We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Lake”
Review of Blue Lake

Blue Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Blue Lake”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Blue lake is beautiful, on a nice day the walk up is lovely with some stunning views. My mum is a 'local' and I must point out the reason people don't swim in it is not because of the cold, but because it is dangerous to do so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank braff88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    18
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

a good walk up the hill to be met by a lake that is so pretty and blue.The views from up there are great and it really is worth visiting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely walk up to blue lake on a sunny day. We sat and sunbathed for a while and oh had a little swim. Perfect place to go for a walk and them sit down and enjoy the view. There was a group of people having a BBQ too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catrin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Be the first to take the plunge”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Trekking to the Blue Lake on a reasonably warm May morning, we were surprised to find that everyone was sitting round the edge but no one had entered the inviting water - especially considering the steep climb required to reach this picturesque quarry. When we plunged in a few minutes later (adults in swimwear, children in wetsuits), the general reaction seemed to be that we were not in our right minds! Yes the water was cold but not unpleasantly so, and over the next hour a number of other families opted to follow our example and join in the fun. If visiting the Barmouth area, the Blue Lake is definitely not an experience to be missed!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greghory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Childhood memories”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stumbled upon the lake over 35 years ago whilst on a family holiday. A great magical discovery for children. Returned with my partner 30 years later. Just re traced my steps and hey presto all the memories came flooding back. Was an emotional return having now lost my father. Was delighted to see it really hadn't changed. It's not sign posted but all the locals know how to find it. Once you park your car and put on some sturdyish footwear your senses take over and you just seem to know where to go. Bizarre I know. Neighbours who I recommended it to said the same. A great place to wow the kids with magical tales en route. A lovely romantic spot for Two.
If you visit the area and don't go you really will miss out. A place everyone should experience, there is nowhere like it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jlmdriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lake also viewed

Fairbourne, Gwynedd
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Blue Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing