We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy customer !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Dolwyddelan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unhappy customer !!!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Booked two nights, hotel not to our standard internet pictures unrealistic decided to leave after one night, hotel management insisted we paid for two night even though the rest of hotel was half full, we were recommended best room as it has best view coat of two nights in there best room was £180 in my opinion should have only been charged one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ANN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    60
    25
    21
    15
See reviews for
50
100
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just back from four nights at Elen's Castle with my kids. As an experienced TA reviewer I know this could go anyway depending on the reviewer. The fussy & pernicaty (real word?) could find fault but in my opinion the faults I could elaborate on are not worth the bother, lick of paint, bit more hoover action, so what. Food not Le Manoir but who needs to pay £90 a head, small menu which is always a good thing, we trawled most of it without complaint, when my kids are happy I'm happy, and they were. Staff friendly and when I couldn't get a taxi on Easter Sunday Adam responded above the call of duty by dropping us off and picking us up when called, and dropped at the station when we left, cost - £0. This place is not a 5 star gastronomic heaven but I have no complaints and would recommend without question.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zarniwoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay here but other family members did. Had family meal to celebrate a 60th birthday. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was tasty well cooked and very reasonably priced. Bar area small but cosy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Arrived very late but made welcome. Lots of parking opposite the hotel. Lovely room, nicely dressed spacious double with easy chairs, table with magazines, dressing table, tea/coffee tray, hair dryer. No fridge. Lovely large bathroom with proper bath and shower over. Lots of shelf space. No window in bathroom and automatic fan comes on with light but thankfully switched off when light switched off. Window in bedroom with view to side of hotel but can see the hills over the road
I stayed in room number 1 and I'd ask for this room again on a return visit. Unless tempted by the 4-poster room. Very quiet at night.
Breakfast is serve yourself cereal and juice then a full English breakfast is offered with toast, tea or cafetiere of coffee. Good quality sausage and bacon and made to order. No other breakfast choice other than full English.
There's an evening menu or the pub a short walk up the road. Secure storage for bikes if necessary. Staff helpful and friendly. I'd return here no problem. I'd give 5 stars but for no shower grab-rail, the dressing table mirror too high to use sitting down and a very little but tatty around some of the doors, skirting, handles and bath tiles. But I'm in no way bothered by this and I'd highly recommend this hotel and this particular bedroom.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank allaboutNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Ate here twice during a weekend's stay in the village with friends. As we had our dog with us, we were offered a table in the bar which was compact and cosy. Food was reasonably priced, tasty and with generous portions. Good welcoming atmosphere with chatty owners and customers alike.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My family, dogs and myself spent three days at this lovely place in early November. We were made very welcome despite our late arrival and were most impressed with our suite of three rooms and bathroom. The hotel manages to cater for a fascinating mix of locals and guests in the bar, good Welsh beer and conversation flowed freely every night, and it was particularly nice to chat with the owners who were attentive to customers and pets alike.
Breakfasts are perfectly cooked and plentiful, with fantastic mountain views from the dining room and books and maps on the shelves to inspire guests to think about the days' adventures.
Despite the dreadful weather during our stay, the rooms were cosy and warm with extremely comfortable beds! The evening menu was well thought out, well cooked and the portions were very generous.
In all, we were very happy with our stay and considered it to be a lovely little hotel offering great value, and the off-season 'three nights for the price of two' was a lovely surprise.

By the way, having read a few other (completely bonkers) reviews, anyone actually prepared to make the effort to find out the history of the building would then understand why it is called Elen's Castle. Its is quite obviously not an actual castle, but a helpful, friendly and pleasant place to while away a long weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was meeting up with 8 photo club friends for a Snowdonia weekend and sadly I booked for us all to stay here ! We had booked for dinner x 3 nights but cancelled after the first night.

the lady of the establishment, was clearly p'eed off that we all sat having a drink in the bar, about the front window and the fireplace - as she has to pass by to get to her living room :( and our presence inconvenienced her.

the bacon was hardly cooked and we explained (to the husband cooking breakfast) we preferred ours nearly crispy and without the fat on.

In our room, I did not dare to use the electric twin socket, which was not fitted secure to the wall. The ensuite (the size of two RED telephone boxes) was ok if you were very small - we let taller and bigger friends have our bigger bedroom, with the proper en suite.

Bed linen was clean and room neat & tidy.

Betws-y-Coed is nearby with great restaurants and hotels and B & Bs

I shall refrain from saying any more, but beware!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Chevvy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
4.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
3.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
520 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0EJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolwyddelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely historical inn with all modern comforts. Beautiful location in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Friendly and comfortable with excellent breakfasts and dinner. Family friendly with ideal family suites. Cosy bar with log-burning stove. Great Welsh castle just a short walk away. Stunning views. Free parking and high-speed broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing