We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killinchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Killinchy B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed just after new years in Jan. 2013.
We arrived to be greeted with a stunning afternoon tea with lovely home-made scones along with a selection of sandwiches and cakes. Jenny who greeted us was very welcoming and friendly from the offset. We stayed in room number 2 with an en suite shower room. The room was very spacious and well laid out so we were very comfortable and did not want for anything. There are loads of DVD's, books and CD's to borrow if you have time. The honesty bar was also a very nice feature with wine and beers available. The guest house is very large and beautifully set out with large comfy lounge area with sofas etc to relax. The front of the house is a huge set of floor to ceiling windows giving amazing views across the lough. We went to the Balloo House Restaurant which is about 5 mins drive but Jenny was great and gave us a lift down and the local cab company was happy to pick us up. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a selection of fruits, yoghurt, cereal and breads and the choice of what type of cooked breakfast you required. (Ulster fry was lovely). All in all we had a lovely one night break away and would highly recommend it. Hopefully we will be able to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Your review made my laugh, thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a find! We stayed in this fab house with our girls. Jenny the owner helped with all our queries about what places were suitable for families, from sites to local resturants. The rooms where fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. This was not a part of N.I. we knew very well and being comfortable about asking advice made our tour of this beautiful location so much easier. Child friendly, great space and phoning ahead to Jenny to say "put the kettle on we are on our way and ready for afternoon tea" made us feel so special . We can't praise this hidden gem highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntersLodge11, Owner at Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and especially for taking the time and trouble to review your stay. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a fab stay here the only shame was it was just for 1 night. Should have stayed longer. This is the standard others should aim for in N.Ireland but unfortunately fall far short of. From the welcome to the rooms to the breakfast the standard is high.
Look sourcing, homemade breads & jam make breakfast such a great treat you will want to linger for ages. Jenny is the perfect hostess and cook. If you ask her nicely she might even give you her special wheaten bread recipe.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangebanana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here recently for one night and wished we were staying longer. Superb location and excellent room with stunning view across the lough.
The hostess helped with booking an evening meal and even drove us to the location herself.
Breakfast was again excellent with beautiful views from the diding room. Would certainly recommend this and hope to visit again one day.
David and Claire. Derbyshire. UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maturecouple17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

A jewel in the Garden of Ulster. For all fellow travellers, this is one of the most eyecatching, breath taking hidden B&B's that Europe has got to offer. My Wife and I spent 5 nights at Hunters Lodge, as a base to visit family and take in the revived tourism boom that Northern Ireland has got to offer. The Host and Hostess were perfect in every way, offering travel advice, great local knowledge, providing a warm and welcome stay. This getaway revived the batteries and we will endeavour to return when possible. Thank you to all. Mark and Dawn.

Room Tip: Lake (Lough) Side view revives the weariest sleep, first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 717Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killinchy
8.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
11.3 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#2 of 2 in Comber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview House
Bayview House
#4 of 4 in Killinchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B

Property: Hunters Lodge Luxury B&B
Address: 18 Inisharoan | Whiterock, Killinchy BT23 6QF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Killinchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Killinchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Lodge B&B is situated on the shores of Strangford Lough, and offers outstanding views from each bedroom. Within 30 mins of Belfast City Airport, it offers quiet luxury in this area of outstanding beauty. Perfectly situated to experience the "Ulster Way" for walking and cycling and never far from a golf course or two. Fine Dining is available within a couple of miles, and local Pub within walking distance. Northern Ireland Tourist Board approved. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing