We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal food. Superb service.”
Review of Indiana Cuisine

Indiana Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Fairbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Authentic indian only
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food. Superb service.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

What a gem of a find, recommended by a local hotelier, worth every penny on a surprisingly inexpensive menu. Raj explained straight away that ALL food was cooked from scratch and would not be there in 5 minutes, we waited about 30 minutes for the first course but it was worth it, sublime. The remainder of the meal was delivered immediately so it was only the first course where a wait occurred. The menu is diverse and offers great choices, I can highly recommend the Chicken Jalfreize. :-) All in all a great night and I left 20% tip as the Head chef worked so hard as did Raj. We will be back next year when we visit to take part in Race the Train again, Thanks again Raj for a fantastic nights dining. Phil and Jill Hendy :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank philby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    41
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real find!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a real find, delicious food, delightful owner who works very hard and clearly a fantastic chef in the kitchen. Authentic, tasty Indian food. Not a chip in sight and quite right too! A real taste of India and don't forget to try the puddings! We will be back again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were recommended to eat at Indiana by our hosts at Brackenhurst House. You wouldn't look at this place twice if you drove past but the quality of the food was fantastic. The menu is relatively small but the owner Raj was so friendly and helpful and talked us through each dish having first understood our likes and dislikes. His recommendations were perfect and some of the best Indian food we have ever eaten as well as probably the nicest restaurant owner you will ever meet. It was so good we went back the next night as well. Terrific

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GD6563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We ate here a few weeks ago on the advice of local friends. We had not previously thought it worth the 12 mile trip from home near Dolgellau ..but it definitely was! Excellent helpful service even though every table was full. Unpretentious decor in a small restaurant.
The food was wonderful and so unlike normal "Indian" food: the flavours were delicate and individual..have you ever had a "fish frankiie"?.Not many Indian restaurants allow the taste of the fish to come through the spices. No deep red food dyes or greasy sauces. The cooking was much more like eating home food in the house of Indian friends.
This is the best Indian restaurant I have been to since eating on the Tottenham Court Road in the 1970s'. It was a little bit more expensive than other Indian restaurants locally, but worth every penny. Portions are not enormous.
You will probably need to book..it was full when we went mid week.. We will definitely go again and recommend the place to visitors in our holiday let.

Hughes nr Dolgellau
A and L Hughes .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaFHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a secret”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Place was buzzing.Need to book.Warm welcome.Service good.Food beautifully spiced.Menu and wine well priced.
Looking forward to next visit in September.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Cuisine also viewed

Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Indiana Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing