We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, warm and welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Dolwyddelan B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, warm and welcoming.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have just returned from a three night stay at Elen's Castle. The accommodation was as described on their website. We were in room one, a deluxe double with very effective heating. The view isn't amazing, but the bed was comfortable, plenty of drawers and roomy wardrobe. The bathroom was huge and remained warm despite having no obvious heating source. The decor is a little dated and tired, but we were not paying five star prices. Ian and Helen were friendly and helpful, as were the waiting staff at breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was generous and tasty. Evening meals were reasonable, both in price and quality and included lots of fresh vegetables. The bar area was relaxing and comfortable. All in all an unpretentious and friendly base from which to explore Snowdonia National Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    60
    24
    21
    15
See reviews for
48
100
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Was staying nearby and passed Elen's Castle. Was immediately impressed by the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Landlord was very friendly. Nice comfortable sofas in the bar and a nice layout with some quieter more private areas. Food was excellent with a distinct focus on local home cooked produce. Burger was one of the best I've had. Also the lamb chops were very tender, tasty and generously portioned.Good value food. All in all thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Only visited the restaurant . Didn't stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW4Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is on a main, busy road, carparking across from it. a fine field for walking dogs with access from both ends of the village.
We were swiftly booked in by a tense owner...we felt this throughout our stay...
Evening meal was very poor as was the breakfast for the price we had to pay.
We asked for brown toast but he came back with an empty bread sack?...local shop is 2 min away!
This is a pet friendly place that's why we booked it and indeed she was allowed to stay with us in the room, we created a space for her underneath the window...had clothes peg with us to tie up and close the curtains so not too much light would wake her early....
All in all we were a bit disappointed but glad our dog could be with us in comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oraiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Check in was quick and easy for our break at Elen's Castle consisting of 4 nights - I would have loved to have stayed longer. Helen & Adam were very warm and welcoming to both ourselves and two rescue Westies Sammy & Lulu.
We chose the full breakfast which was very tasty indeed - plenty of choice of fruit and cereals available and great coffee. We also had 2 evening meals out of our 4 night stay and found this also to be tasty with plenty of choice on offer and of really good standard.
Our bedroom (Room 2) consisted of a Four Poster Bed that was really comfortable plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe - the room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean and offered a bath with shower over - nice hot water available too.. We slept like logs in this room - yes it was at the front of the builidng but was so cosy and comfy - and we slept with the window wide open and still no sound of traffic from the road outside.
The bar was quaint with lovely banter from both fellow travellers and locals who frequent the hotel bar and prices just like going to our local pub at home Overall it's a lovely place to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings that North Wales has to offer - some lovely sights and beaches all within easy reach.
Helen and Adam from the start (on booking) made us and our little rescue Westies welcome and would not hesitate to recommend to others looking for a great little place to stay -both owners very knowledgeable about the surrounding area.
Fantastic hospitality throughout our stay at Elen's Castle - we will be returning.
Sue & Rob Burford-Barbour with Sammay & Lulu

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have such a great time when I go so I'm really looking forward to my next visit in October. And my Dog scruff will also be very Happy as she will have the chance to play on one of the lovely beeches not to far away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in the coach house, which was unbelievably cheap, with comfortable beds, clean sheets and a good shower. Perfect for a 3-man climbing expedition.

The bar was cosy, and authentic, with a resident retired climbing guide propping up the bar!! The owner was really friendly, and looked after us well.

The cooked breakfast we had each morning was really nice, and cooked as if the chef actually had thought about what it would be like to eat! an excellent fortifying meal before a day on the rock.

Much better than Bets - y - Coed (spelling?). A real gem, brilliant find. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Traveling through north Wales we happened upon Elen's Castel and chose to stop there for the night. We were warmly welcomed and given a choice of rooms. then our room was upgraded at no extra charge. Wonderful hospitality and great location make Elen's Hotel an excellent place to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
4.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
4.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
10.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Dolwyddelan, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0EJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dolwyddelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely historical inn with all modern comforts. Beautiful location in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Friendly and comfortable with excellent breakfasts and dinner. Family friendly with ideal family suites. Cosy bar with log-burning stove. Great Welsh castle just a short walk away. Stunning views. Free parking and high-speed broadband internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Elen's Castle Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing