We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killinchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Killinchy B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although we only stayed here for one night we couldn't have had a better experience. Our room was just perfect for a relaxed stay. Jenny, the hostess, couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived late and we had an early reservation in Balloo house. Jenny went above and beyond and gave us a lift and we managed to get there in time. The breakfast the next morning was delicious, especially the home baked breads. The views around the entire BB are breathtaking. The views alone are 5 star. Our stay here was superb and we did not want to leave. We will most definitely be back. Thank You Jenny for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you both so much. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and it was great that the sun came out, even if it was fleeting. I hope to see you again soon. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 105 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Came across Hunters Lodge via google last Spring when looking for somewhere to stay in Killinchy whilst meeting up with Cousins from California. Excellent time and well looked after by Jenny. More Cousins visting in October so booked for five night stay with my wife Karen. Enjoyed walking to the shore and over to Dafts Eddies on the Island for Guiness and local fish all really very good.Cant wait to go back over and relax in such comfortable surroundings with super service especially breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank. You so much for your review, and I am looking forward to seeing you again soon. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Truly outstanding B&B overlooking Strangford Lough. The views are amazing and rooms immaculately designed and maintained. What sets this B&B apart is the hospitality shown to us by the hostess, Jenny; she is exemplary in every aspect of how to look after guests and ensure they have the best time possible. The phrase 'nothing is too much trouble' is overused but is truly deserved by her. We are already planning our return trip to this area of Northern Ireland which has so much to offer and will definitely be staying at Hunter's Lodge again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugsGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write a review, but most of all thank you so much for your fabulous Olive Oil. Nothing like getting home produced food. Jenny!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed just after new years in Jan. 2013.
We arrived to be greeted with a stunning afternoon tea with lovely home-made scones along with a selection of sandwiches and cakes. Jenny who greeted us was very welcoming and friendly from the offset. We stayed in room number 2 with an en suite shower room. The room was very spacious and well laid out so we were very comfortable and did not want for anything. There are loads of DVD's, books and CD's to borrow if you have time. The honesty bar was also a very nice feature with wine and beers available. The guest house is very large and beautifully set out with large comfy lounge area with sofas etc to relax. The front of the house is a huge set of floor to ceiling windows giving amazing views across the lough. We went to the Balloo House Restaurant which is about 5 mins drive but Jenny was great and gave us a lift down and the local cab company was happy to pick us up. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a selection of fruits, yoghurt, cereal and breads and the choice of what type of cooked breakfast you required. (Ulster fry was lovely). All in all we had a lovely one night break away and would highly recommend it. Hopefully we will be able to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Your review made my laugh, thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review your stay. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a find! We stayed in this fab house with our girls. Jenny the owner helped with all our queries about what places were suitable for families, from sites to local resturants. The rooms where fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. This was not a part of N.I. we knew very well and being comfortable about asking advice made our tour of this beautiful location so much easier. Child friendly, great space and phoning ahead to Jenny to say "put the kettle on we are on our way and ready for afternoon tea" made us feel so special . We can't praise this hidden gem highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and especially for taking the time and trouble to review your stay. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a fab stay here the only shame was it was just for 1 night. Should have stayed longer. This is the standard others should aim for in N.Ireland but unfortunately fall far short of. From the welcome to the rooms to the breakfast the standard is high.
Look sourcing, homemade breads & jam make breakfast such a great treat you will want to linger for ages. Jenny is the perfect hostess and cook. If you ask her nicely she might even give you her special wheaten bread recipe.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orangebanana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night and wished we were staying longer. Superb location and excellent room with stunning view across the lough.
The hostess helped with booking an evening meal and even drove us to the location herself.
Breakfast was again excellent with beautiful views from the diding room. Would certainly recommend this and hope to visit again one day.
David and Claire. Derbyshire. UK.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maturecouple17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B

Address: 18 Inisharoan | Whiterock, Killinchy BT23 6QF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killinchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Killinchy
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Lodge B&B is situated on the shores of Strangford Lough, and offers outstanding views from each bedroom. Within 30 mins of Belfast City Airport, it offers quiet luxury in this area of outstanding beauty. Perfectly situated to experience the "Ulster Way" for walking and cycling and never far from a golf course or two. Fine Dining is available within a couple of miles, and local Pub within walking distance. Northern Ireland Tourist Board approved. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing