We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in fabulous setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Historical Tanycastell and Dolwyddelan (Llywelyn Fawr's) Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
188Willia...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in fabulous setting”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Love this cottage, very clean and spacious, lovely decor, but still retains its character, there is everything you need for a relaxing stay and it is in an ideal location for walking/sightseeing. The views are amazing ( especially from the bathroom!), as are the luscious gardens. A great place to recharge your batteries! Diolch!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Many thank Gaynor. Hwyl fawr, Dylan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely cottage, amazing views and great location both for walking into village with pub, hotel and shop but also for all the great adventurous activities and sightseeing in local area. Cottage is spacious, and a great get away from it all. Only slight grumble was the Shower in the ensuite was either too hot or too cold and water pressure was low, I'm sure there's a knack to it! Great welcome pack. Fell in love with the area and we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephenof...
2 reviews
“A superb Cottage. Enjoy it, look after it and book it now.”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

With six adults, one 14yo and a dog we needed a large property to stay in. My daughter found this and how pleased we all were!
It is a superb property, well kept and very well positioned for all locations we wanted. Great for dog walking.
Someone including the owner has commented on how slow the Internet is. Speed test.net recorded it at 2.9mbs however we had three iPads connected as well as five phones and it was working as well as my 200mbs connection at home. So, don't let this put you off.
The cottage was equipped with everything you need for your stay including DVD's, games and toys for the kids.
If you are looking for a smaller cottage the owner has the adjoining cottage as well.
The owner, a very pleasant chap greeted us on our arrival and showed us around. They had left a welcome pack which was greatfully accepted, thanks again for that.
There is a Spar shop in the village where the prices are very good, we used it a lot.
Would we book it again, yes in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waqarqure...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, cosy and luxurious!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

2 Tanycastell is a an excellent example of a period property that feels very much like a mix of the best of old and new. We loved the fact that the cottage is hidden down a driveway, next to a stream. Having stayed in a few holiday cottages before, this was the best cottage experience that we have had. The cottage is beautifully set and it has a high quality look and feel to it inside. The kitchen is well equipped apart from the slightly annoying induction hob.The dining room is fantastic with great views. We loved the slate floor in these two rooms. The living room is cosy with tv and a sky box, and the bedrooms are luxurious and colour schemed very nicely.

The only reason that I can't give this cottage a 5 star rating is due to the internet issues that we had. The internet only worked for the first day; the other 6 days there was no internet access at all. This was very disappointing because we were relying on the internet to be able to contact people. as the mobile signal is very weak. Dylan tried his best to get it working but there was a line fault with BT somewhere and they did nothing to fix it. We were annoyed with BT because they managed to achieve nothing in six days! The best signal was with 3 and Vodafone networks, and the main bathroom windowsill is the best place to get signal!

We arrived to a lovely, thoughtful welcoming tray of welsh cakes and snacks, and that valued feeling which is so important when staying in someone else's home stayed with us until the day we left. Dylan is a lovely, friendly guy who was happy to chat and he tried to solve any issues that we had. It's these small touches that you remember. Truthfully we would be happy to stay here again in the future and I think we actually will, which has not been the case elsewhere. I suppose that's the best way to sum Tanycastell up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mix of modern and period feel
Liked least: The lack of internet access
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T
Congleton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful period property and fantastic friendly hosts!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Like the previous occupants, we also stayed for 2 weeeks but unlike them we have nothing but praise for Dylan and the house! We arrived several hours early when Dylan and his wife were still in the process of cleaning the property. Not wishing to disturb them we asked if we could just put our shopping in the fridge and then sit in the garden a while until the place was ready for us, to which they replied that there was absolutely no problem. Dylan even interrupted what he was doing to give us the tour and his wife made us a pot of tea. They could not have been more friendly or accommodating! The house we found to be spotlessly clean with everything you could wish for in a holiday cottage. There was even a PlayStation 2 and some games for anyone with restless kids! Wi-fi was patchy in some parts of the house the further from the router it was but this is only to be expected and we were warned of this. In the living and dining room it was perfectly fine. The house itself was a joy, the rooms huge and we loved the log burners in the two downstairs rooms (which we had cause to use as the weather wasn’t great for our weeks). The dining room table can easily sit 10 people as we found one afternoon when we had a visit from family also staying locally. My only wish would have been to not have the protective tablecloth over the table but I can fully understand the reason for it as it is such a beautiful piece of furniture. The bedrooms are lovely and the beds very comfy – we had no issues with the bed linen and there were plenty of towels which is not always the case with many holiday lets.

The location of the cottage is fantastic, being just a stone’s throw from Dolwyddelen Castle and having superb views towards the river and mountains, and while there is some traffic noise when in the garden this was not unexpected, situated as it is just below a main road (inside the house, however, the thick walls mean that this is not a problem). Just one thing to be aware of is that the entrance to the house can be easy to miss as it lies right on the bend of the road so I would advise slowing down in the approach.

I would highly recommend staying at Tan y Castell No 2. We had a fantastic stay and would very much like to return in the future. The only downside for us this time was the weather but hey,there’s nothing to be done about that and after all, this is Wales!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge rooms, log fires, views, period features......
Liked least: The midges!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs a refresh and clean - no WIFI. Not suitable for dogs”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 weeks.
Whilst it is advertised as “Dog friendly” I feel it is very important for potential dog owners who may be planning on staying here to know that there are no dog walking routes direct from the cottage.
There are 3 walks mentioned in the cottage info book but all are not dog friendly.
One is up to the castle which has signs all the way saying “NO DOGS”
The other is a mile down the duel carriageway directly behind the cottage which does not have a pavement and is a very traffic busy road.
When you do reach the location it is a field with a path and a sign saying: “Dogs on leads only”
Bottom line is, to walk dogs you have to put them in your car and drive to a destination which was a major frustration to us as the cottage is surrounded by fields and greenery but it is all farm land and no public footpaths.
We would not stay here again. The WIFI was intermittent and restricted to one room. We were here for 2 weeks and WIFI was important for my job.
Dylan did appear after the first week and said he would be back with a router to fix the problem.
We watched him leave from next door the day after and never heard from him again.
I raised a slight issue that I had to spend half a day cleaning the kitchen area from a film of grease on the oven, hub and extractor as well as the utensils. Dylan brought the cleaning issue up but did so in a defensive and offended manner claiming he did his own cleaning and considered it to be the best.
It was not clean. One of the cushions was wet and smelt of food when we arrived and the bedding on one bed had dark stains where the feet would normally rest.
I did not sleep in that bed only on top of it.
Dylan came after a week and went upstairs to change the bedding which made us feel uncomfortable having someone handling our bedding etc.
Finally he told us off for allowing our tiny toy dogs to sleep in the lounge on their beds and insisted they were locked in the kitchen or dining room with all doors shut.
Every linen cupboard was locked and this made us feel like we were not to be trusted.
We stay in cottages in Wales every year for the last 8 years and would not rent this cottage again for the reasons above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: No WIFI as advertised and bad attitude customer service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing