We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Oakfield B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenavon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakfield B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Blaenavon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Spent 2 nights at this B & B and was pleased with everything from the start. Great friendly welcome from Paul who showed us where to park (rear), offered tea or coffee which we had to decline. Spotless room and en suite. Beds very comfortable and lovely fresh soft towels. There was an alarm clock a hairdrier and a selection of books to read in the room, which is not a usual B & B practice, so a very nice touch.
Our breakfasts in the tastefully decorated dining room on both mornings was super, a selection of cereals and juices followed by (our choice) a full english (or should that be welsh) with tea/coffee and toast, very well cooked and presented.
A bit of confusion over pick up times left us waiting in the guest lounge but Paul offered to give us a lift which was lovely of him.
We would not hesitate to return to OAKFIELD or recommend both the B & B and its hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tynewydd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

We needed somewhere comfortable and convenient to stay in Blaenavon for one night. Oakfield fitted the bill perfectly. We were welcomed with tea, coffee and biscuits in the cosy guests lounge and Paul gave us directions to the various places we wanted to go to. It's clear that a lot of love has been invested in the place, it's attractively decorated and spotlessly clean. The full Welsh breakfast was a real treat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our visit was to attend my daughter's wedding and Paul could not have done more to accommodate us all over the whole weekend. The welcome was warm and friendly and each of our rooms was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and spotless. The well appointed visitors lounge is an added bonus. The breakfasts were excellent, and Paul ensured that each individual was well catered for - nothing was too much trouble!!
We will not hesitate to return when we next visit Blaenavon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed for two nights in May 2011 on my hillwalking holiday in Wales. I had stayed at Paul's B&B the year before, each time booking efficiently over the Internet. My host greeted me with a warm welcome, coffee and scones quickly followed in the lounge. My room was a double on 1st floor, very comfy bed, clean, superbly decorated as is the entire house. The room had a large en-suite with shower pod, washbasin and toilet. The car parking is to the rear of the property (you have to walk around) and had been recently resurfaced with tarmac. Breakfast is plenty and excellent, Paul will enquire when and what you'd like. Pub food in town is walking distance so convenient, if a bit hilly in Blaenavon. So: highly recommended! I would certainly stay again should I find myself in the area.

Room Tip: My room was to the front, facing the road. It was quiet at night time though there is some morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Good food, spotlessly clean, a 5 star B&B.
Even recommend a brilliant Pub to eat in.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NumquamCedimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was my second trip to Oakfield , a great B&B which in terms of facilities / decor / service etc puts many 5 star hotels to shame . Recommended without hesitation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JakJim1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Oakfield B&B comes highly recommended by all Bleanavon locals. i stayed for three weeks during a project in the area. This was my first time staying in a B&B and didn't know what to expect. It was homely, welcoming, clean and peaceful. Good sized rooms, very friendly hosts and tasty breakfasts. Heidi & Paul went above & beyond what you would usually expect going out of their way to make all guests welcome not only in the B&B but in the town of Blaenavon. Thank you for giving me a home from home!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsquine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfield B&B

Address: 1 Oakfield Terrace, Blaenavon NP4 9DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Blaenavon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenavon
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms include a double en suite and twin en suite and a family room for up to 4 people with a private bathroom. Children are welcome. Free WiFi. Guests lounge. Private parking. Garage for bikes. Blaenavon and its landscape hold World Heritage Status because of the Ironworks (0.5Miles). It is also an excellent area for walking and scenery as it is on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Cycle route NCN492 linking Blaenavon to Brynmawr, Newport and beyond is only 100yards from the house so why not cycle to us and leave your bike in the garage to go and explore Big Pit National Mining Museum (1 mile), Blaenavon Ironworks (0.5 Miles), Rhymney Brewery (0.7 Miles), World Heritage Centre (0.3 Miles) and mountains all around. Good access to M4 motorway 15 miles and A465 6 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakfield B&B Blaenavon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing