We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and value.”
Review of Y Gwydyr Hotel

Y Gwydyr Hotel
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
Restaurant details
Dolwyddelan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Have had five meals at The Gwydyr over the last year and the standard has never faltered. The food is very tasty and the meat etc is of really good quality and so plentiful. Best gravy ever and an abundance of well cooked vegetables and very pleasant staff who can't do enough for you. I recommend this to all friends and holiday makers as I am sure they will not be disappointed with any of the meals on offer, be it curry, fish, steak or vegetarian or their delicious sweets and starters. Well done Shane for offering what people want from a lovely little village pub in a very picturesque area of Snowdonia. Try the quiz nights or the karaoke nights and your sure to get a lovely welcome or sit in the beer garden on a sunny day and watch village life pass you by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dolwyddelan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old fashion pub with excellent food ,real fire”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good pub to visit lovely food at a good price, nice staff ,real log fire, dolwyddelan has around 300 living there and all we spoke to were very nice, we ended up staying at the gwydyr all tho the pub is nearly 300 years old the rooms are all en suit and done to a high spec. Would recommend this place to any one

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

One of the best pub meals I've had in a long time in an area where there is not too much choice. Very friendly service. Recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ansbnks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolwyddelan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good food at a very good price”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good selection of bar food at a very good price. Presentation very good, plenty of it and real home made chips.Deserves a visit, real good value for the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lotty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A brilliant local pub”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I can say nothing but good things about Shane and his crew at Y Gwydyr in Dolwyddelan. We came in for small bite to eat and he went out of his way to create a very memorable meal for 13 of us, without reservations. The food was first rate, the service was impeccable and the Welsh ales were delicious. The games room was a great place to shoot billiards and the quiz night was a blast. There was always a fire in the fireplace to keep up warm and one of the local hounds was in to make sure we could give him few scratches behind the ears. I would not hesitate to recommend Y Gwydyr to anyone staying for a nice holiday in Dolwyddelan. Shane proved to be quite handy making slate coasters and souvenirs for our group. We felt as though we'd met a new friend, not just the owner of the local pub.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Gwydyr Hotel also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Gwydyr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing