We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation”
Review of Lledr House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lledr House Hostel
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent place to stay if you don't expect luxury. Perfect location, clean rooms, big kitchen with all the facilities you could want, free Wi Fi and many more. Fantastic service from the owner. We forgot our towels and it was no problem to get them from Brian :) On the day, when we left, our car was broken (broken exauste) and - one more time - Brian was really helpful and gave us all necessary tools for repairing. Also his son was very helpful. Thanks a lot for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asc_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Lledr House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 64 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed at Lledr House before and came back.
Do I need to say more?
It’s about a 15 minute drive from Betws y Coed, so, if its peace and quiet you want. Then, it’s a great place.
I had a single room with a sink on the top floor for £15. Can I grumble? Not at all!!
The owner was lovely and very welcoming. Even on a cold, wet, Welsh evening.
Once the snow hits I will book the cabin behind the property. If the winter is as good as last year then I will spend a week there using it as a base for winter climbing this season.
Sounds good? It is, but, the only slight negative was the shower. To me a shower needs to have the ability to make tea and remove skin. Hot and powerful! There is nothing better than getting off the hill and getting into a lovely hot shower and feeling human again.
The water temperature was fine, just took awhile and the pressure wasn’t quite up to par. But then it’s a big property.

But I have no issue going back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was looking for some where to stop with a group of 8 guys wanting a weekend retreat where we could escape to after some mountian walking.

Lledr House was an excellent choice, Brian, the owner is very welcoming and the hostel has all the facilities you could want, a good sized kitchen,bunk rooms very comfortable and lashings of hot water for the showers.

The only thing missing is a drying room fo rthose wet cloths! would go back any time if walking in the Snowden Area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwinstoweBlades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We found the Lledr House Hostel by accident after bein washed off the mountains. Price was our main consideration and we were not expecting much for the money. We were very impressed with the standard of accommodation and even more so when we could take our dog inside. The rooms were small but comfortable, the showers hot and the common room inviting. Expect the Ritz? Pay Ritz prices. Want real value for more and abundant comfort? Lledr House is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Targett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fantastic location, be careful of the bend if driving, and well appointed hostel. Very friendly owners , great facilities . I'm glad this former YHA has been rescued by the current owners, too many of these lovely buildings go to ruin.

See you again , Pat .

Room Tip: I had room 6 at the top of the house, its very compact but also warm and cosy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h1ghway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

we stayed for one night as our friends got married a little way away from lledr house. I have stayed at hostels before, but it was my hubbys first, and I had warned him to be open minded. We were greeted by the owner who was friendly and helpful. There were 2 adults, 2 children and we were put in a room that sleeps 9. Luckily we weren't joined by others. Unfortunately we were expected to make up our own beds, which left unsightly stains on the mattresses clear for us all to see which was a little off putting. I feel the £50 we paid for the one night stay was a little expensive for what we got if im being totally honest. I did email the owner regarding my thoughts on this and he was very gracious in his response. Having young children, it was a bit of a pain not having the loo slightly closer haha!

Room Tip: Our room would be great for large groups of adults wanting to bed down for a night or two, it slept...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nthomas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My daughter and I have just spent a hugely enjoyable three days in snowdonia that was made even better by staying in this excellent value and friendly hostel. It's great to see this old YHA hostel being taken forward with such aplomb in such a beautiful valley.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolwyddelan
2.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
538 reviews
11.6 mi away
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
Y Gwnnedd Inn & Bunkhouse
#8 of 8 in Llanberis
0 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Plas Curig Hostel
Plas Curig Hostel
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
438 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 12 in Betws-y-Coed
92 reviews
11.7 mi away
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
#1 of 5 in Llanberis
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lledr House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lledr House Hostel

Address: Pont-y-pant, Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park LL25 0DQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolwyddelan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dolwyddelan
Price Range: $45 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lledr House Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel...... Delightfully situated in the heart of Snowdonia National Park with good access by road and rail, this former Quarry Manager's house which is covered in cedar shingle is situated in a very beautiful, quiet wooded valley. With it's own grounds and a large playing area adjacent, this riverside location is popular with travelers, walkers, cyclists and families alike. This was the first Youth hostel in North Wales and was run by the Youth Hostels Associaton for over 50 years. Now privately owned and family run, Lledr House offers a family feel to your stay and welcomes our repeat visitors and new-comers alike! Membership is no longer needed to stay at the Hostel. Changing ownership in late 2001, the main part of the house was converted into the Quilter family home and the hostel was made smaller on a more personal scale, reducing the bed count from 60 to 31. The Hostel has been newly refurbished and now features a large dormatory for up to 9 people, twin rooms, single rooms and family rooms with bunk beds and single beds. The hostel is self-catering with a large kitchen and dining room, making catering for your own meals straight forward. Neighbouring villages offer a variety of restaurants and take-away's ranging from Fish & Chips, pub grub, or Indian and Chinese cuisine, to the finer chef made meals served at our local Hotels. Nestled in the Snowdonia National Park, alongside the Lledr River, we are surrounded by woodlands and walks, with Pont-y-Pant railway station only a 10 minute walk away on the far side of the river. Lledr House offers exclusive fishing rights for freshwater Salmon and Trout!! (Permits are available from the village Post Office - approx £7.00 per day). There is ample parking on the grounds, with an over-flow parking located just a 2 minute walk away. Situated only 4 miles from Betws-y-Coed, a well known tourist hot-spot and back-packers town with wonderful gift shops to suit every taste! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lledr House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing