We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improving every year”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Ancre d'Or

L'Ancre d'Or
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Bourgueil
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Mayfield UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Improving every year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited this restaurant agian this year only to find that it was stillvery reasonably priced but the quality and presentation of the meal was even better than ever. I was pleased to find a TripAdvisor sticker in their window. It was full up by the time the evening finished which shows its popularirty. The location is not so good as it looks out at closed/empty shops. But we don't go for the view..we go for the food , the welcome and the excellent value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carollo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were staying at Chateau de la Chausee about 5 mies away and needed somewhere to eat. We looked on Trip Advisor but the restaurant we would have chosen was closed. How fortunate for us that it was!
The meal was excellent and inexpensive and the waitress/owner? very pleasant.
Would certainly go again if ever in the area and would recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great value for money and an extremely pleasant host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We chanced upon this restaurant when the restaurant we had chosen from Trip advisor on the same road was closed and we really could not have done better. The set menu was extremely cheap for this area but that in no way diminished the quality of the meals served. The helpful host attended to our culinary needs and the lamb cutlets ordered were delicious as was the wine ordered. The starters and puddings were also of a very high standard.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Clean and bright with a friendly and obliging host. Excellent food and very reasonably priced. Our kids loved it too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidporter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“For a simpler meal ..just the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our second visit here and we were the last to get in after us "complet". We soon understood why it was so full. The meal wqas adequate and excellent for the price with plenty of choice.
It will be on our list when we do not want a grand meal at a grand cost.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carollo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ancre d'Or also viewed

Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
 
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
Bourgueil, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to L'Ancre d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing