We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring North Wales”
Review of Lledr House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lledr House Hostel
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Lledr House and found it to be an excellent hostel and a great value. The memory foam beds were comfortable and the shower had lots of hot water and great pressure. The common room was nice and the kitchen had everything we needed. We were also able to bring our dog for a small additional fee which was definitely a bonus. The hostel is relatively central and we were able to explore most of Northern Wales easily. We would definitely recommend it to hikers or sightseers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubreewisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Travelling up to North Wales on the motorbike was spectacular. Lledr House is a few miles from FFin y parc country house and gallery where we were visiting an exhibition. The hostel was great, friendly staff who left you to your own devices once you had the key to your bedroom. Kitchen had everything in it you needed for cooking dinner or breakfast. TV in common room and the bedrooms were very comfortable and showers and toilet facilities very good. Very old place but in a lovely setting and great views.
Bit dusty in the common room but hey that was not an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlchemistCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Lledr House was a perfect base for our family of four to explore Snowdonia at Easter time when camping can be hit and miss. Our 14 and 11 year old children enjoyed the use of the large lounge/communal area offering Sky TV where we could relax and play games in between day trips and in the evenings. The well-stocked kitchen was plenty big enough to prepare food even when other guest were using it too. However the cooker needs a professional clean. There is a fridge/freezer, toaster and microwave available to use making self catering easy.
We slept in a four-bunk room which was clean and cosy, the mattresses were very comfy and the bed linen clean. A sink in the room was handy too.The upstairs bathroom was satisfactory but the ground floor one was very modern and spacious.
The owners were friendly yet kept their distance meaning we felt at ease to come and go as we pleased throughout the day, perfect during wet weather.
Lledr House is in a perfect location to visit many places and attractions in North Wales and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

First off I will say that we really enjoyed our stay at lledr house. The location was beautiful, set into stunning scenery. The room was clean and the beds were super comfortable. The views all around were incredible, felt as far away from the city as you can get which was great! We found it on laterooms.co.uk and it was so much cheaper than anything else i couldn't not book it. I would like to note that on late rooms it isn't clear that it is bunk beds or a shared bathroom. As we were going on a hiking holiday we were ok, but couples planning a romantic break should probably look else where! The top bunk is very close to the ceiling meaning you can't sit up in bed and the walls are very thin meaning you can hear the people in the next room snoring! If you're a light sleeper take some ear plugs! Also if you're arriving in the evening take food as the nearest shops and restaurants close around 8.30.
The owner was friendly and helpful with information about the local area. The shared kitchen and living area seemed well equipped although we didn't really use it. The shower/toilet block is unisex, but has toilet roll replenished. The showers have very low pressure but are hot and clean. Don't forget to take toiletries and towels.
In all I would say this hostel was very good value for money, and would deffo stay here again if I'm on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nds16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Loved Lledr House. Perfect for a base - hot showers, clean room, good kitchen, great living room. Gorgeous location.

Barely saw proprietors but didn't impede logistics of staying - and they were v helpful on the phone whenever we spoke.

Possible negatives for other visitors: outside steps to get from rooms to kitchen/living area; smallish kitchen for numbers of guests; limited space to dry off wet kit. But our group were not bothered and thought it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner came here for a night and thank god it was only a night! Although there was nothing catastrophicly wrong here it left a lot to be desired.

For two of us it was cheap to say the least and the age old phrase of "you get what you pay for" defiantly applies. Lledr house used to be an YHA youth hostel, and its only gone downhill since then, the facilitys are still exactly the same as they where when the current owners left it, the kitchen looks as if it's never been cleaned in its life, and the oven is abismal with layer upon layer of baked on grime on what's a clearly dated industrial style unit.

As for our room, can't really complain, new memory foam matresses and well kept bunk beds, they're was some mould in the corner and the paint around the sink unit was starting to peel away. The current owners who live in the house next door where friendly so can't complain on that front, however the current renovation of their own living area has ment them taking an internal staircase (which would usually lead to the downstairs kitchen/diner) leaving the guests to use an outside staircase which was miserable in the storms as we stayed!

As I say, can't complain, if your simply after a place to get your head down on the cheap then you can't go far wrong here, a few minutes to bets y cowed and the mountains are on your doorstep.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank huggies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked for just one night in the main hostel but due to over-booking we were accommodated in the cabin for the night.

The cabin is AMAZING. Beautiful big open plan kitchen / diner / living room and huge bedroom with double bed, bunk beds and a single, all with the memory foam mattresses (the comfiest sleep I've had for ages), and a shower room with toilet and basin.

Kitchen is very well equipped, and there is Sky TV and Wi-Fi... what more could you want!?!

We have got to come back and stay, unfortunately maybe not this year but definitely next.

(Sorry for the late review, but it is such a wonderful place I don't know how I forgot to write the review!)

Room Tip: Cabin is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_and_Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
11 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.1 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 12 in Betws-y-Coed
95 reviews
21.8 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
#1 of 6 in Llanberis
119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Plas Curig Hostel
Plas Curig Hostel
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
450 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hostel Cellb
Hostel Cellb
#1 of 2 in Blaenau Ffestiniog
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lledr House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lledr House Hostel

Address: Pont-y-pant, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0DQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dolwyddelan
Price Range: $48 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lledr House Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel...... Delightfully situated in the heart of Snowdonia National Park with good access by road and rail, this former Quarry Manager's house which is covered in cedar shingle is situated in a very beautiful, quiet wooded valley. With it's own grounds and a large playing area adjacent, this riverside location is popular with travelers, walkers, cyclists and families alike. This was the first Youth hostel in North Wales and was run by the Youth Hostels Associaton for over 50 years. Now privately owned and family run, Lledr House offers a family feel to your stay and welcomes our repeat visitors and new-comers alike! Membership is no longer needed to stay at the Hostel. Changing ownership in late 2001, the main part of the house was converted into the Quilter family home and the hostel was made smaller on a more personal scale, reducing the bed count from 60 to 31. The Hostel has been newly refurbished and now features a large dormatory for up to 9 people, twin rooms, single rooms and family rooms with bunk beds and single beds. The hostel is self-catering with a large kitchen and dining room, making catering for your own meals straight forward. Neighbouring villages offer a variety of restaurants and take-away's ranging from Fish & Chips, pub grub, or Indian and Chinese cuisine, to the finer chef made meals served at our local Hotels. Nestled in the Snowdonia National Park, alongside the Lledr River, we are surrounded by woodlands and walks, with Pont-y-Pant railway station only a 10 minute walk away on the far side of the river. Lledr House offers exclusive fishing rights for freshwater Salmon and Trout!! (Permits are available from the village Post Office - approx £7.00 per day). There is ample parking on the grounds, with an over-flow parking located just a 2 minute walk away. Situated only 4 miles from Betws-y-Coed, a well known tourist hot-spot and back-packers town with wonderful gift shops to suit every taste! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lledr House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing