We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, practical, friendly, but needs to stop expanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pillac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoir de Longeveau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we recently spent a few days at manoir de longeveau. we were unlucky with the weather, which unfortunately did colour our experience somewhat. the place is english run, the staff pleasant, always available but at the same time curiously invisible. the cottage we rented, chez jean, has a simply lovely first floor with 3 beds and 2 baths in super charming style. the downstairs was a bit disappointing, mainly due to the depressing blue and grey tiled floor and the musty smell in the downstairs bedroom. but it has a great kitchen. the garden is an enclosed but fairly uninspiring patch of lawn in between other buildings. it gets the sun from around 2pm, but lacks the charm necessary to transcend a suburban garden in sheffield.
there are pools and playgrounds galore for the kids, and the restaurant and bar are perfectly good.
all in all, if the weather is good and you're not confined to the cottage contemplating de damp patch of grass on the other side of the rather wet window pane, the manoir de longeveau has all the makings of a great, practical base camp for your family holiday in france.
one thing the staff might want to consider is easing off a bit on the expansion. the estate is already quite large, but e
with building going on all around it, it is in real danger of becoming a replica of an english suburb, set in the french countryside. and that's not why we go there, right?

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank chatdemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was lucky enough to get married at Longeveau in May 2013, and it was without doubt the best day of my life!

The place is amazing, ran by brilliant people, the food was fantastic and I genuinely couldnt have wished for anything better......oh and the sun was shining!

What more could a girl ask for. I could not reccommend the accomodation and facilities more highly.

Room Tip: The variety of accomodation available at Longeveau was one of the main reasons why we chose to get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraCavMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from a great holiday at Manoir de Longeveau, staying at the Vielle Grange which has beautiful views over the gorgeous French countryside. We really enjoyed our stay and although the weather wasn't great everyday we made the most of it with trips to Aubeterre, Perigeoux and Brantome. We travelled with 2 children under 3.5y and they both loved the playgrounds, tennis courts and even golf course. The bar was a lovely place to meet and everyone we met was very friendly. The pools were a little chilly for the girls but it didn't spoil our holiday. The spa was great and all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. When our flight was delayed it was no problem to stay for the day while we sorted oursleves out. Would love to yoga classes or a gym area next time we come!

Room Tip: Speak to the staff on the phone before you book to make sure you get something that meets all your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATIEG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed at Longeveau twice. Both times we have had a fabulous time. We have been a party of very different age groups, but we have enjoyed a lovely holiday each time. The properties at Longeveau are all delightful and offer superb accommodation in a delightful setting. The family enjoyed the golf, tennis swimming and the bar and restaurant facilities. I would certainly recommend Longeveau for anyone wanting to enjoy the peace of the French countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenifer_caveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Longeveau was the amazing venue for a friends wedding, Set in the French rolling hills, it is a gem hidden from the masses. Having travelled with a wedding party of approx 100 it made an idealic setting for such a prestigious event. The staff at Longeveau are amazing, they are so accommodating to their visitors needs are go out of they way to please.

The accommodation are all unique with so much character yet have fully functioning facilities making eating in as easy as going out.

Longeveau has an amazing golf course. As a 'non' golfer i was proud of 1 under on the final par 3! Tennis courts are available and a communal pool always amazes.

I could not think of a better wedding venue as this has it all, It even had AMAZING hot weather for the duration of our trip.

Well done to all behind the scenes at Longeveau you have definitely got this one right!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Walking around the grounds of the Manoir de Longveau is a pleasure for young and old. There's lots of nature (Butterflies and very vocal Frogs!), a golf course, pool, tennis courts and the historical rental cottages themselves to see. We visited for a wedding and what a lovely one it was too. White chairs were laid out on the grass over looking the scenery with fabric and trinkets hanging from fruit trees. The barn was used for the reception decorated with fairy lights. The staff worked extremely hard but still had time to dance and celebrate too. The cottages were lovely, decorated well and had everything we needed. Fresh croissants, bread and pain au chocolat are delivered daily (need to put your order in the day before) A car is essential and we would recommend visiting the very quaint and colourful town of Aubeterre near by. Well done Manoir we had a lovely time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgt_Belko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited Longeveau over the Easter weekend with our two sons (ages 8 and 10) and other family friends. Our gite was gorgeous with amazing views over the neighbouring farmland. It was fully equipped, very clean and spacious with an enormous covered balcony off the first floor living area with outdoor table and chairs and comfortable sofas. We ordered croissants and bread daily from the bar area, which was great with two hungry boys in the morning. There was plenty to do to keep the boys busy with tennis courts, an outdoor pool, two play areas, golf, plenty of games in the bar area and exploring, which meant we had a very relaxing break. The staff were all fantastic and very helpful. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samerCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manoir de Longeveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Longeveau

Address: 16390 Pillac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Pillac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pillac
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Manoir De Longeveau Hotel Pillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing