We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”
Review of Blue Lake

Blue Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of the top secret places in Wales although it was a tough climb for me, water was deep blue and very few people go here. Good walking boots required as it is a steep climb and a bit wet in places

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank flybitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    19
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fantastic spot to just gaze and take in.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had been told about this place by some friends of ours so we decided to take a look for ourselves. The walk from the road was a little strenuous but we manged alright. It's not signposted that well but that's what makes it so special and a real secret spot to go to. The history of it isn't that well documented but it's easy to see that it was once a quarry and some of the mine/quarry workings have been left.

It felt a bit magical like the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe as you enter through the tunnels but wow....what a treat.

Thanks to our friends for telling us but we are not going to tell anyone else....promise...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank RandRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Definitely recommend this place. As soon as I put up the photos of here people were asking me where about I was and couldn't believe I was still in the UK!

The water is pretty cold but refreshing after the walk up in the sun.

Fishers take your rods, the water is clear enough to see exactly where your catch is.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aimee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth The Climb”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Decided to go to the Blue Lake after discovering it here on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. After a fairly tough climb (walking boots required) we reached the top and found ourselves looking down on a tranquil, clear blue lake. The views over Fairbourne and Barmouth are spectacular too. If you get lost the locals will point you in the right direction!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth it!!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hill climb was hard work but the blue lake was worth it. The spectacular blue colour of the water and the tranquil setting in the old quarry was reward enough for the steep climb.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paws4thawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lake also viewed

Fairbourne, Gwynedd
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Blue Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing