We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Visit to Heaven!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Govilon, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali264163
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Another Visit to Heaven!”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from our second visit to Penrose Cottage. We found it just as relaxing as our previous visit and would recommend it highly to anyone travelling with a disabled person.
The cottage, as always, is a joy with panoramic views out over the Brecon Beacons. The mountainside location means you are well away from traffic noise and even light pollution. The weather was very kind to us for April which made the whole experience just lovely.
The cottage has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms one of which is located on the ground floor with a wet room for a wheelchair user. We take our own floor hoist with us but everything else is suitable for wheelchairs. The kitchen door and rear French doors both have flat access to the garden area. A wooden picnic table means you can eat al fresco if desired.
Kitchen is really well stocked with plates, cups, dishes and pans etc. Dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer all available.
The hosts, Keith and Diane, are lovely people who are always on hand, if required.
If you want a peaceful, comfortable holiday to de-stress Penrose Cottage is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Having to come home!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali264163
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from Penrose Cottage in Govilon after one of the must peaceful holidays ever. This cottage is really lovely in a great location, excellent facilities and very kind and considerate hosts.
The cottage is on the mountainside just outside Govilon village with the most spectacular views across the Brecon Beacons - the Sugar Loaf mountain right opposite and a panorama that stretches probably 20 miles. There is a locked private garden with wildlife all around - birds, rabbits, squirrels and two very friendly sheep in the field next door. The sheep are the best form of food waste recycling ever. you name it they'll eat it. We called them Pavlov's sheep because as soon as you appeared near the fence they would come bounding down to see what was on offer.
Inside the cottage there were full facilities for a restful holiday - washing machine, tumble dryer and dish washer. Very well equipped kitchen. Microwave and halogen hob and electric oven. a downstairs bedroom with en suite wet room was ideal for my disabled son. All of the ground floor was fully accessible with flat access to front doors and patio doors.
We took a manual hoist with us and because of the wood flooring it worked really well. It is often difficult to take a disabled person away on holiday and have full confidence that all of the facilities and accommodation will suit but this was everything and more we could have hoped for. The lounge/diner was a good size with TV and DVD. Upstairs there are two double bedrooms (one a twin) both with en suite shower rooms. All of the bedrooms have TVs. The whole place is very cottagey with doors with latches etc.
I cannot recommend this cottage enough especially if you are taking a wheelchair user in your party. The hosts, Keith and Diane, are very hospitable. Keith gave us plenty of ideas of places to visit while we were there. They keep the cottage in excellent condition, clean and well maintained. Keith and Diane live just next door and are on hand if anything is required but are very unobtrusive otherwise. Often a thumbs up across the field at the back was all that was needed.
You may notice if you know this area of Wales that we had travelled only 24 miles to stay at Penrose Cottage because my son does not travel well. This cottage is a little piece of heaven which should not be missed.
Just two other points - previous reviewers mentioned poor TV reception but we found it fine on all of the TVs in the cottage. Another reviewer mentioned a very low bridge on the lane to get to the cottage - we have a disabled vehicle which is 2.1m high and was no problem nor was the transit from Waitrose with a refrigerator unit on the top who delivered groceries for us. However, there is another way around if you would prefer. There is no WiFi at the cottage but our 3G worked on the mobiles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities in the cottage and the magnificent views.
Liked least: The thunder and lightening!!!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damor5
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Penrose cottage a dream”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in November 2013, weather cold but welcome warm. Great cottage and great owner could not have asked for better. Downstairs bedroom (ensuite) fully wheelchair accessible.
Would recommend this cottage to anyone, owners very nice and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dmbow
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't forget Gran (or Grandad) even if they are 'forgetful'.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Everything you could want from a holiday 'home'. Fenced and locked grassed garden with incredible views over Abergaveny and the Brecon Beacons. Friendly sheep in adjoining field who enjoy a feed and a pat, numerous visiting birds, if you put out a bit of seed and wild bunnies. Superbly maintained property by an owner who makes you feel comfortable and that nothing is too much trouble. We have my 89 year old disabled mother with us who has a downstairs wet room and bedroom here. She says she could look out at the views all week without going out and we are already planning to return in the summer with my grandchildren. Canal nearby for walks and fishing and a railway track footpath for level walks apart from all lhat the region has to offer. Brilliant Waitrose 10 mins away in car (we booked a home delivery from Tesco to get us going). Be aware access from short route from Abergaveny is under 5' 6" clearance bridge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing even limited tv reception in this area didn't matter.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing