We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Carvery”
Review of The Rhiw Goch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trawsfynydd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rhiw Goch Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Carvery”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked here for New Year's Day and all of the party had the carvery priced at £10 per head. We were treated to an excellent meal with superb portions meat - my cut of beef actually covered half of the plate!! Would recommend, bar is also great with log fire.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank devamch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    9
    15
    8
See reviews for
30
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Rhiw Goch Inn was to be our place to eat and drink for our stay in north wales for 5 days, the public bar has a lovely log fire to greet you,night or day. the bar staff were all very welcoming and a good choice of drinks at the bar including two real ales which were tested every night and allways passed ! we ate in the bar every night allthough there is a further area behind the bar and a lovely restaurant to eat in too. there was a good choice on the the menu and the meals were all lovely, there is a great sunday carvery and wed/thurs nights they do a two for one offer on the menu which was great value, there was always plenty of staff to serve you and they all had a smile on thier face, good pub grub, good beer ! good staff ,, what more do you need !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patto9941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at holiday village so decided to eat here. We thought it was very over priced average pub food did not warrant inflated prices only ate here once preferred getting a meal deal instead from tesco or fish and chips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stevenage_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Such potential. This old building with traditional decor could have been a gem, but it was spoilt by catering to the campsite that surrounded it, being overpriced and employing staff that didn't seem to care much. Not my sort of pub and I could not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cdm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were directed to this 'restaurant' as the closest location to the place we were staying.
On arrival all signs direct you to the large car park at the rear, having parked facing the building there are 2 signs immediately apparent directing you to either the bar or 'a la carte' restaurant.
We chose the restaurant, which was perhaps our downfall. The interior of the restaurant looked a little 'tired', and the furniture, coverings etc would not be what I expected in an 'a la carte' restaurant. The restauarnt was not very busy though we still had a 5 minute wait before someone appeared to direct us to a table.
Now, we were slightly disturbed to discover the menu was a plastic folded affair proclaiming to be the menu for both the bar and restaurant. Whilst deciding on our meals I asked the waitress for drinks, only to be informed that they could not provide drinks in the restaurant and I would have to make my own way into the bar and purchase my drinks from there and return with them.
This maybe should have been another warning sign but I duly made my way to the bar.
Now, on entering the bar, the contrast could not have been greater, a nice environment with leather seating, wood panelliing, and a real country estate pub feel to it. This is where we should really have decided to have our meal.
Once the food arrived in the restaurant we were unfortunately met with further disappointment, whilst the lamb shank and the pie ordered were very nice, the use of tinned potatoes, over blanched broccoli and cauliflower detracted from what could have been a very nice meal.
We did finish off the evening with a dessert which again was ok but nothing special. We also felt it didnt provide best value for money, maybe due to its captive audience, with cost of meals and desserts being a little on the high side.

All the staff were quite friendly, though a little young, which may account for the inability to provide drinks within the restaurant.
As the Inn is located adjacent to a holiday village it may be that its appeal is directed more towards these residents rather than passing trade. I would also assume that many residents use their cabins over a wekend and by the sunday evening, the night of our visit, many have left to return home and the Inn does not have the same numbers of clients for which to make an effort.

The food had the potential to be really good but was let down by the accompaniments and the initial impression that the restaurant was perhaps a little more special than was the case. Unfortunately I dont think this is somewhere I would recommend as a restaurant, though by all means visit the bar as this appeared to real place to be.
Not somewhere we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Use the bar, not the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RichJCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We we saying in one of the beautiful log cabins and walked to the Rhiw Goch , atmosphere was really relaxed , prices reasonable and food really nice, the waitresses made a real fuss of the kids and they absolutely loved it , can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Barty8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Pub was on the site of Transwynydd Holiday Village, a 10 minute walk from our cabin (take a torch is you are planning on walking back!!) If you eat in this pub Friday - Sunday the meals are quite expensive - weekdays they are 2 For 1 and very good value.
The meals come in large portions and there is more than enough to fill even a big appetite.
Pricewise the Lamb Shank was £14.55 and the Ribs around £11, Burgers £9 each, which is quite pricey for a pub meal, excellent value however when 2 For 1. The food though is very good quality, the Pork Ribs dropping off the bone, the 12oz Burgers fresh and tasty.....good quality meat, served with chips and salad. We sat in two different seats in the bar on two nights and it was very cold despite there being some portable heaters in......however this wont be a problem in the late spring/summer when I would guess they are busier. There are comfy sofas to relax in and the drinks are reasonably priced. There is a separate restaurant part if you prefer with a specials board. Neither night did we have space for a pudding.
There is a small games room, gaming machines, shooting game pool table etc.
Overall, the quality here is great, the staff were friendly and helpful when asked a few questions about the area. Recommended visit if staying local.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCME1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trawsfynydd
4.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Grapes Hotel
The Grapes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Maentwrog
225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gwesty Seren Hotel
Gwesty Seren Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Pengwern
Pengwern
#3 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llys Ednowain Heritage Centre & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhiw Goch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhiw Goch Inn

Property: The Rhiw Goch Inn
Address: Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Rhiw Goch Hotel Trawsfynydd
The Rhiw Goch Inn Trawsfynydd, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing