We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable … but not for the right reason”

Saveurs et Papillons
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Bourgueil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Memorable … but not for the right reason”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

A small brasserie style restaurant in the town centre. We were sorry not to see more other diners – on a Saturday lunchtime we were the only customers – although a steady stream of potential punters stopped to view the menus in the door before walking past.

Mrs D ordered Lomo (pork tenderloin) with a garlic sauce, whilst I opted for Limande (Lemon sole) in a lemon sauce. The fish was beautifully cooked and very delicate in flavour – which made it all the more unfortunate that it was served with the garlic sauce, while the pork sat on a plate of lemon sauce! I was minded to send the fish back to the kitchen (no excuse of a kitchen struggling to cope with too many orders coming in), but didn’t as we decided we wouldn’t want to wait another 20 minutes or so … and Mrs D commented that the lemon sauce went very well with the pork!

If it hadn’t been for the unfortunate mix-up with the sauces we would have enjoyed the meal very much, and agreed that next time we were visiting the area we would give the restaurant another try as it has potential to score highly, but can only award a 3 grading this visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daktari_on_safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    34
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Highly recommend. Fabulous food.

Have given average rating for atmosphere and children as we were the only guests there that evening, although it was a Tuesday, and because I don't think they have a children's menu but it is not somewhere you would bring young children. Our 3 are all teenagers and love good food and will try anything so it was perfect for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked our table rather late in the day. I think we were probably lucky to get in as they do not have a lot of covers. Everything about the place was immaculate and the lone front of house lady looked after us well. All five of us were unanimous in praising the food which was of a high standard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STU47T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb choice for a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We decided to try this restaurant based on the menu choices available and the clean modern appearance. We were made to feel very welcome by the lady running the restaurant and we ordered from one of the set menu choices available at around 30€ a head plus wine. We chose a delicious local Bourgueil Red house wine.
When our meals arrived the presentation was beautiful and they tasted as good as they looked! We had a salmon and salad starter, followed by duck with peaches and seasonal vegetables, finishing with creme brulee. The food was of a very high standard (more fine dining than cafe cuisine) and plentiful. We all left feeling very satisfied with the whole experience. If you find yourself in Bourgueil certainly pay them a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeGeeZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saveurs et Papillons also viewed

Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
 
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
 
Ingrandes-de-Touraine, Indre-et-Loire
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to Saveurs et Papillons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing