We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth rewards in irish news and sunday life as best gastro pub 2012”
Review of The Dundrum Inn

The Dundrum Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Dundrum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
saintfield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“well worth rewards in irish news and sunday life as best gastro pub 2012”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

saw awards for best gastropub in ni so checked it out 2 weeks ago nice decor very efficient waitress michelle had a verygood steak sandwich no wonder it was getting busy while i was there at lhunchtime. the menu has good combo of meat and seafood dishes at good value prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a great place to eat.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed lunch in the Dundrum Inn on Saturday 5th January '13. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere with a quirky arrangement of tables and chairs which adds to the relaxing feel which you sense as soon as you walk into it. For starter I had a thoroughly delicious chicken liver parfait with brioche. My lunch partner was very complimentary about his Caesar Salad. We both chose beer battered cod with chips for our main. The presentation and taste were excellent. The overall service was very warm, friendly and unobtrusive. Would definitely recommend the Dundrum Inn!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael4051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What A Surprise”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I have been to Dundrum quite a number of times and have always been impressed by the quality of the restaurants. Last time we visited in June we were told that we should try the Dundrum Inn, but unfortunately it was closed. So this time we booked and went on a Friday evening. The restaurant was quite quiet, but we got a very warm welcome from the waiting staff. The menu was very inventive in particular the starters we had a warm goats cheese and pink peppercorn salad served with honeycomb. I was somewhat unconvinced by the honeycomb, but it really worked. Fortunately we had looked at the portion sizes coming out of the kitchen and shared the starter which was a very generous portion.
The main courses were good as usual my husband opted for a steak and to his great delight it was served blue which is extremely rare to get anywhere in the UK. Then to dessert we shared a lemon and thyme creme brulee which was positively divine.
The wine list was limited but great value as was the food, the service whilst pleasant was quite slow which suited us as we were out for a leisurely evening, it was just a shame to see it so quiet. The only thing I would say is don't be put off by the pub the Dundrum Inn, based on what it looks like we would never have ventured into the restaurant and we are so glad we did,

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, disappointing service!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good food but found the waitresses unfriendly and impatient. Surely in this economic climate restaurants should be doing more to provide a good service. Improving the atmosphere and table service would make this a very good restaurant but as is, the skill of the chef is being adversely affected by front of house.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food/ if you don't mind the wait!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Went to the dundrum inn the other night for an evening meal with my wife and two kids. This place has been given quite a bit of publicity lately and the decor and food have improve leaps and bounds from a few years ago. A young new chef in the kitchen who knows what he's at . This come through in the food he serves and in the last two occasions we ate here the food has been first class. But I have one complaint on both occasions we ate here it took and age to receive our food. We waited an hour on our last visit for 2 mains and two kids meals and 40 minutes wait last week. If you are not in a hurry the food is worth waiting for but as most parents will tell you this wait is not nice when accompanied by 2 children

Helpful?
Thank Foodcomesbeforelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dundrum Inn also viewed

Dundrum, County Down
 
Dundrum, County Down
 

Been to The Dundrum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing