We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely hospitable”
Review of Arley House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arley House B & B
Ranked #2 of 3 Dundrum B&B and Inns
Roeselare, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely hospitable”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here with 2 couples. Unfortunately, one of us went ill. On our demand of staying one more night, Arlene managed it so that we could stay here for another comfortable night. Very clean rooms and excellent breakfast. When in this region later, definitely our choice again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlene r, Owner at Arley House B & B, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write,
not nice to be ill on your holidays
glad we could help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights, we arrived early Friday evening and were met by the lovely Arlene. She is everything Tripadvisor said she would be, extremely hospitable, so friendly and helpful, she made us feel instantly at home. Our room was small, but clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The house is situated close to the village and since for a change the weather was dry we enjoyed a leisurely stroll to one of the many great restaurants. That said is was reassuring to know that we had our own personal taxi service if we needed it
The next morning we had a superb breakfast in fact it was so sunstantial that neither of us ate for the rest of the day!
We will definitley be back. Congratulations you have a lovely B&B, two very well behaved young boys and of course let's not forget Molly your beautiful dog.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlene r, Owner at Arley House B & B, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
thanks hilary, your kind words mean a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We got this stay as a present and loved it.
Clean, spacious, modern, a friendly host and a great breakfast, what else do you need.
Taxi service at very decent prices is a great 'extra'.
Very nice place to be.
Well recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirola73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlene r, Owner at Arley House B & B, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
hi, thank you for your kind words '
we are glad you enjoyed your time with us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Arley for a long weekend in the Newcastle area over the 12th July. The bubbly and friendly landlady (Arlene) clearly enjoys what she does and couldn't do enough to help (thanks for looking after our bikes!). Filling breakfast with help-yourself tea/coffee throughout the day. The landlady lives here with her husband, 2 kids and adorable pet golden retrevor dog. It's lovely to stay with a real local family. Worth pointing out that my fiancee doesn't like dogs and commented on how exceptionally well behaved Molly is. (Molly is kept out of the guest areas and isn't just running around freely).

A short 10 minute walk takes you into Dundrum. There are some very nice restaurants in the village, a few shops etc. Across the road from the B&B is a lovely coastal walk/cycle path and picnic area (signposted Murlough Cottages). Plenty of off-road parking and a big front garden. Modern, clean and tidy rooms, dining/living room for guests with large screen TV. Easy to find.

Would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pault1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlene r, Owner at Arley House B & B, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
hello
many thanks for your kind words , they mean a lot.
we are glad you had a comfortable stay
and we are pleased to have meet you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in may and enjoyed a friendly and very warm reception from the hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. The room was clean and comfortable, we would have prefrred softer beds but thats a sign of age. The breakfast was cooked to our exacting requirements. We made use of the taxi service provided by the husband which was a very wecome bonus. A quiet small family run business that deserves to suceed. The hosts are very customer responsive and provide good value for money. Well done to Greg and Arlene

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very clean and comfortable, I was surprised at how nice it was for a B&B, the most well behaved dog and children were just as welcoming as the owners which ended up being more like freinds than hoteliers. The husband is a taxi driver which removed all the stress from getting around and very affordable, alot better than hiring a car as he picked us up from the airport. My room and bathroom looked brand new and the beds were very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was amazing and it had a nice lounge area for guests which was very tastefully decorated in chocolate and lime.
If you were ever to run your own B&B and wanted to make it perfect, this is what you would have to live up to. Well done Arley B&B!! xxx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlene r, Owner at Arley House B & B, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
so glad you had a comfortable stay lewis .
many thanks for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worms, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stay for 8 nights in this very nice b&b, there was a very warm welcam, the rooms and showers are very clean, their two sons a also lovley and greeted us every time their see us. There was every morning a good fresh breakfast, so she give us a feeling to be in her family. She ask us every time ist always ok, does we need anything, so she was so perfectly and so helpfull.
The rooms are so quiert, the bed was so good, also for people who has problems with their back.
We say thank you for all the lovley moments in this b&b.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundrum
4.0 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
122 reviews
4.0 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arley House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arley House B & B

Property: Arley House B & B
Address: 14 Belfast Road, Dundrum BT33 0NG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Dundrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dundrum
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Arley House B & B Dundrum, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing