We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family celebration holiday!”

Review of Cae Du

Cottage and patio, with the BBQ handy and out side dining table and chairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and patio, with the BBQ handy and out side dining table and chairs
Looking up at the house Bedroom with en-suite, with balcony overlooking the river and woods beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cottage and patio, with the BBQ handy and out side dining table and chairs
Looking up at the house
Bedroom with en-suite, with balcony overlooking the river and woods beyond
Double bedroom with Queen sized bed
Dining for Twelve
Large country kitchen with adjacent utility room
Entrance Hallway
The larger of the 2 lounges with TV HI FI and WI FI
River beneath the cottage with a riverside walk within the grounds
The riverside walk in the garden
The riverside walk in the garden
The river pool at the bottom of the garden in the winter
The river pool in the Spring
Walking the garden
summer house
Walking The garden
walking the garden
View of Cae Du from the hills above
Autumn view on the coastal path
A winters view from the Snowdon path
A view from the Llandudno cable car
Spring in The National Trusts Bodnant Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrslisawi...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family celebration holiday!”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Five adults and two dogs holidayed at Caedu on a Monday to Friday break. The accommodation was amazing and gardens stunning. We enjoyed relaxing in the spacious house, wandering round the beautiful gardens and even swimming in the river. We didn't need to venture out much as we had great weather for enjoying the grounds but the cottage is also well located for plenty of walks and tourist attractions. There were a lot of midges due to the good weather, but Tim has even provided a machine to help combat this issue! We had an amazing time, the dogs have slept for almost the entire two days that we have been back home after all their excitement at Caedu. We will most definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thanks so much for you compliments, delighted you had a good break at Cae Du.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickimale
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would defiantly recommend”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our second time as a large party to the cottage. The cottage has more than enough space for everyone. The kitchen is better equipped then my own at home. Spotlessly clean and well furnished. Garden and views that are great fun to explore or perfect to just to sit and admire. Children really appreciated the new swings and slide.
Very helpful owner after we had lost some property and vary prompt in communication.

Looking forward to visiting again... and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
So pleased you had a good stay and thank you for taking the time to write you kind comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elliewxx
Bromborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Have just come back from our second stay at Cae Du. We first went in January 2013. It was so nice to come back and see what's different whilst revisiting old memories. The house is huge, absolutely beautiful and extremely well kept. Garden is spectacular to look at, stunning river and our two dogs really loved playing in such a big space. It's only a short drive into Betws-y-Coed. Our whole family had a fantastic weekend and everyone has said they definitely want to come back. We were made to feel at home by both the owners and cleaners and were even left a few bottles of wine, milk and teabags etc all ready for us. Couldn't fault anything, could go on for days about how great it was. I would recommend this cottage to anyone. Thank you !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank You for taking the time to write such a kind review, so pleased you had a good weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed here for a weekend with family to celebrate my ruby wedding anniversary. The cottage was immaculate and the grounds and views amazing. Had a wonderful weekend.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cottage, grounds and views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Thank you so delighted you had a good celebratory weekend, ruby wedding can'r be bad congratulations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2016
Very disappointing for me to receive a poor review, a first in the 10 years or more since I have been doing this. I can only apologise for the heating not being on when you arrived, it is the intention to leave the heating switched on so the house is warm on your arrival, at this moment I am not sure why this did not happen, I will endeavour to make sure this is not the case in the future, to my knowledge the first time it has happened. Equally saddened that you were also dissapointed with some of the furnishings as we are continually replacing and updating these, the cushions were in fact only purchased this year, the master bedroom rugs are due for replacement over this winter. As ever your comments are helpful to us, and we do take them seriously, and always act upon them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Natalie86...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing place! Just spent a long weekend here with family for my 30th birthday. Absolutely stunning house and grounds, everything we could ask for and more. Will definately be returning here, maybe in the summer months this time so we can fully appreciate the garden/grounds. Perfect for all the family, including dogs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to send in this complimentary review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here and the house lived up to expectations, thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShonaArns...
Arnside
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for kids, dogs, and adults! ”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow wow wow!! What an amazing place! Can't say enough good things about this place- our party of 12 from ages 5 to 42 including teenagers and a dog all had a wonderful time! I echo everything in the previous reviews and more. The best thing really is the garden - it's enormous and entertained the 7kids and one dog in our party for literally hours! Rope swing, summer house, little bridges to climb, river pool to swim in, picnics by the summer house, acres of exploring to do plus hours of fun playing hide and seek! Which meant plenty of relaxing time for the grown ups! (Happy kids = happy holiday!).
All the rooms are fantastic, with very comfy beds, and a well equipped kitchen. Yes perhaps a tumble drier would be useful as a previous reviewer says but we dried our things easily enough in the utility bit using the dehumidifiers (washing dried over night).
Plenty of seating space in the lounge for our party of 12 and the little lounge provided a great extra little place for kids to play or an adult to grab 40winks in peace!
As other reviewers have said, we planned to do so much whilst staying in Wales but in actual fact we spent the majority of our time just relaxing at the "cottage" because it's so beautiful and the grounds are so extensive, and the kids and our dog loved it said much here! I think my dog thought he was in heaven!
Two places we would recommend tho are Newbrough Beach on Anglesey (busy on a sunny day but well worth it- lovely long stretches a sand and pebble), and also the Treetopadventure place about 10mins drive from the cottage. Great fun for all ages!
Communication with the owner, Tim, before the holiday was brilliant and he emailed me a wealth of info about trips out etc which was really useful. We also met the gardener on the last day who is a really friendly chap.
Don't bother looking anywhere else, just book here! You will not be disappointed :-)
Thanks so much to Tim and Polly for such a wonderful stay. We'll be back! X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Many thanks for you kind compliments and pleased you had such a good holiday and managed to enjoy the space around the house. It makes all the gardening worth while.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing