We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such lovely people, exquisit homemade food and really welcoming and relaxing”
Review of Llys Olwen

Llys Olwen
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morfa Nefyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Llys Olwen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morfa Nefyn
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such lovely people, exquisit homemade food and really welcoming and relaxing”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This was our very first visit. The rooms are exceptionally clean and pretty. Ann having been professionally trained is an excellent cook and cooks mostly organic and homemade/homegrown foods. Her homemade sweet orange marmalade is to kill for. Where else would you find a friendly enough hotel/guest house to offer to store your oil paintings, till you went home? Ann and David did. They now call their potting shed the gallery. They are so frinedly and kind. We have had a nine day stay and have enjoyed every minute of it, we have felt so comfortable and relaxed in such a gorgeous house. Real value for money too. Excellent homemade cooking - to die for. We will definitely be going again. This kind of service makes me feel proud to be British and beats anything abroad, with miles of unspoilt beaches, fuscia hedges and honeysuckle lanes. A brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My wife and I booked into Llys Olwen for one night not realising what a gem we'd discovered.

It's true that the accomodation isn't en suite, but we already knew that, and the shared toilets and shower rooms were conveniently close and spotlessly clean. We had a wash basin on our bedroom, which was handy when we wanted to make tea or coffee.

Whilst the bedroom seemed cramped when we first walked in, this was because it was set out as a family room, with both a double bed and a single; we soon adapted the single bed for use as a sofa. The room was newly furnished, very comfortable, and once again spotlessly clean - after failing to find any dust or dirt anywhere else I checked the top of the wardrobe, but even that had been recently dusted.

Breakfast was superb: whatever you do, don't miss the dried fruit salad with honey yoghurt! After that I couldn't manage a full English, but my egg and bacon were cooked to perfection. There was a basket on every table with a varying selection of rolls and pastries - all freshly baked on the premises, and so good that we asked if we could take some with us on the day of our departure (the answer was yes, provided that we gave a donation to the Air Ambulance). The jams and the five (yes, 5) different marmalades on the table were also homemade.

It's Ann and David Middleton, the owners, who make Llys Olwen so special. Having spent the previous night at a B&B we've been visiting for 16 years the last thing we expected was to feel equally welcome on our first visit to Llys Olwen - yet amazingly we did. We were so happy that we could rearange our itinerary and stay an extra night (this was made easier by the free Wi-Fi, one of many unexpected extras).

Morfa Nefyn may be in the middle of nowhere, but it's a beautiful location within easy striking distance of Caernarfon, Porthmadog, and Portmeirion. Well worth a detour, especially when there's such a warm welcome waiting at Llys Olwen!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanstedPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Llys Olwen, in the delightful village of Morfa Nefyn.
It has been run by the same family for many years; I found it to be extremely clean, comfortable, and friendly; above all I felt at home from the moment that I arrived to the moment that I left.
Llys Olwen is situated in an enviable location; only a few minutes walk from the beach, and stunning cliff-top walks.
I consider that the standard offered at Llys Olwen was excellent, and that it represented very good value.
I very much hope to return there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonLondon_England_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just come back from Llys Olwen and loved it. It's a classic B&B, super friendly welcome, immensely helpful and considerate hosts, great food, fantastic value. It's within striking distance of beautiful coastline and beaches (like Whistling Sands).

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pwhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We had the misfortune of staying 1 night at the above-mentioned B&B, which displays a Welsh Tourist Board placard with two stars. From the outside, the property looked nice and we expected the same to be reflected inside, however in our opinion it is unlikely that the property has been updated in several years. We booked two double rooms for 3 people and ended up with a double and a twin on the top floor. Our rooms were not ensuite and that would not have been a problem had the communal bathrooms been clean and plentiful enough to accommodate the number of people that seemed to be sharing them. There appeared to be several bedrooms sharing only two bathrooms with showers/toilets and two other toilets, all of which were in need of a thorough clean. Although there were bottles of cleaning products in the bathrooms, from the dust and grime, it did not appear that they were given a proper clean regularly. In addition to that, the bathrooms were carpeted and damp underfoot due to the number of people using them. There was also mould on the tiles and dirty nail brushes on the sinks. This did not lead to a comfortable stay. Although the bedrooms were reasonably spacious, they were so dusty that we had trouble sleeping. In addition, the beds were made up with sheets and extremely scratchy, army style blankets with bedspreads and while the sheets and pillow cases appeared to be clean, this could not be said for the blankets and bedspreads. One of the beds in the twin room was so sunken in the middle that it was obvious the mattress had not been changed in years. The breakfasts were reasonable, however the dining tables we ate at were also in need of a thorough clean feeling sticky to the touch. Our hostess was pleasant and chatty but did not ask us when we left if we had enjoyed our stay. This may indicate that she knows the accommodation is not up to scratch. It is without a doubt that the property is located in a lovely spot within walking distance to the beach, however all three of our party could not wait to check out in the morning and we left feeling grimy and in need of a decent, clean shower.

Helpful?
17 Thank ThorneyCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morfa Nefyn
0.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
Nanhoron Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nefyn
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yr Hen Felin - The Old Mill
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Hall Hotel
Woodlands Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Edern
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Olwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Olwen

Property: Llys Olwen
Address: Morfa Nefyn LL53 6BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Morfa Nefyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morfa Nefyn
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing