We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Great Reception & Perfect Location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trawsfynydd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cae Gwyn Farm and Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Views, Great Reception & Perfect Location.”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A friend & I were looking for a good place to camp & also be central to the mountain bike centres.
We spent a week camping here & couldn't of asked for more. The welcome we received was fantastic. The facilities are for a campsite are nothing short of brilliant. Theres clean showers & wash areas with instant hot water.
There's a secure bike lock up, wifi & a kitchen area with a fridge/freezer & microwave.
It's very well priced, there's also a large wood cabin (basically a large wooden summer house) that you can stay in for just a couple of quid extra a night. This came in very handy towards the end of our hoilday when it started to get very cold at night & also chucked it down with rain.

The views across the farmland are stunning, watching the sunset over the distant mountains with a drink in hand was brilliant.

Overall I'd 100% stay here again & reccomend Cae Gwyn Farm to anyone looking to camp & stay in Wales close to Coed Y Brenin.

Room Tip: Ask if the wood cabin is avaliable to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stumbled upon this campsite by accident and were delighted at the facilities, view, hot showers, dog friendliness, and the welcoming reception by Dave and Sue. Perfect after some muddy mountain biking. Superb pub up the road within walking distance, great food and ale, friendly landlord even gave us a life back to the campsite! We'll be back. Thanks for the eggs! Bex, LJ and Lily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilysalmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I arrived early to dep[osit our bags in the B&B accomodation, Sue was most helpful, and pointed out the various interesting views in the distance. Our rooms were comfortable, but the bathrooms like lots of other B&B's had the tiniest sink with shelf fixed just above it so it was almost impossible to wash your face without depositing copious amounts of water on the floor below, worse than useless. The wi-fi was available in the farmyard or near to the B&B door, who is going to stand outside with a laptop or an Ipad, the wi-fi was not available by the front door either, and as it was raining you couldn't go out into the farmyard anyway, misleading methinks.. Sue made us very welcome and provided a lovely breakfast. It was a good experience with the above exceptions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Accomodation:
Ask to book the shed (imagine however a large summer house) but is ideal if you firstly cant get in the B+B because its booked out, or if you just want a break from rain soaked camping and need four walls and a roof. You will need you sleeping bag, cooker ect from camping however but it does provide a really warm, sheltered, stay.

Location:
1 mile up the road from the mountain biking - perfect!!

Owner:
David - friendly, helpful, relaxed and always happy to help in anyway he can.

Price:
£10 per night

Improvements:
Still a few issues with the plumbing but david is very hands on and was fixing this as we left

Overall:
Ideal for campers, couples, who are wanting some serious moutain biking and shelter.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PikeyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Arriving late here as we drove from London, at about 11pm, wasn't a problem - just ring ahead first if you do. The welcome was just as bubbly and enthusiastic on our previous visit. The rooms are decorated to a high standard, separate from the main house, so guests have the B&B barn to themselves. This does require a certain amount of consideration as the soundproofing isn't great, and if you do have noisy neighbours you'll have to tell them as much! There is a small LCD TV in each room with ipod/iphone dock, though the freeview channels are limited by the signal you can get. Very good quality teas/coffees and biscuits also (re)appear in your room every day if you have used them!

Some may not like the fact that there is no cooked breakfast (only a cereal/toast/croissant continental), however since the mountain biking centre a mile down the road offers it and you're probably here for biking (?) that's not a problem. Even if you're not biking it's worth the trip! A secure, padlocked bike shed provides security for your bike.

There is a lounge area for use of the residents, with sofa and tv, however the same thing applies about the noise - don't go on too late! Sue is very helpful and will provide lots of advice on where to eat or buy supplies. Quite a few magazines (including Singletrack) and other leaflets or even discounts for local eateries can be found in the lobby area.

All in all it's a thumbs up and we'll be going back (for the third time!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spitfiremkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the site a total of 3 nights at the end of last month. It was an enjoyable weekend, the facilities at the site were great with warm, clean showers and toilets, equipped with a number of shower gels and shampoos incase anybody forgot theirs. The use of a fridge,freezer, kettle and microwave was also very useful!
The Hills were very friendly and helpful hosts, giving us directions when we got lost on our arrival on the first evening, and recommending places to eat and things to do in the area. They also had lists of nearby supermarkets and their distances from the site on a noticeboard which was very informative.
The site was a good size with room for lots of tents, as a party of 6 occupying 3 varying sizes of tents we had plenty of room and were left to get on with it and enjoy our trip.
The location of the site was great, the views we woke up to in the morning were breath-taking. The only downside was that the site is located next to a main road which means there was a bit of road traffic noise throughout the evening.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cae Gwyn and would totally stay there again..the only advice I would say is a) the midges were a nightmare and my partner was bitten all over, as it was beautiful weather we wanted to sit out in the evening and drink and BBQ but were unable to as the midges literally swarmed on us between 6pm-11:30pm, so make sure you take tons of insect repellent and citronella candles. b) do eat at the Rhiw Goch Inn as the food is good and it is within easy reach in the car - but don't make our mistake and walk there thinking it is a short walk as it isn't haha! c) enjoy Del the hardworking sheepdog - she's a right little character :)
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience with lots of great places to visit within easy reach, don't miss Barmouth, Harlech and Portmeirion!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rainbowbirko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Sue and Dave are the kindest, most helpful and understanding hosts. 2 of us arrived with a broken car window, which Dave patched up within 3 minutes...just before it started raining. Our room was lovely as was Sue's welcome. A very low key, relaxed atmosphere staying here, even though lots of other mountain bikers and walkers were in residence. Fantastic scenery and we felt very at home. Our room was lovely - and thanks so much for making it into a twin - and for making up the beds and tidying up after us. Dave and Sue met my subsequent numerous annoying requests with great patience and skill. Thanks to Sue for a lovely stay and to Dave for fixing Ingrid (the car) , the loan of your bolt cutters and for all your help with the tow-bar bike rack. Next time i come to North Wales I will be staying with you guys again if you have space. Thanks so much, MTFBWY. Dave
(The pub ferrying service is awesome by the way. )

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davetriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trawsfynydd
3.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Grapes Hotel
The Grapes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Maentwrog
237 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Treks Bunkhouse
Treks Bunkhouse
#1 of 1 in Llan Ffestiniog
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llys Ednowain Heritage Centre & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cae Gwyn Farm and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cae Gwyn Farm and Nature Reserve

Property: Cae Gwyn Farm and Nature Reserve
Address: Cae Gwyn Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4YE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cae Gwyn Farm And Nature Reserve Trawsfynydd, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing