We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in a wonderful village pub”
Review of The Butchers Arms

The Butchers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 8, 2019

Whilst staying in the area I was recommended to visit the butchers arms.. I was not disappointed. The food was excellent and the service first class. The menu gave a big selection of food for all tastes with prices to suit all pockets. Will certainly visit again when next in the area.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank amartinbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 341 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2018

A last minute decision to stay out for lunch just after Christmas, found us as The Butchers Arms, where there was a buzzing atmosphere of families, walkers, locals and visitors. The log fires were crackling, the menu tempting and the food when it came in timely fashion was good quality and nicely presented. In addition, well kept beers were on offer, although the 'Hill Climb' was served a little to cool for my taste.

This pub is definitely on our list for a re-visit in 2019!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

I was introduced to this fine wee pub that looks straight out an episode of Emmerdale by my wee smooch as she used to work here in her bump hormonal years. It’s perfectly located in a wee village that’s pronounced SheepsCum and near a village called ButCum. But all the cum villages aside this is a good wee place for some local ales and pub food. They were open Boxing Day which was marvellous as there is nowhere else to go in the village.

Thanks
B&L

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank The-Smoochers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018

I visted on a Thursday lunchtime with a friend. With only a few days before Christmas I found the pub to be tastefully decorated with Christmas decorations and a Christmas Tree. There was a lovely atmosphere with several groups of people dining and a lovely wood burning stove.
The service throughout was friendly and very efficient. The pub and its toilets were very clean and tidy.
We both ordered beef and butternut squash madras which came with rice, popadoms and mango chutney and it was lovely. The portions were also generous. We also had coffee and drinks but no pudding.
This was a return visit and I cannot fault it.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GlawsterDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile

Lovely cosy pub in the middle of the country side . Nice log fires and good home cooked good at a reasonable price . Prescott beer was very good . Reservations essential in a Sunday . We were visiting friends so will no doubt be back

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank 1966cbuk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butchers Arms also viewed

Painswick, Stroud District
 
Painswick, Stroud District
Eastcombe, Stroud
 
Oakridge Lynch, Stroud
Birdlip, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing