We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN 'ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT' VENUE FOR A WEDDING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Groes-faen
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AN 'ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT' VENUE FOR A WEDDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Having read some controversal comments on this site, I attended the wedding of my daughter last weekend the 17th July 2010 which was a joy to be at. I can imagine the setting of the Miskin Manor would be a dream for most brides. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful, friendly and accommodating. The bar Manager spent time making sure all the guests were happy including ourselves and the wedding co-ordinator made sure everything ran smoothly. All staff present were police, efficient and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend any future couple seeking an above average venue - look no further. Should you need any further information then please email beverley@beverleyunderwood.com
Best wishes
P Jones

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    121
    84
    74
    59
See reviews for
125
182
12
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

This hotel is set in the most beautiful location my husband and i stayed here for a long weekend as we were attending a wedding in the hotel our room was truly lovely the only problems we had were the shower was either way to hot or too cold very hard to get the temperature right and none of the lamps worked but aside from that it was fine, My main issue was the attitude of the staff for a 4 * hotel the service at breakfast was terrible and it was very quiet when we came down we were not offered any tea or coffee and had to go looking for some even then they seemed reluntant to give us a fresh pot we had to ask twice, the bar staff need to retrain the lounge bar is only small yet they have no personality and no clue to what they are doing The hotel is beautiful and we did love it the staff situation just needs to be looked at.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redlady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Met 3 colleagues for a meeting as it was mid way between Swansea and Bristol.

Firstly the Postcode sent all of us in the wrong direction with sat navs, when we eventaully found it 30 minutes late the receptionist just shrugged and said "That happens to everyone its a big postcode" so why not warn us on the directions bit of their website. Secondly upon seating in the lounge, before anyone asked us what we wanted or attempted to offer any sevgice we were informed that there was a £10 charge per head for having impromptu meetings in their lounge. After explaining that we wanted to order some sandwhiches and cofee someone eventually took our order. The food took ages to come, but was OK when it finally got to us. Seems the whole place is run around a set of pre set rules that have nothing to do with pro active customer service. Despite being close to the motorway the whole place was dead, and I can't say I am suprised !!

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IantobachSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Groes-faen hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
devizes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

A big thank-you to everyone at Miskin Manor for making my daughter and son-in law's (Sal and Nathan Walding) wedding extra special. Everything ran so smoothly despite the weather and I don't think my daughter noticed the rain *smile* I cannot thank you enough for all you did on the day. Its a lovely location and inside or out makes for a special wedding day. There are so many places inside to take photos as well as outside.. All the guests enjoyed especially the food which was plentyful and high quality. A great day and night was had by all. We hired a band called sixoneseven highly recommended.. *smile* Special thank-you to Linden and Chris who made the wedding go by so smoothly. Certainly would recommend for a wedding, meal or short stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisitmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jellier
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

i attended a wedding here and was appalled by the service and the prices. The bar prices were extortionate with a price of £5.10 for a small glass of very inferior wine and at £3.90 a cup and no refills. The service was slow and surly and when I complained the Manager was not interested and ignored my comments. The bar closed at 11.30pm and when I requested a drink in the residents lounge I was refused as "the bar was closed". This is the only hotel anywhere in the world where as a resident guest I have not been able to get a drink after 11.30. The food was passable but the cutlery was so blunt that we were unable to cut through the lamb at the wedding meal. But I do not consider the food good enough to warrant the price of £50.00 a head that the brides family paid for it. I will never stay here again even though I visit Wales regularly to visit family. There was also an addtional charge of £10.00 for room service !!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for two nights of (p)leisure!

The four poster room was expansive and suitable for entertaining friends. We had two great nights sleep, superb food and burnt off the calories in the pool.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. We plan to visit again soon.

Suzie and Stephen Pitt

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Excellent room and Spa and lovely Manor house but.... Slow, inefficient staff and poor service. Friendly but so laid back and disorganised. High tea for 16 was too much for them, delayed and chaotic. Breakfast was poor with much of menu not available and delays and lack of coordination meant when all arrived meal was cold. Things missing from room on both days despite complaint. Such a shame as the place has potential and money invested. The owners need to get hands on and put in some proper management or dodgy future unless they survive on and only care about Corporate functions

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miskinmangement, Owner at Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2010
We pride ourselves on being a family run business and try to ensure that we accomodate most needs.

We happliy welcome familes and pets and do not consider us to cater totally for the corporate market.

We follow all the guide lines set out by the AA for a four star hotel and achieve an excellent score on a regular basis. We are graded on all our facilites, service and our food.

The visits are unannounced, with different inspectors and at different times throughout the year to ensure that the gradings are fair.

On a week day we offer a freshly cooked breakfast with an extensive selection of hot and cold produce. When the volume of customers increase over the weekend we have to provide a buffet breakfast to accomodate the guests needs. However, should a guest require anything else we will happily assist.

If there are any issues with the food they will be addressed immediatley.

Our afternoon teas as with the majority of our as made freshly every day and we request that a booking is made to fully enjoy to experience.

It is very difficult to provide this level of service when times are changed as the chefs are working to the reservation time.

We have the pleasure of having CCTV throughout the hotel. This allows us to address any issues that may require visual backup.

We also have a very good relationship with our local police and do not tolerate any theft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groes-faen
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
6.8 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.0 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club

Property: Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Address: Pendoylan Road, Groes-faen, Pontyclun CF72 8ND, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun > Groes-faen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Groes-faen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miskin Manor is a hidden jewel in the crown of the Principality. Nestled in the heart of the Welsh countryside, yet just a few miles from the coast, the Manor is less than a mile from the M4. This stunning house, set in 22 glorious acres and blessed with a timeless ambiance, makes a delightful rural retreat in which to while away a peaceful and relaxing few days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miskin Manor
Miskin Manor Hotel
Miskin Manor Groes Faen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing