We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tilley's Cottage is a favourite already!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tilley's Cottage

Tilley's Cottage - a beautiful stone cart shed in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tilley's Cottage - a beautiful stone cart shed in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.
The spacious lounge-dining room. Vaulted ceiling, natural slate flagstones and a wood burner Lovely sea views from the dining window. Fiction books, local guidebooks & leaflets on shelves
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Tilley's Cottage - a beautiful stone cart shed in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.
The spacious lounge-dining room. Vaulted ceiling, natural slate flagstones and a wood burner
Lovely sea views from the dining window. Fiction books, local guidebooks & leaflets on shelves
The original stone entrance to the cart shed
Functional galley kitchen - small but very well equipped - a sea view too!
Double room with large built-in wardrobe & vanity table - sea view from the front window
Feather & down duvets and good quality mattresses for a cosy night's sleep
Twin room - large built-in wardrobe & vanity table
Bunk room -  built-in wardrobe & vanity table. Kids books on shelving. countryside views
Well appointed family bathroom with full suite - loads of hot water and two heated towel rails
Excellent power shower in a large sized shower cubicle
Light the candles and have a long soak after a day on the coast path!
Tilley's is part of a small holding. Owners live on site and are happy to help if needed.
Midsummer sunset looking towards Porthgain from the deck
Penberi Mountain - view from Tilley's deck
Porthgain harbour - a great pub and seafood bistro here - 25 minutes walk from the cottage
The stunning Blue Lagoon at Abereiddy - 5 minutes drive away - bring your wetsuit & go jumping!!
St David's peninsula looking West from the coast path at Abereiddy
Beautiful Traeth Llyfn beach - on the coast path between Porthgain and Abereiddy.
Fabulous sunsets to be admired and photographed all year round!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Llanrhian, St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Loppy80
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tilley's Cottage is a favourite already!”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We arrived at Tilley's cottage after a long drive in the dark and rain, on arrival the cottage was cosy, warm, clean and the owner had left a bottle of wine and Welsh cakes for us (this was a lovely touch after a long drive, with no obvious shops near by - Thank you!).

What we loved about Tilley's cottage was how well laid out everything was, the logs for the fire, the welcome pack, the array of books in the bedroom, lounge and even above the doorways, board games, a lovely garden area, lovely views, perfect base to explore St David's (Churches/coffee shops/deli/butchers etc) and the National Trust areas.

Tilley's cottage is a place where our dog could enjoy and the sun was out all weekend too!

We hope to be back really soon to enjoy everything all over again!

Thank you! x

***What we seen, a shooting star, a baby Robin and seals!***

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gscale200...
pembrokeshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for.”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was fantastic. I booked it for my partner's birthday weekend for us and the kids. Its was perfect. The cottage itself has plenty of character alongside all the home comforts you could want. Warm, cozy and welcoming. Ruth was very helpful. We will be returning soon and for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy F
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most delightful stay. The cottage was in the most amazing surroundings. It had everything we could need. Ruth was very helpful. Out only regret was not staying longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was so lovely and was everything we had wished for.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish r
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed in Tilley's cottage during the first week in June along with our son, daughter in law and small granddaughter, not to mention our two Labradors! We all had a really lovely time. Yes, the cottage is a little on the small side but there is absolutely everything there that you could possibly need. The place is immaculately clean, cosy & also child friendly. The bathroom is beautiful & we all enjoyed long hot showers after our days on the nearby beaches. The garden is well laid out and enclosed which makes it safe for both children and dogs. The sunsets that can be seen on a clear day are just stunning. We enjoyed just sitting on the patio and watching them. Ruth (the owner) was on site next door and available whenever we needed any advice or recommendations. Nothing was too much trouble for her. We also loved meeting Maddie their family Labrador. Her little nose pushing under the fence hoping for a treat whenever she heard us around ! We were all sad to leave this lovely place when the time came to go home & I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a little piece of heaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeS1966
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tilley's Still the Best”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is our 2nd stay at Tilley's and it was even better than last year with the addition of wi-fi.
Everything about this cottage is first class a real home from home. We are already planning our return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, location and the friendly atmosphere.
Liked least: leaving Tilley's
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konika123
newport, wales
1 review
“Fantastic escape from the city”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed at Tilley's Cottage for a 2 night weekend escape from Cardiff with my family. Beautiful location, lovely cottage and a very warm welcome. The Cottage is very well kitted-out, the wood-burner, in particular, was a favourite! If you stay here, you must visit The Sloop Inn, it's a wonderful little pub.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti_JP
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxing holiday”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

The cottage is beautifully fitted out with everything you could possibly wish for. We have stayed here 3 times as its our favourite cottage in Pembrokeshire. There were two new appliances when we last went there and as we prefer to take a lot of "ready meals" with us, its good to have the use of a chest freezer in the barn next door. Some of us love making log fires so we tend to make one most evenings whether we needed it or not. The logs never ran out!

We are all a bit older so don't go in for a lot of activity, but its as good for us as it is for those who want to hike the coastal path, or sail and windsurf. We love the shops nearby & try to start our Christmas shopping while we're there.
There are plenty of gentle walks for us too, but our active family would love it too.

Ruth and Roger are kind and friendly hosts and couldn't do enough for us to make sure our holiday was 5 star in every way. We recommend this lovely cottage wholeheartedly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness.
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing