We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B for peace and quiet & great food”
Review of Smokey Cot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groes-faen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smokey Cot
Ranked #1 of 1 Groes-faen B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in March. Great welcome, great food and a quiet spot about twenty minutes from Cardiff Bay in the car.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rguyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed for 2 night over August bank Holiday . Rooms very cleanand spacious. Guest lounge. very relaxing. The host were very welcoming. Best 2 nights sleep have had for a while

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We just came back 10 years after leaving Wales.
The place is great : rooms are spacious, fully fitted, guests are welcoming, breakfast are superb...
So fully happy with the B&B.

The only thing to improve: access to the wireless ... Just a detail

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kisslelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed in October for 2 nights as a couple whilst visiting family. We liked it so much we returned in February with other family members in tow.
The rooms are really large and airy, but warm. The bathrooms are spacious and well appointed (although no cubical around bath shower in the double room). There is also a guest lounge. The house is clean and modern. The breakfast , good quality and enormous. The grounds are lovely with nuthatches, greater spotted woodpeckers and a variety of parus (reveiw wouldn't accept t*ts as a profanity!).
The house is outside the city -about 20 mins drive, but there are some nice food pubs nearby. It is very quiet.
Stuart and Elisabeth are a kindly couple and help where they can to make your stay comfortable.
We hope to visit Smokey cot next time we visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnserLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

I recently got back from a driving trip around Southern Wales and England. We stayed at the Smokey Cot over Easter weekend and could not have been happier. My boyfriend and I shared a double room while the rest of our group stayed in the family room (actually a detached part of the house). The rooms were both clean and spacious. The breakfast was delicious! And the hosts were delightful and helpful! I really recommend this B&B- great value for the price! It is a 15-20 minute bus ride out of Cardiff but the buses run frequently and taxis are not expensive if you need something quicker. Plus free parking on site was a big factor for our group.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cris630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2007

Fantastic large selfbuild with spacious bedrooms and beautiful wood floors throughout. Great cooked breakfasts and comfortable beds. Best nights sleep I had on a recent business trip.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

We stayed at Smokey Cot for 1 night as we were attending a wedding at Miskin Manor (rooms there are £120). The rooms were big and clean with a modern bathroom. The owners were very welcoming.

It was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was nice and cooked to order.

If arriving here by Sat Nav or using sites like multimap beware that it sends you slightly the wrong way. Seach for the road name instead.

The only other thing that could cause a problem is you do not get your own front door key. This wasn't a problem for us as we checked in then spent the whole day at the wedding.

It is also only a few minutes drive from St Fagan's.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bristolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smokey Cot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokey Cot

Address: Tynant Road, Groes-faen, Pontyclun CF72 8NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun > Groes-faen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Groes-faen
Price Range: $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing