We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Dining room
Lounge
Llys Aber getting ready for Santa
Bedroom on 2nd floor, super-king + en suite
Twin Room
Snug with its own SKY package
Kingsize Bedroom 1st Floor
En-suite bedroom 2
Bedroom on 1st floor, kingsize bed and en-suite
Bedroom on 2nd floor - kingsize with en-suite
Gazebo with barbeque
Garden seating for everyone for summer bbq's
Tide in at Solva harbour
Tide out at Solva harbour
Newgale beach, 5 minutes drive down the road
Whitesands beach near St David's
Crabbing and swimming at Solva harbour
Front gates
Solva Beach at low tide
Comfortable bedrooms
Christmas at Llys Aber
Close the shutters, light the fire and you're ready
Solva Harbour at dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Solva, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mehereint...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We booked this house for the bro-in-laws 50th birthday celebrations, so the whole family could celebrate together. So on Good Friday, 3 couples and 1 19yr old, and 3 kids descended on Solva. 2 of us were "ordered" to take the birthday boy to the local hostelry while the ladies decorated the house with balloons etc!! Its about a dozen steps away so it wasn't a problem, sitting outside in the lovely warm sunshine. We had fish and chips delivered from the Café 35, which saved any cooking!!
Saturday morning dawned and we all went over to St Davids, its a beautiful place, and yet again the sun shone. Everyone enjoyed a local ice cream, rum n raisin for me yum! We returned and showered before we all headed off to Café 35 for dinner. They cooked us a lovely Beef Wellington which everyone enjoyed.
Sunday was a bit more leisurely as we all decided to stay local so no-one had to drive. After breakfast we all headed down to the beach, and walked all the way around to the headland. A late lunch in the Cambrian Inn, I can highly recommend the Sunday roast, plenty of veg and extra roasties, washed down with a bottle of red!!
Monday came too quickly. We cooked a nice breakfast, cleaned up the kitchen and the house, packed and eventually just after 11 the family went their separate ways home.
Would I recommend this property to anyone......YES!!!!
It's a superb house, 4 bedrooms with en-suites, plus a separate bathroom upstairs, and a loo and shower downstairs, a big dining table and a massive lounge with 3 sofa's. And as the weather was kind to us we managed to make use of the garden, including the easter egg hunt on the Sunday morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stayed up high, my bed was very comfortable too
Liked least: Nothing......apart from the drive home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge...
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This could 'Solva' all your holiday problems!”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a truly lovely house. Situated right next to the little harbour in Lower Solva it offers the perfect balance between peaceful, comfortable accommodation and easy access to village amenities.

The house is well equipped, warm and very comfortable. We had 2 weeks here and couldn't fault the house. The bedrooms are all of a good size, with nice beds and crisp clean linen. The bathrooms, including en-suites, are practical and more than adequate. Downstairs the lounge has lots of seating, a great woodburner and a full Sky package! The snug gave us extra room and was full of games & toys for our little one. The kitchen had everything! Despite the rural location, the Wi-Fi was okay too.

We had quite a few windy days (let's be honest they were gales!), but we sat blissfully unaware of the storms tucked up in the house.

A minutes walk takes you to a small sandy beach (depending on the tide) with areas to play & explore.

Also within a couple of strides is the Cambrian Inn Pub (very nice foody pub), The Ship Inn (didn't try this, but they have a Wednesday quiz night!), the Harbour Inn (very nice) and Café 35 (great). Despite being close to a pub and harbour car park, we were never disturbed by noise or traffic.

We did a few coastal walks directly from the house, which is nice too.

The owners were really helpful both before and during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Glowing fire
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felicity3...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay with children and family”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed here three times now, with our children and grandchildren. The house and location are wonderful with loads of things to do within walking distance such as crabbing, beach, cliff walks, pubs, shops, cafes, play park to name a few.

The house has lovely bedrooms and the lounge and dining room have lots of space. There is also a cosy snug with a TV. The owners are always extremely helpful if required and the house is always clean and warm. The welcome pack when you arrive is very thoughtful and full of local products.

We normally organise a big Tesco shop to arrive when we do and then stock up at Bay View stores up the hill or in St Davids. There are supermarkets in Haverfordwest 20 mins away.

Further afield are wonderful surfing beaches, boat trips and St David's.

We will definitely be back as the whole family love it, especially the children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H
Ash
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality, spacious accommodation in an excellent location.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Llys Aber with our extended family who are of mixed physical ability. The location gave us the opportunity to either spending quieter days meandering around Solva and the harbour or visiting local attractions, including some days on the beach at Whitesands and Newgale. Solva itself has enough cafes, pubs and restaurants to entertain for the week.

We found the house very spacious indoors and was very well equipped with everything that we needed for the week. It's well cared for and we especially found the bedrooms and beds comfortable. The younger members enjoyed the SKY package and WiFi. The garden provides a very secluded retreat and there was ample BBQ equipment to cook for everyone.

All in all highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious and comfortable accommodation.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberlan...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect walking holiday on Pembrokeshire Coast Path”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

9 of us stayed at Llys Aber in May/June 2014. The house was spacious and spotless, with parking for 5 cars (just). Rooms were light and airy, and beautifully clean. The welcome hamper was a nice surprise. The lounge, looking out onto the small garden, had plenty of room for the entire party. We all agreed that it was a lovely holiday house.
We ate at all 3 of the pubs within walking distance - The Ship has the best beer and the cheapest food, but was difficult for our large party; the Harbour was handiest (next door) with good food and large tables; the Cambrian had the best food, but was more expensive. There is only 1 village shop, and St Davids only has a small Nisa supermarket, so eat out like we did! The coast path passes the front door, and the cliffs were awash with Sea Pinks, Red Campion and Bladder Campion. Skomer was a nice day out - puffins and seals - but you can't book in advance and must turn up early on the day (08:30) to be sure of booking a place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz599
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning House in Stunning Location!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at this house for a family wedding - bride & groom, bridesmaid, both sets of parents, grooms sister & partner.
Perfect house in a perfect location right near the harbour. The house was very comfortable and well equipped for a large group of people.
The underfloor heating made it cosy and the large rooms were great for sitting and eating together. The kitchen had a range cooker along with plenty of pots, pans, crockery and glasses.
The Harbour Inn next door does great food and we recommend Number 35 for fish & chips - best I've ever had!
The wedding dinner was at The Cambrian - just up the road from this house and the food was awesome!
The house made the whole week perfect - everyone all together in a beautiful, homely house to celebrate a wedding.
We would love to return as a group in the future!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Property in an Idyllic location”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A group of us, ten friends in total rented this property for a short break, well we weren't disappointed, it far exceeded our expectations! this property has quality fixtures, fittings and furnishings in abundance and each couple had their own bedrooms and bathrooms. There is ample parking in the courtyard for three cars maybe four at a push. All within very easy flat walking distance are three pubs each offering food and drink. Location wise we found it idyllic, with the beautiful West Wales scenery and beaches all within easy reach. When we were deciding where to go we had a few properties short listed, we are so glad we chose Llys Aber...............Regards Robert & Angela

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sheer opulance
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing