We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killinchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Killinchy B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband found this little gem after searching the Internet, and what a find!!
The lady that owns this fabulous B&B was away enjoying this joys of a new born relative, leaving a very charming Garreth to welcome us. We arrived, typically in a very wet and grey N.Ireland but Garreths welcome soon chased the grey clouds away. He was very informative showing us to our superb Strangford Lough facing room that was beautifully and contemporary decorated. Each morning we were served a lovely freshly prepared cooked Ulster fry with side orders of home-cooked bread and homemade preserve.
Garreth was always willing to meet our needs …although I was rather tempted to ask for Eggs Benedict for breakfast just to be little cruel ;) Garrett was a mind of knowledge of local tourist attractions and coastal towns to visit and was very willing to spend time to chat...he was a pleasure to meet......Jenny he did you proud. Thank you for a fabulous stay well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midge1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
So glad that my "Stand In" Garreth was such a hit. Of course I think he is rather special, being my nephew, and felt happy that I was leaving Hunters Lodge in very capable hands. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is much appreciated. Jenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for the Balloo House meal & accommodation special. It sounds quite difficult to find this spot but follow the instructions and its straightforward enough. There were 4 of us (2 couples) and we were greeted by the charming Garreth (Jenny was away). He showed us around the wonderful property and the absolutely stunning views over Strangford Lough and some islands. For late September the weather was also great, which added to the super atmosphere.

The meal at Balloo was amazing also - very a la carte - and 5 proper food courses (not a tea & coffee course!!).

Back to the house after and relaxed with a glass of wine in the garden; up next morning to a great breakfast - really making the most of local produce (Clandeboye yoghurts, etc) and lovely fresh breads. The cooked breakfast was delicious overlooking the lough from the mezzanine dining room.

Altogether a really wonderful trip, a gorgeous house and Balloo was great too - I would 100% recommend Hunters Lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank johnnythunders18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I think I will need to go away more often, your review was great to read. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that Garreth got such well deserved praise. thank you for your kind comments. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for one night on 13th August as birthday gift coupled with dinner at the Balloo House.
Wonderful Jenny welcomed us at the door with the waft of baked bread coming from the kitchen.
This we sampled the next morning with great relish, along with a fantastic cooked breakfast which would put many a top class hotel to shame. The freshly prepared fruit salad was a work of art, and my wife was sorry not to have taken photos to show our friends.
The room was excellent, and on opening the internal window shutters in the morning, the sun shone across the lough into the room, with a brilliant view of Conley Island.
We would not hesitate to recommend this superb B & B.
Jenny you are the ' Hostest with the mostest'
John & Kate, Bangor

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murray_john17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Oh, thank you so much for your kindness, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights while visiting family nearby. The views from the spacious room were fabulous...room tastefully decorated, with all amenities. Jenny was a marvellous host and catered for all our breakfast needs. Homemade bread and jams were delicious, and we enjoyed being guinea-pigs to new jam recipes! All in all, it made for a relaxing stay - thank you Jenny!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 999MaryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Your review made my laugh, thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed Saturday 7th September in this incredible (in every way) B and B. Greeted by Jenny and shown our fantastic room with an even better view. Jenny is a truly natural hostess....and has thought of everything from home baking (the wheaten is to die for!) to the honesty bar for our use in the reading area. Complete tranquility at this beautiful location. We went to Balloo house for dinner.....Jenny organised a taxi and assured us she would drop us over if there was any problem (there wasn't). Best nights sleep in this tranquil setting....only to be treated to a breakfast fit for royalty!! Freshly prepared fruit salads, and really whatever you wanted as a cooked breakfast, which was served with a range of juices/coffees and teas. The homemade preserves were delicious...and the homemade bread too (it's second mention in this review for good reason!!!!) We were given a detailed explanation of the attractions in the surrounding area (Jenny using her framed map of the locality) and have to say....we will definitely be back. There are many 'great' hotels that could learn a lot from a nights stay at Hunters Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oilrigger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, and for taing the time to review your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Heavenly from start to finish.We'll be back!
Situated in the beautiful village of Whiterock ,this impressive house built on a cliff edge commands stunning views of Strangford Lough.Our bedroom was spacious and tastefully decorated ,one nice touch was the honesty bar.Breakfast made by Jenny made full use of local produce and the home made wheaten bread was fabulous.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank barnetts_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much, it is always appreciated when guests take the time to review their stay. Thank you so much, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived to a very warm welcome from Jenny. She showed us to our rooms which were spacious, spotlessly clean, both with en-suites and lovely little touches such as unexpected toiletries and candles.. It was my birthday and there was a cupcake with candle in our room. The views from our room were just fabulous! The guest rooms are on a separate (top) floor from the family so it doesn't feel, as some guesthouses do, that you are intruding.

Jenny was very informative and gave us lots of information on the local area. We went out for the evening and returned for a very comfortable night's sleep. There is an honesty bar on the landing if you fancy a night cap,

The next morning we had a lovely breakfast, where we had choice of yoghurts, cereals, homemade breads and conserves, a fruit platter and cooked breakfast....I was even offered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, but chose the full Irish instead. After breakfast we went for a walk, explored the garden and had lots of fun playing on the tennis courts. Lovely memories.

If you need to stay in North Down, I cannot recommend Hunter's Lodge highly enough. We will definitely be back. Thank you very much Jenny for such lovely hospitality.

Room Tip: My favourite room was the larger double with sea views, but my sons who didn't have sea view had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink-winged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Gosh, thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you had such a good time, and I look forward to your return visit. Many, many thanks! Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killinchy
7.9 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
11.1 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#2 of 2 in Comber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
0.9 mi away
Bayview House
Bayview House
#4 of 4 in Killinchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B

Property: Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Address: 18 Inisharoan | Whiterock, Killinchy BT23 6QF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killinchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Killinchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Lodge B&B is situated on the shores of Strangford Lough, and offers outstanding views from each bedroom. Within 30 mins of Belfast City Airport, it offers quiet luxury in this area of outstanding beauty. Perfectly situated to experience the "Ulster Way" for walking and cycling and never far from a golf course or two. Fine Dining is available within a couple of miles, and local Pub within walking distance. Northern Ireland Tourist Board approved. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing