We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real hidden gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Mill Cottage Solva Pembrokeshire Wales UK
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage Solva Pembrokeshire Wales UK
Solid oak double bed Modern bright well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Mill Cottage Solva Pembrokeshire Wales UK
Solid oak double bed
Modern bright well equipped kitchen
Solid oak furniture
open fire. patio doors to garden. freesat HD+ TV
comfortable luxury leather sofa
Mill Cottage garden
Mill Cottage picnic bench
Parking right next to the cottage with room for boats, bikes etc
Mill Cottage Solva Parking
Solva Harbour high tide
Solva quay
Sunny Solva
Solva beach at low tide
Horse riding Solva Quay
Window on Wales shopping in Solva, a short walk from Mill Cottage
The Cambrian Inn Solva. 2AA awards and Which Good Food Guide Award. A short walk from Mill Cottage.
Traditional Family run Pub, food served everyday. Large riverside garden and patio. Games room.
Brains Harbour Inn and Number 35 great places to eat and drink. A short walk from Mill Cottage.
Ramsey Island boat trips.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Solva, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sal2801
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem!”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We visited Mill Cottage in Solva with our dog Jess after much searching for the 'perfect' holiday home. And we weren't disappointed! The cottage was indeed perfect - beautifully decorated, comfy bed and sofas, well appointed (every conceivable kitchen item you would need!) and with the added advantage of a garden and parking. The cottage is tucked away in a great position that's just a short, gentle stroll to the small harbour and a step away from the coastal path. Everywhere is very dog friendly. Both Solva and Mill Cottage were a great find - definitely recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRSLFS
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage is in an idyllic coastal village with lovely pubs and walks. It would be an ideal base for a longer holiday (we were there for only a few days) and especially for children as the beach inlet and a super little playground for small children are literally within seconds from the front door. In the mist we watched owners and their dogs walk on the sand as the tide was out and it looked great fun especially for the dogs!
The cottage is extremely well equipped and has a lovely ambience as if it truly were one's own home. The private parking space is a real bonus as parking in Lower Solva is at a premium.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
483jane
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walking and chilling in Pembrokeshire”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Mill Cottage is perfectly placed for walking and relaxing. You can access the beach and many walks from your door, and of course the coast is defined by the walking opportunities. And there is a really useful guide in the cottage. We stayed with our two dogs, who were very happy to have the garden to walk into, almost at the end of their nose. A real bonus are the pubs and restaurants in Solva, so you can just stroll out for supper in the evening, and not have to worry about drink drive etc. We hope very much to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to walks and pubs
Liked least: The storage heating - so you could not use it to fit to our needs - and smell of chemicals used probably by and enthuiastic cleaner!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mofromco
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, cute, convenient”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Mill Cottage was exactly what we were hoping for. We wanted to hike parts of the coastal trail in segments, and Solva was a great place for a base. Several bus routes stop in lower Solva. The cottage was comfortable and cute and short walking distance to the pubs of lower Solva and 100 yards to the coastal trail. Phil was helpful and professional. Recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisonth...
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in beautiful Solva in wonderful Pembrokeshire!”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Mill Cottage for a week with our 1 year old and found the cottage and location were really excellent especially for a small family with one or two little ones. It's a great tidy clean little cottage with excellent facilities in a perfect location within a picturesque harbour village in the beautiful Pembrokeshire - what more could you want!!

Mill cottage is in the small harbour village of Solva which is only three miles from St Davids.
The cottage itself if located down a very quiet (non-through) road/track right in the middle of Solva (but secluded as it is off the main road) beside a small river. It is just 100 metres from a childrens play area (swings, slides, etc) and only a little further to the harbour and local eateries.

The cottage has two bedrooms downstairs (one double and one bunk beds) and an open plan living space upstairs containing a kitchen/dining area and lounge. There is a door from the lounge leading out to the enclosed back garden which is lawned and has a picnic table.

It's a fantastic little cottage for a small family and we absolutely loved it! The owner provided a stair gate and cot bed for our little-un and were very accomodating. There is good WiFi and the kitchen and bathroom were both excellent and well equipped. There is also dedicated parking right next to the cottage. It is a credit to the owner that the cottage was immaculately clean when we arrived - always a good sign!

Solva is absolutely beautiful and a walk around the harbour at high or low tide is an absolute treat. The village has some great places to eat (three pubs and a few cafes) and a scattering of arty galleries and other little interesting shops. There is a small grocery store and post office up the hill in Upper Solva. It's only a short drive to St Davids and Solva makes a great base for exploring the rest of Pembrokeshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, cleanliness
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Solva a truiy wonderful place to unwind.”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our first visit Pembrokeshire and Solva. Cottage ideally situated for walks on coastal path with our dog. We loved every day of our stay and Solva is such a beautiful place. We will return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sim0ng1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Mill Cottage in early May. It's beautifully maintained and in an ideal location whether you're planning on a walking holiday or driving to the many beautiful beaches along the Pembrokeshire coast. Solva itself is timeless - it's changed very little over the decades - and is incredibly peaceful. We'd particularly recommend the walk to the woollen mill at Middle Mill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing