We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience on many levels”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Nicolas de Bourgueil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loire Valley Breaks
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Experience on many levels”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days at the end of our trip to the UK and Ireland. We are keen and seasoned cyclists but as it turned out the cycling was just a part of the fun!

Mark and Debbie are kind and considerate hard working hosts. They made every effort to ensure we wouldn't get lost each day(!) and freely shared their local knowledge, giving us all kinds of tips on how to enjoy our cycling round the Loire Valley.

I was very impressed with the detail in the self guided tours they had prepared...they obviously knew the area really well. As a cycle geek I was also very impressed with the standard of the bikes....I hate clunks and crashes (can be a problem with rental bikes) no problem at all! I had my own set of tools but the only thing I had to adjust was my seat and handle bar positions (normal an a new bike)...big ups to Mark for being as fussy about bike maintenance as I am!

The tours were varied and interesting and on the one day of very bad weather where we couldn't cycle they kindly drove us to the train station to continue our tours by foot.

One of the best parts was the dining in nights....we had some great conversations with our fellow travellers, along with plenty of good wine! It was a great way to get to know people..somehow Debbie and Mark created a community very easily...we made a couple of friends while we were there!

On the nights when there was no dining in it was no problem to cycle the 4kms down to St Nicolas de Bougueil and dine out....then there would be the fun of cycling back all four of us ringing our bells!

This was our first time in France and both of us only knew the French we had supposedly learnt at school, so we were a bit apprehensive about how we would cope with the locals. No problem....they were without exception incredibly kind and accommodating to us....it would have been obvious that we couldn't speak much French, but we found that if we were polite and friendly ourselves and did our best, people were really friendly...everywhere we went. I now like the French very much!

I went for a bike ride in New Zealand last week and really missed the friendly "Bonjour" from everyone.

Back to Debbie and Mark...they were really helpful from our very first email contact and the whole process of booking and paying from NZ and then getting there and being picked up was a breeze! They have a great knowledge of many things, wine cycling and the locality....we wish them well and thanks for making our inroduction to France so much fun!

Room Tip: We thought our room (ground floor) was good because it was away from the kitchen/ dining room....but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was travelling on my own and rushed for the train only to strike up a conversation with a couple who were also heading for a Loire Valley break. Mark met us at the station and whisked us off to their beautiful residence in Saint Nicolas de Bourgueil. From the first moment Debbie and Mark made us feel welcome and I quickly settled in and met the other guests. I had not planned to cycle but the area is fairly flat and Mark has the bicycles in excellent order, team this with Debbie's maps and personal briefing and you have a system that is first rate. I would cycle for most of the day with well organised stops and return home for a rest and their delicious dinner at very reasonable prices. Not only was this a wonderful experience, but it was also very healthy. one of the best holidays i have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazanTumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a great base for a family cycling holiday in the Loire Valley. Debbie and Mark provided meticulously planned routes for each day of our stay and were most obliging when we asked them to incorporate alternative destinations and activities into our schedule.

The planned routes used quiet back roads and the excellent Loire à Vélo network of cycle paths. Cycling was mostly on the flat, so perfect for children. Debbie was always sure to include helpful tips, such as where and when to shop for picnic provisions - essential, given the French habit of shutting up shop for two hours in the middle of the day.

The accommodation was bright, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bikes were well-maintained and appropriately sized for each of us. Even on the one rainy day of our stay, when cycling wasn't an option, Mark was on hand to ferry us to and from the local train station.

Thanks again, guys. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidporter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Mark and Debby Wiles run a wonderful bed and breakfast with guided tours in the Loire Valley. The accommodations are rustic and beautiful with all modern conveniences. The location is extremely pastoral as one is surrounded by vineyards and other beautiful greenery...this is the place you go to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of your everyday life. The best part was Mark's thoughtful and knowledgeable tours throughout the best parts of the Central & Eastern Loire Valley. He literally knows this area like the back of his hand and knows everyone in the area. He works very hard to schedule each day to maximize your enjoyment of the area considering weather conditions, avoiding crowds, finding the tastiest local restaurants, private tours through wineries, suiting energy levels of the group, etc. Mark made this trip for us. My husband and I have taken much more expensive tours in other parts of the world and this is hands down, the best experience we have ever had. On the matter of cost, this is the best value for money experience we have had.

If you are planning a trip to the Loire, you do not want to do it without Mark and Debby!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Loire Valley breaks for a 3 day classic tour in May and it was the perfect start to and one of the highlights of our European trip. Mark and Debbie are wonderful hosts and the itinerary for the three days was well paced, flexible and carefully chosen to make effective use of our time. Be aware that some rooms are accessed by steep steps but if this is likely to be a problem let Mark and Debbie know and we garantee they wil happily solve it for you as they are that type of host. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a great time in the Loire Valley. Mark and Debby are wonderful hosts who are always doing their utmost for their guests. Our accommodation was fantastic - perfect for our family of 4. It was a nice cosy standalone home located next door to their property. It was spotless. They have also done a great job renovating their property.

The location is in a small village of a handful of homes surrounded by vineyards on hills overlooking the Loire Valley.

We spent a day cycling along the river and then another couple days with Mark touring the Loire Valley. Mark was an excellent guide, a fountain of knowledge who knew where to take us to hit the diverse needs of our group.

If you tell Mark and Debbie what you are looking to do they will do their utmost to help you to do it.

I highly recommend the Loire Valley Breaks to anyone who wants to explore the Loire Valley. I expect we will be back again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDogAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was my sons (14) and my second time at Loire Valley Breaks. We loved our first visit (two years ago) so much that we went back for more this year. We had another lovely cycling holiday this time with different routes and we used the train to venture further away and explore more. Our accommodation was great,it has everything you need and is comfortable, clean and has plenty of room. Of course, one of our reasons for going back is Debbie and Mark, it is like staying with friends really, lots of chat, fun, laughs, great directions and restaraunt suggestions and the home cooked meals are yummy, all served with lovely wine.The people we met while there also added to our holiday, they were from across the globe and all had great stories of their days travels when we met back at base in the evenings. We went home with lots of memories, what a great time!.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moley1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Nicolas de Bourgueil
4.0 mi away
Hotel L'oree Des Bois
Hotel L'oree Des Bois
#1 of 1 in La Breille-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Dixmeresse
La Dixmeresse
#1 of 4 in Restigne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Rue du Poids
2.2 mi away
Cafe de la Promenade
Cafe de la Promenade
#1 of 4 in Bourgueil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
11.9 mi away
Le Clos Marie
Le Clos Marie
#1 of 13 in Langeais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loire Valley Breaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loire Valley Breaks

Property: Loire Valley Breaks
Address: 1 l'Epaisse, 37140 Saint Nicolas de Bourgueil, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Saint Nicolas de Bourgueil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Nicolas de Bourgueil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast accommodation in our beautifully presented, 19th century property in the vineyards.  All rooms are spacious and en-suite; we also have suites to suit families or groups of friends. Guests also have use of the spacious dining room and sitting area, a large sunny courtyard and a garden area with a large heated splash pool and plenty of comfortable seating. We also offer themed breaks - cycling, walking, wine tours and chateau tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loire Valley Breaks Saint Nicolas De Bourgueil, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing