We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Govilon, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rich7235
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing House”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent 3 nights in Treetops celebrating mine and my wife’s 50th Birthday, as soon as we walked in we knew we were in for a good time,the rooms were all good sizes comfortable and clean, we made good use of everything the kitchen was used to its max as one of our friends who loves to cook and had everything he needed to feed seventeen of us morning, noon and night. I don’t think the hot tub and pool was ever empty, and the younger members loved the man cave. There was plenty of instructions around the house to help you to have great stay, and plenty of pool towels for all the guests to use. We didn’t really leave the house only to stock up on some food items. The views from all over the house were breathtaking and I’ve got to say that we had a Birthday weekend that me and my wife will never forget. We had good contact with the owners who were very helpful and had our full bond refunded with no problems, we are hoping to return again next.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Same issue as previous review! Issue with the bond plus issues at the property”
Reviewed December 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Treetops has the potential to be a lovely place but the owners let it down.
Firstly the heating is restricted to 3 time a day and is off all night, not a problem during the summer months but we went in december! the owners said that there is a log burner and a oil filled radiator. I don't think we were going to keep putting wood on a fire all night long! The oil radiator did nothing!.
The tumble dryer was broken, water dripping from a ceiling and a slat broken in the bed all of which i have pictures of. We contacted the owner but nothing was done. We would have let all of this go if it wasn't for the owner taking a large part of our deposit off us. They charged us for extra cleaning time as we apparently left the property so dirty which simply is NOT true. Then also took money off for a microwave plate we apparently chipped, they have an inventory but we didn't get one on arrival!

They charged us for bedding, pillow cases and towels that apparently they were not able to get stains out of! Interesting that the choose to use bright white towels! they sent us pictures before they were laundered? But not after?

I would not recommend staying here to anyone

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2018
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear you feel this way after leaving. As you are aware we do take a damage and respect bond of £400, and are always extremely sad to have to deduct monies from your bond. However, the property was left in such a poor state of cleanliness that it required 3 additional man hours to clean (over and above a usual turnaround), there were linens marked to the point that that could not be used again, plus missing and damaged kitchen items, all of which was communicated to you and all of which you agreed to cover the cost via our agent. Despite our continual attempts to contact you directly, you replied through our agent. The cost of the above was less than £200 and no where near the full amount of your bond. It is simply not the case that you "contacted the owner but nothing was done", you contacted myself personally and our House Manager visited the property to resolve any issues you had. There was one guest at the property who contacted the person who booked the house and was told that there were no issues. My House Manager then proceeded to check the heating in every room and he confirmed the house was quite warm and this was also confirmed by the guest at the house, I'm not sure what else I could have done. It was also noted that you had several additional heaters in use around the property. You are correct in saying the heating comes on three times a day but is on for a total of 9 hours, more than I heat my home. We do provide a portable oil radiator, which works well and there is also the log fire for additional comfort should you need it. I have inspected the property personally and can assure you the tumble dryer is in working order and there are no broken slats on the beds. There was indeed condensation in one room, which was not present before or after your stay, both my Independent Cleaning Contractor and myself found this very strange.

I can assure you we only use bond money when we absolutely have to the monies we deducted were used to cover our costs (we do not add a mark-up) to replace what could not be used again or missing/broken items. The inventory is required by our agent to ensure every member of your party has all they need, we check this after every visit to ensure the next party are met with the same standards offered to yourself. We offer a fantastic property and wish it to be as good for each and every party who visit Treetops.

Kind regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robrobert...
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place shame about the inventory”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Ideal for our large family group celebrating a 70th birthday.
However we had an issue with the bond - you have to deposit £400.
The owner has sent a list of deductions including for 7 missing teaspoons and some jars none of the 10 adults saw. There was no inventory when we checked in. Refused to send us before and after copies. Refused to answer further emails because "too much time spent on this". Some of our party have suggested it is a way of supplementing rental income, I couldn't possibly comment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear you feel this way, following our lengthy email exchange.

As you are aware we do take a damage and respect bond of £400, and were sad to have to deduct monies from your bond to cover not only the damage caused at the property, but the missing items and laundry that could not be reused due to extensive marking.

We only use bond money when we absolutely have to and can assure you the moneys we deducted were used to cover our costs (we do not add a mark-up) to replace what could not be used again or missing items. You were also charged the cost of the electrician to fix the damaged electric gates plus a £25 admin fee for the time taken to restock and arrange professional workmen.

The inventory is required to ensure every member of your party has all they need, we check this after every visit to ensure the next party are met with the same standards offered to yourself.

We offer a fantastic property and wish it to be as good for each and every party who visit Treetops.

Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craffwr
West Wales
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Ideal accommodation for a large family holiday in Wales”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Located in a quiet village next to the Brecon Abergavenny Canal. This bungalow has 7 bedrooms along with several other rooms to accommodate a large family. There is also plenty of parking spaces along with good security of electric gates.
There is a Tesco, Lidl and Waitrose supermarket in nearby Abergavenny town and a small shop in Govilon for your daily papers and bread. Tafarn a Bont is a friendly village pub serving food.
The house has a modern kitchen with a dishwasher. The main attraction for kids were the swimming pool and hot tub. There was also a Man Cave next to the hot tub with a tv. Washroom towels and pool towels are provided.
An ideal base for a large family to discover this beautiful part of Wales. I would recommend visiting Big Pit, Abergavenny Market and hiring a boat to experience the nearby canal.
When we complained of a smell around the pool area, the owner immediately arranged for an engineer to sort out the problem fair play.
There is a convenient foot path from the property to the village. Although it was a bit overgrown, it was still quite a handy short cut.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellacid...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday cottage suitable for all”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

TreeTops is perfect for get togethers with family and friends.
Having just spent a week here it's got something for everyone.
Kids in the heated covered pool all day and adults in the hot tub or man cave.
Loads of space if you want quiet time and lovely bedrooms and bathrooms for your comfort.
Excellent location and aptly named as surrounded by tree tops.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing