We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Blaenavon
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Insight into the Industrial Revolution in the Welsh Valleys

We spent a very interesting two hours here exploring all the exhibits. We were very lucky to have... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Annabelle J
,
Chepstow, United Kingdom
A trip into the industrial past of Wales

This is an amazing attraction, telling the story of the Ironworks, the people who lived and worked... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
1972march
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Read all 389 reviews
  
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
257
113
16
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
257
113
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages blast furnace well worth a visit industrial revolution workers lived big pit tv series restored water showing how interesting place free entry couple of hours step back in time on site interesting visit heritage centre small shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 389 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

An interesting part of history. We visited just in time for the tour guide. This was very informative from a volunteer.
Dog friendly.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank tracylou_20031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

Very interesting place to visit. Great to see how people used to live in the cottages on site. Must of been a very "hot" place to live and a tough life. Respect of the people who worked there.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Adventure692928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

This is an impressive site, located near the Big Pit Coal museum, where it is easy to understand a key process in the industrial revolution - making iron. We received a friendly welcome from staff and an onsite volunteer who was very generous with his time explaining the site. There is also an impressive display which brings the process to life. Thoroughly recommend!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

Took my Floridian friend to see another important aspect of Wales and that is our role in the Industrial Revolution. He had never seen anything like it, felt very proud of our heritage and role in the world

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

What a fantastic museum to visit.
The smelter exhibit is so well done and really brings the smelter to life.
The staff are so friendly and helpful.
Do not miss while in the area.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews