad you had a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARILYNWI...
Belfast,Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Barney's cottage”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I travelled with my elderly mother and my sister who had booked this Cottage just outside Dundrum, . The Cottage is set in quiet peaceful surroundings with other Cottages nearby. It has a good size front garden, we just parked in the path at the front. When you enter you come into a lovely large kitchen, to the left a good sized Living room and Bedroom with single bed and bunk beds. Above the Kitchen is the Twin bedded room and Bathroom, to the right of the Kitchen a Double bedroom and shower room. The Cottage is situated close to places of interest with Newcastle and Castlewellan just a short distance away. There is everything you need in the cottage for a self Catering holiday so I have no hesitation in recommending Barney's Cottage as we had a wonderful stay. My only complaint is the size of the television in the Living room, as it is on the small side for anyone with bad eyesight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and comfort of the Cottage
Liked least: The small television in the Living room
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vonne155
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cosy home and within driving distance of lovely beach at Murlough”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely time in this cottage this is our 5th time to stay.lovely location and very private with nice garden.Would be even nicer if the gardener we'd the flower beds.I had my 92 year with me and the downstairs bedroom and bathroom suited her well

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Thanks for your review, Yvonne. I'm so glad you had a good time. I've reminded the gardener about the weeds.
Kind regards,
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliMariaC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing holiday spot”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We took this holiday let to host a family reunion and lunch and then stay on for a holiday. Everybody loved it! The cottage was much more spacious and airy than the pictures on the website indicated. The kitchen is big and welcoming and perfect for a group. The garden gets the sunshine all day and is great for small children as it is grassy and enclosed - all in all it was lovely!! It's good for all the attractions like Tollymore Park Forest. We were lucky with four days of sunshine and went paddling at the soft sands of Tyrella Beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you had a good time.
Kind regards, Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoobydoo...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed home from home”
Reviewed December 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely cottage in beautiful countryside, has everything you need a large garden and close to local beaches

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing