We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sets the standard of what a B&B should be”
Review of Oakfield B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaenavon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakfield B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Blaenavon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were welcomed by a pot of tea despite arriving at 21:30. Our room, as well as the rest of the house felt clean and fresh. We enjoyed reading the very informative guest pack about the area (the website is very good too). Breakfast was excellent. Whish we return to the area just to stay at Oakfield again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigandNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

Ideal location near historic sites. Our host was charming and the room was very nice. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keylime_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We needed a place to sleep while visiting friends and relatives. This was ideal in every way. It was comfortable and tastefully furnished, and breakfast was excellent. We will use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witsawagorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We spent very relaxing and pleasant weekend in Oakfield B & B last October. This was our first trip with our 4 months old son and the room was perfect for the baby. We had huge bed and separate cot with cot-top changer. The room was warm and quiet and both room and bathroom where neat and tidy. But what will make this stay special is the warm, welcoming atmosphere created by our hosts Paul and Heidi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abarans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Upon meeting Paul we were made to feel at home instantly,tea and biscuits were served within minutes. Our room was tastefully decorated and well furnished, with an excellent on suite,the room contained well stocked drink making facillites, along with a well prepared information guide,they have certainly covered all requirements.
The cleanliness of the entire establishment deserves much praise,I would say it's possibilly the cleanest we have ever stayed in ( WELL DONE ).
Free carparking
Paul is a very aimiable person,easy to talk to, and a mind of information, he recommended the Butterflies to us for an evening meal, there again the quality and service was first class, and definately worth a visit.
Paul enquired as to what were our breakfast requirements the night before.
The breakfast is worth writing a review on, by it's self 100%
I must say,although we only stayed one night,I will not forget a most memorable stay with Paul at Oakfield, this is a DIAMOND amonst an ex coal and iron area.
I wish Paul and Oakfield every success and good fortune in the future, and recommend it to everyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob499507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I can only reiterate what all the previous reviewers have stated. Had a very enjoyable 3 nights at Oakfield. It is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Paul was immensely approachable and friendly and went out of his way to help us (even having a great full cooked breakfast on the table at 6am each morning so we could get to the Ryder Cup golf on time!). I would be more than happy to stay again and would most certainly recommend this place to anyone planning to visit the area. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigalexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Paul is a superb host and went out of his way to heat plates for our evening take away meal and tell us the best place to park for the Eisteddford. The B&B was so clean and crisp we instantly felt able to relax. Make the most of your visit by going down the Big Pit and asking the miner all about it, learn a little Welsh and try it out in advance with Paul, go on the steam train and photo the fixtures and fittings, loose yourself in the cottages at the steel works and then get the BBC DVD 'Coal House'...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veryveryvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfield B&B

Address: 1 Oakfield Terrace, Blaenavon NP4 9DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Torfaen > Blaenavon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blaenavon
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms include a double en suite and twin en suite and a family room for up to 4 people with a private bathroom. Children are welcome. Free WiFi. Guests lounge. Private parking. Garage for bikes. Blaenavon and its landscape hold World Heritage Status because of the Ironworks (0.5Miles). It is also an excellent area for walking and scenery as it is on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Cycle route NCN492 linking Blaenavon to Brynmawr, Newport and beyond is only 100yards from the house so why not cycle to us and leave your bike in the garage to go and explore Big Pit National Mining Museum (1 mile), Blaenavon Ironworks (0.5 Miles), Rhymney Brewery (0.7 Miles), World Heritage Centre (0.3 Miles) and mountains all around. Good access to M4 motorway 15 miles and A465 6 miles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakfield B&B Blaenavon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing