We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish weather but a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic Haven Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We took a short break just before Xmas. It was quiet at the cottages which suited us great. The cottage had a small Xmas tree up which added to the break. If you relaxing, quiet and intimate this is a great place at this time of year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank andrewjones2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 331 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

A place to stay only few minutes away (by car) from Tenby. We had the Corn Store, a cottage for 2 people with everything (kitchen and living room included!). Use of the swimming pool and hot tube included. Definitely reccommended!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank dangiapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Booked without any recommendations just liked what we saw on the ad. Considering that this was booked for October the weather was extremely good whilst there and the actual resort was amazing, the views were incredible as we pulled up into the car park. Accommodation was not just clean but totally well equipped even down to a rolling pin. Used both the gym and the swimming pool, pure relaxation was had by all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night winter break and stayed in "The Parlour". Can't believe this is our first visit to Celtic Haven, it certainly won't be our last. The cottage was lovely for 2 people and very well equipped including washer/dryer and dishwasher (often not provided in smaller properties) The cottage was very clean, warm and comfortable. We made good use of the pool and hot tub which was great after a few hours out walking the coast path. My husband made use of the fitness suite whilst I enjoyed the Spa. The food in the resturant was very good. Every one was very friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome. We took advantage of the Winter Break offer and travelled approx 260 miles to get there. It was well worth it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just back from our third time at Celtic Haven and I'm sure it won't be our last. This self contained site (if you throw in the useful local pub 50 yards up the road) offers a great getaway for both those who enjoy the outdoor life and some tranquility in the fully equipped self catering cottages whilst also offering a range of activities to those who want to burn off a few calories. Waves restaurant is a good spot for dinner. The site is dog friendly and there is some great walking to be had from the place itself or any number of places within a very short driving distance. To my mind the Pembrokeshire coast is Cornwall without the London Hackett brigade and the beautiful beaches and reasonably priced restaurants and pubs are better off for being less packed by other holidaymakers. Celtic Haven is right bang in the middle of it all

Whilst Celtic Haven promotes itself as a 5 star venue, I would not agree. Whilst my wife assures me the spa is top quality (I have yet to go), the gym, pool & tennis courts are all a little tired and would benefit from full refurbishment. Lack of wifi within the cottages is mildly annoying and the odd lick of paint in the cottage (Puffin) woudn't go a miss.

But these are niggles rather than major drawbacks. The staff are great and the setting is wonderful. This is an easy place to lose yourself, enjoy the amazing scenery and even the elements (Wales can be pretty wet & wild in October ) and feel like you're getting good value for your money. The sheer number of returning people each year is testament to the obvious attractions of Celtic Haven.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay this week despite all the weather could throw at us (and did!). The Hayloft was light and airy, really well furnished and equipped. It was great having the pool and hot tub to use when the rain fell. Great restaurant too, with lovely tasty food. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. Easy access to the stunning cliff paths with views of stormy seas was perfect so we managed lots of walking. Loved nearby Tenby. What a great town and beach.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Hayloft but didn't mind the steps up. Plenty of ground floor accommodation on sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked last minute for October half term at a reduced rate for Bravehearts cottage, it was the smallest property they had left for half term which sleeps 10 & we only needed it for 4 people in the end so it was massive but still fairly expensive. We did get some vouchers towards a meal & spa treatments though which was part of the deal they were offering at the time & very much appreciated :)

Pros:

Beautiful location & views
Amazing dog walks including dog friendly pubs within half hours drive
Lots of nearby attractions for kids
Convenient onsite facilities, restaurant & spa excellent
Friendly, helpful, happy, smiley staff :)

Cons:

Cottages need refurbishment, especially the bathrooms which only had shower attachment on the bath taps with no shower curtain or glass screen & my all time cringe...carpeted bathroom floor :-/

Majority of the internal doors didn't latch except bathroom doors, not great for privacy in your bedroom.

The bedrooms would also benefit from super king size beds or zip & link single beds, we had to improvise by pushing 2 pine single beds together & stuffing pillows down the middle to bridge the gap lol!

Bravehearts cottage whilst it was large it felt like they were trying to cram too many people into one place, downstairs the lounge had a huge dining table & chairs taking up a lot of room when they could knock through into the next door second downstairs bathroom (which is a tad excessive) to make a kitchen diner & have more space in the lounge. Upstairs the family bedroom arrangement is a bit strange with a double bed & twin beds all in the same massive bedroom, it would be better use of the space to add an ensuite shower room.

The onsite pool & hot tub were a bit tired, changing rooms were small & had no private cubicles. Maybe the addition of a small slide might entertain little ones in the pool?

The spa treatments were bliss however I did feel it lacked wet spa facilities such as thermal rooms, foot spas, hydrotherapy pool etc which would really enhance the whole spa experience & would attract local customers as well as onsite guests.

The onsite restaurant closes on Wednesdays, which was when we had planned to get a babysitter & have a meal out as a couple, we therefore had to resort to the local pub which we weren't that impressed with.

No Wifi in the cottage.

Conclusion:

We really did have a lovely holiday despite the negative points above, we would definitely return if improvements were made, especially if they included log burners & hot tubs in the cottages :D

We would've scored 3 1/2 points & rate Celtic Haven 'Good' but there is not this option on Tripadvisor.

P.S Spike sends doggy kisses to Geri! xxx

Top Tip: If taking a dog & child along do not attempt to visit the Carew Inn as they allow dogs in the bar area only but don't allow kids in the bar area!! :(

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Thorncrofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydstep
1.5 mi away
Trefloyne Manor
Trefloyne Manor
#5 of 53 in Tenby
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parsonage Farm Inn
Parsonage Farm Inn
#3 of 6 in St. Florence
274 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Haven Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Haven Cottages

Address: Lydstep, Lydstep SA70 7SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Lydstep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lydstep
Price Range: $167 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would love to welcome you to Celtic Haven; our collection of charming self-catering holiday cottages on the picturesque Pembrokeshire coast near Tenby. With pretty whitewashed cottages for two right through to the elegant Manor House accommodating 12 people, our thirty Pembrokeshire holiday cottages are perfect for couples, families and groups alike. Each property is finished to a high standard and is fully equipped (including bed linen and towels) so you can simply arrive, relax and enjoy your holiday in Pembrokeshire! We even have three 'easy access' properties with walk/wheel-in wet rooms so please contact us to discuss any particular requirements. Our on-site facilities include an Elemis Premier Spa, Waves cliff-top restaurant, a headland golf course with beautiful views, children's adventure playground and a leisure club with swimming pool, hot-tub, fitness suite and all-weather tennis courts. We look forward to extending a warm Welsh welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Haven Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Haven Cottages Hotel Lydstep
Celtic Haven Cottages Lydstep, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing