We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rhiw Goch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trawsfynydd
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rhiw Goch Inn
Save
You added The Rhiw Goch Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 3 Trawsfynydd B&B and Inns
Wigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Well worth a visit. Excellent Food and homely atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmys66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    7
    11
    4
See reviews for
20
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Staying locally while we were on our Easter biking holiday. We booked for 9 of us. Surroundings fantastic. Price of drinks very reasonable. And the food spot on. Staff very welcoming and very helpful. You'd be silly not to pay a visit.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cragzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halkyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Popped up from nearby Cadair View Lodge for a recce and a lovely pint of real ale and top up the email with the wifi which was readily made available.

Recce proved excellent with the friendly reception and promising menu so we visited again for a delicious meal. That proved the winner for us so we booked the Sunday carvery and thoroughly enjoyed it.

This pub is run by a lovely team and staff who make you very welcome. Service was top notch, meals were brilliant and the real ale was spot on.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed in the Rhiw Goch cottage for 2 nights. We were the first guests living in the cottage - all was brand new - the kitchen, the furniture, the line etc. The Owner (Mr. Riley) is just amazing - doing everything himself (buying all the stuff for the cottage, serving breakfast to the guests, bringing flowers etc. ) and so positive all the time, all charm and smiles! We liked him a lot!
The cottage is not big but very roomy (3 bedrooms, 2 of which have 2-level beds, so 11 people can sleep there quite comfy! ideal for families with chidren). The living room has got 2 leather sofas, an armchair, a table, a fire place, a TV-set, a stand lamp; the kitchen is fully equiped with all kinds of dishware, there is a dish-washing machine, a fridge, an oven etc. The bathroom has a shower and a bath (and a window with am amazing view!)

Breakfast is served in the Rhiw Goch Bar and includes cereals, toasts and cooked English breakfast (potatoes, tomatoes, sausages, mashrooms, eggs..)

The location is great - hills and sheep all around, all quite and green and sunny and just peacefull and beautiful! a very relaxing countryside place.

Loved the place, the owner, the service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pnka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

During our 3 night stay a Cae Gwyn Farm just down the road, we ate at the pub/restaurant 2 out of the three nights. The first night it was just my partner and I, I was very impressed with the amount of choice on the menu in the vegetarian section, more than I have seen in most places. We were also impressed with the number of specials chalked up on the walls, starters, mains and puddings.
The second evening we ate there we were joined by 4 others, who were all equally impressed with the variety, portions and quality of the meals. The waitresses were very helpful and friendly, I couldn't fault their service. The speed of the preparation of the meals was spot on also!
We also stayed around after the meals and had a few drinks and played pool and table football in the games room which was good fun, the pub was lively and friendly and had a fun atmosphere. The added bonus was that when we mentioned we were staying at cae Gwyn we received a 10% discount off our total bill, brilliant stuff!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank rainbowbirko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

7 of us ranging between age 46 down to 7 dined here 3 times during our weeks stay at the holiday village.

the service was excellent, staff were always friendly and helpful. and we never waited long for our food.

on the whole the food was good except for very undercooked veg on the roast dinner. the portions were huge and we only managed to make it to desert once! the children really enjoyed their meals.

the only downside really was the prices. a bit steep for what is basically pub food.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We ate at The Rhiw Goch Inn when we stayed in Snowdonia with Cadair View Lodge.The place is ideal, just a short walk up the hill from the log cabins... though mind your ankles on the cattle grids on your way back down!The place dates back to the 16h Century and has an amazing history (thanks Cadair View Lodge website for filling us in beforehand) and is even the birth place of a saint.Food is good pub grub... loved the steak and ale pie. Place hasn't been "done over" as so many places our way have. It's neat and tidy and comfortable. It was very busy during our stay (over New Year) but the staff were still friendly and helpful.Tried to get a table each time by the big open fire (not always sucessful) not that it was cold but it just added to the atmosphere.Will definitely eat here again when we come back to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FineatFifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trawsfynydd
4.8 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
15.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
8.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gwesty Seren Hotel
Gwesty Seren Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llan Ffestiniog
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Grapes Hotel
The Grapes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Maentwrog
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhiw Goch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhiw Goch Inn

Property: The Rhiw Goch Inn
Address: Bronaber, Trawsfynydd, Snowdonia National Park LL41 4UT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trawsfynydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trawsfynydd
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Rhiw Goch Hotel Trawsfynydd
The Rhiw Goch Inn Trawsfynydd, Wales, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing