We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Holiday!”
other travelers have booked this property
Affordable Luxury!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Affordable Luxury!
Hand crafted stable doors. Dovre log burner on polished slate hearth.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Affordable Luxury!
Hand crafted stable doors.
Dovre log burner on polished slate hearth.
Up the bespoke oak staircase.
The large living area with quality real leather sofa.
Another view of the large living/dining area.
Comfy sofa and additional window seating.
Time to unwind!
Fully equipped solid oak kitchen with spectacular granite worktop.
Yet another beautiful stable door.
The stairs seem to float in mid-air!
...and on up to your vaulted ceiling bedroom.
The very spacious bedroom.
Through to the large and inviting luxury bathroom.
Solid oak underfloor heated bathroom.
The granite basin and glass tap on oak washstand.
A view of the impressive oak trusses with double glazed unit separating bathroom.
Mood lighting throughout.
Not all bedrooms are like this!
Handmade iron railings outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fairbourne, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian Ronal...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Holiday!”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at TAN Y DDERWEN FRIOG Cottage was absolutely outstanding.
The beautiful homely cottage catered for all of myself and my partners needs, and certainly exceeded our expectations.

The owners are friendly and the surrounding areas are so breathtaking!

Excellent 100 %

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LightPack...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing cottage with everything you need..”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Having read through previous reviews we had high expectations, and I can say these were not just confirmed but exceeded, and the log fire was perfect for the cold December evenings.

The owners John and Jo made the stay extra special with welcome goodies, which just add to the overall experience.

The cottage is located near a train stop which makes traveling to surrounding areas very easy.

If your looking for a special getaway for a short break this cottage is ideal..We hope to return in the future..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sandraviv...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very special Fairbourne cottage”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Gorgeous cottage, very comfortable & felt like we were staying in a friends place, much better than your average holiday let. The location is good - five minutes walk into the small village -10 minutes walk to the beach. Easy to travel up and down the coast from Pwhelli to Aberystwith, we walked, we drove & also used the train (station 5 mins away). Fairbourne is only small but is an exceptionally friendly place. Lots to do in the area, We stayed for a week and found something to do every day. We walked into Barmouth & walked back once, the next time we caught the train back , we ate out in Fairbourne and Barmouth, We ate in in the cottage - lovely well equipped kitchen & I love to cook. The cottage is perfect for couples, Every room is lit beautifully. The underfloor heating both upstairs and down is lovely & is an "even" heat, We loved our stay - communication with the owners was really good - we had their e mail & phone numbers if there was a problem - they made us feel very welcome with the goodies they provided on our arrival - pretty perfect stay, would recommend & would stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M...
1 review
“Holiday let”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was superb, exceptionally clean and comfortable, on arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of prosecco,a chocolate cake and some milk which was a very nice gesture. It was by far one of the best places we have ever stayed and we will definitely recommend to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a romantic getaway”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at the cottage 15th-22nd June and had a great week. It has restored to an exceptionally high standard and when we arrived the cottage was spotless with some provisions for our stay (we needed a brew after our long drive). We were fortunate enough to have only two rainy days meaning we could appreciate the beautiful garden and where there are tables and chairs to sit and have a bevvy - I recommend Purple Moose ale. The location is excellent as it is close to a lovely beach and a train station. The train is very reasonably priced, the staff are very friendly and you can travel to Pwllheli or Birmingham (Birmingham is four hours away mind you). Barmouth is two stops away on the train but if you get off at Morfa Mawddach you can walk along the bridge across the estuary where there is a very nice pub called The Last Inn waiting for you at the end. There is lots to see and do and the blue lake is well worth the visit as it is a fairly short walk from the cottage and it is worth it for the fabulous views wherever you look. It's situation on the road isn't a problem and parking was fine. There is a folder in the house containing everything you could possibly need to know about the local area and the attractions it has to offer. We would definitely recommend and will hopefully be returning soon. Thanks to the helpful owners-Jo and John.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dazzer200...
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice overall ”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This place is a cosy bolt hole to stay at if visiting Wales for the first time.Prime location as out of the way of the hustle and bustle of the towns but very close to the beach.
Parking is very tight in the lay-by and if you have a large car just pull it in tight as local buses and lorries come round bend a bit fast.
Arrived and very nice touch on the prosecco in the fridge and the Thornton little treats on the table.
The owners have clearly spent a lot of money on this place but some things are of no purpose such as a sideboard which you would expect to have perhaps some dvds or cards but contained nothing and the tall chest of drawers in the bathroom which was very attractive, but again served little purpose.
Minor niggles on arrival which the owner sorted out the following day - it was a sixty mile round trip for them so couldn't be sorted straight away which was a shame.
The kitchen had some nice touches and appeared hardly used.
Lovely features included were the Velux blind in the bedroom which has a remote to open and close and the shower which has duel controls inside and out.
Found the bed very hard but some may prefer a firm mattress.
Would have preferred two sofas instead of the sideboard. The feature of the room is definitely the log burner and you can get logs from the local shop which is much cheaper than most places in Barmouth.
The place has plenty to keep a techno geek happy as has nine controllers to turn on lights and use the TV's sound systems. Wasn't able to get the TV or music system to pair up unfortunately.
Overall nice place but needs user-friendly instructions for the technology and another sofa definitely.
One last tip is to definitely visit the Blue Lake just round the corner up the pathway and take swimwear but be warned: very very cold water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing