We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Railway, But Fantastic.”

Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Blaenavon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blaenavon's Heritage Railway is located in the heart of the Blaenaon World Heritage Site on the edge of the Brecon Beacons in South Wales. There is ample free car and coach parking at Furnace Sidings, our main station located close to the Garn Lakes. From Furnace Sidings our trains head both north to the Whistle Inn, and south to Blaenavon High Level Station, located above Blaenavon town centre. Since 2011 we also have a separate branch serving Big Pit Halt, adjacent to the Big Pit national mining museum. Whether you're looking for a family day out, or are a devoted railway enthusiast, we have something for you. With free car parking at Furnace sidings, why not combine a visit to Big Pit with a ride on the train? Enjoy a snack in the tea room at Furnace Sidings, or shop in Eric's Emporium (an outpost of The Railway Shop in Blaenavon) stocking a selection of railway models, gifts and souvenirs. Many trains also have a buffet service offering light refreshments.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Although this railway is in its inital stages it was certainly well worth the visit. Although the line isn't very long at the moment, I am sure that at some stage the line will be extended. The line does travel upto the Big Pit Museum, which would make a brilliant 2 trips in one day.

Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Society at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello Liz, please accept my apologies for my lateness in replying.

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed the railway! Although we are small we do have plans to eventually extend to Waunavon and Brynmawr to the north and to Abersychan and Pontypool to the south. Of course, when depends on finance and resolving land ownership issues. All I can say is that we are just excited as you are for our future extensions! We do very much recommenced combining your visit with the various attractions around Blaenavon such as Big Pit, the lakes, the Iron Works and the Rhymney Brewery (provided you're not driving of course!).

We hope to see you again soon!
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"furnace sidings"
in 12 reviews
"high level"
in 9 reviews
"branch line"
in 5 reviews
"ghost train"
in 3 reviews
"buffet car"
in 3 reviews
"station master"
in 3 reviews
"groupon voucher"
in 3 reviews
"big pit"
in 49 reviews
"friendly volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"booking office"
in 2 reviews
"train staff"
in 2 reviews
"coming back next year"
in 2 reviews
"day ticket"
in 2 reviews
"interesting journey"
in 2 reviews
"station cafe"
in 2 reviews
"rover ticket"
in 2 reviews
"the steam train ride"
in 2 reviews
Filter

136 - 140 of 142 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

By far the biggest rip off I have ever encountered. 5 mins trip on a train, then an overpacked tiny pub and tacky gift. NEVER AGAIN

2  Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Society at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello Aiden.

Please accept my apologies for not replying to your review until now, however we have only set up a management account today.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your trip on the railway. Unfortunately these special events are expensive to run, so we do have to charge higher fares than our normal running. We are also very sorry for how busy the pub was on the day, though this is a consequence of the popularity of the event. We are also sorry that you did not find the present to a high enough standard. We are always looking to improve our events, and if you have any further comments please do not hesitate to contact me and I'll pass on your suggestions to management.

My regards and apologies,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a lovely time when we took our daughter to see Santa on 2 December - we chose this date as it was also her 10th Birthday - one we were told we would never celebrate by Doctors !? We have also been to a few other Events held here over the years and always had great fun and been amazed at the enthusiasm shown by the Volunteers who make this a VERY special place !
It is in a wonderful spot and every year their timetable of activities is incredible with attention to detail and thoughtful touches which are appreciated by children, teens, parents and grandparents alike ! Everywhere we turned we were asked if we needed assistance !
Thank you - our whole family enjoyed meeting Santa (who actually came onto the train so she could stay in her wheelchair in the warm AND sang her Happy Birthday which she LOVED) and a 1940s Event this year - we look forward to many more visits :)
WONDERFUL TEAROOM TOO !!

Thank Tymandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Society at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the railway! Can I please off my apologies for the lateness of my reply. However, we've only just set up a management account on here.

We are really glad that your daughter enjoyed her day out on the railway! It really does make all the hard work and effort that our volunteers put in worth it! We always strive to make the day enjoyable for all our visitors, and are more than happy to provide any assistance that they require. We are also very glad that you enjoy the events that we provide throughout the year, and we are glad that people enjoy them as much as we do! We really do look forward to seeing you again!

I wish all the very best to you, your daughter and the rest of your family!

Regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spent £27 for myself my partner and toddler to travel approx 5 minute journey to pub to see Santa and receive cheap tacky present mulled wine and mince pie! Not even half that amount - absolute rip off!!!!!

5  Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Society at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello Sue.

Please accept my apologies for the lateness in replying to your review.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your day at the railway. We normally provide a round trip that lasts just short of an hour, though on our busiest family events to cope with the high passenger demand we can only run between Big Pit, Furnace Sidings and Whistle Inn. The increased cost of the Christmas events is to offset the additional running costs associated with the event. That being said, I'm very sorry that you found us poor value for money. We are always keen to hear how we can improve the events, and if you have any addition suggestions or comments please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards and apologies,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fun attraction, especially for young families. Not all the line was open the day we visited, so it was a bit limited, but we travelled between Big Pit and The Whistle stops. The views from the train are beautiful. There is a cafe, shop and toilets at the station in Furnace Sidings, and a large car park. Staff were friendly and helpful.

1  Thank JZHendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Society at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello, please accept my apologies for the lateness in reply to your review.

Thank you very much for such a positive review! We are sorry that the whole line was not in operation on the day of your visit. However, since May 2013 trains now run the full length of the railway (with certain exceptions at Christmas and Halloween) on all operating days following the completion of a run-round loop at Blaenavon High Level, giving the additional extra attraction of being able to watch the locomotive run around its train! We are very grateful of the comments regarding our volunteers, it makes all their hard work and dedication worthwhile!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway also viewed

 

Been to Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing