We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery Lunch”

Butterflies Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Blaenavon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Butterflies Restaurant is situated in the heart of the World Heritage Town of Blaenavon. We are proud to be a part of the Blaenavon story, we have Big Pit on our doorstep and Blaenavon Ironworks is within walking distance. Our food reflects our heritage with many local dishes - Welsh lamb is the best in the world after all. Our two restaurant areas both have unique features, The Cwtch has an log burner set in a 19th century fireplace and the Garden Room as the name suggests offers views onto the courtyard and large walled garden. Our garden offers a South facing terrace which becomes a sun trap during the summer months with our greenhouse packed with tomatoes, cucumbers, chilies and other delights to use in the kitchen.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Five courses excellent value at £12.50. Very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble . They prepared sausage and chips for the youngest grandson although they had a full restaurant. Very good choice of desserts. Empty plates all round well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank NEILANDMERYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 399 of 430 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a FANTASTIC experience, I recently dined at Butterflies with a few friends as an early Christmas outing, what a treat it was!
We enjoyed the 6 COURSEE!! Christmas meal at the bargain price of £16.95!! We enjoyed a selection of traditional starters, including delicious home made soup and lovely prawn cocktails. The food was presented beautifully!! Our main courses were fab, all of the meat was cooked beautifully, and we were told we could have as much veg and gravy as we needed :)
There was a lovely selection of desserts, the Turkish Delight Cheesecake is a MUST HAVE if you decide to visit, which you SHOULD!! ( The chef even gave me the recipe, which I cant wait to have a go at!!)
Our meal was topped off with a lovely selection of Welsh cheese and biscuits, coffee and of course, warm mince pies! YUM!!

The service was FANTASTIC, nothing was too much trouble and the waitresses were very attentive, thank you Bridie for filling our night with laughter and looking after us so well!!

The Bar is warm and welcoming with a traditional cosy theme, especially in this cold winter weather, and the restaurant is a lovely contrast, modern, yet still warm and inviting, beautifully decorated for the Christmas period.

I will DEFINITELY be back again, I cant wait to return!
Thank you to all of the staff and my compliments to the chef!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Abi- W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Brilliant. Friendly staff, good atmosphere. Not quite as cheap as chips but absolutely worth it. Ordered Chateaubriand (with mushroom/brandy sauce). It was so tender I could have eaten it with a spoon and it was delicious. Big thumbs up. Book a table now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank e55exbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayne-watkins, Guest Relations Manager at Butterflies Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent review; we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We do have some pricey items on the menu but as with everything, the cost of produce has risen in the last year; however we do have some cheaper items on the menu. We are very pleased however that you felt that it was "absolutely worth it".
We always appreciate feedback and look forward to seeing you again,

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent meal; friendly service. Thought a little pricey when I saw menu but after tasting the food changed my mind. In my opinion at a restaurant you get what you pay for. Well worth the extra here. I disagree with person who thought food was bland I found it all delicious, good portion sizes. Owners deserve to do well. Quiet in the restaurant, but it was Tues evening; bar was buzzing, good atmosphere, everyone friendly. .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Majorjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayne-watkins, Manager at Butterflies Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your meal at Butterflies. We do have some pricey items on the menu because obviously with the price of everything going up (a sack of potatoes is double the price it was last year, lamb is expensive and our extra matured steaks have also increased in price). We do however try to keep some cheaper items on our menu and we are very happy you thought our food was "well worth the extra".

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future :)

Kind regards

Dayne Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Live within rolling distance of Butterflies, have eaten here many, many times not only evening meals but Sunday lunch as well. Food is always fab and service is excellent. Chris & Gaynor work very hard and deserve excellent review, as do all the other staff who work here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank LoveSpainSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayne-watkins, Manager at Butterflies Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your recent review we are very pleased with your comments. Your kind comments have been passed onto staff and they are extremely happy with them. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterflies Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
 

Been to Butterflies Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing