We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B”
Review of Oriel Milgi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Dogmaels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oriel Milgi
Ranked #1 of 5 St. Dogmaels B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights at oriel milgi, with the wonderful hosts Helen and Anne, who really took care of us. So friendly, taking time to tell us about the local area, recommending places to go, booking a table at a restaurant. The place itself is roomy, large living areas, great looking fashionable retro furniture, with pictures all over, some by local artists, some dramatic modern pictures, and all tastefully assembled. Tasty breakfast, local bacon, sausages, butter, jam, honey...

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 123 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

This beautiful place has made it into my top 3 B&B's. From the minute we arrived Helen and Anne made us feel at home. My partner and I chose to stay in the Mor room as we had our dog millie with us. What a lovely room it was and the same high standard as the other rooms. Do the coastal walk past poppit sands and you might be lucky like we were and see seals and a variety of birds which made my day. Also try and go to the little secluded beach at nearby Mwnt, its very romantic and we had it all to ourselves, although Im sure it gets busy during the summer months. The breakfasts were amazing especially the flamed sausage (thanks Helen) and lovely hot chocolate. We liked the place so much we stayed an extra day! I can highly reccomend this place, its perfect.

Room Tip: I saw all the rooms and they were all of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freakandweirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked in for a three night break and ended up staying an extra night because we liked it so much. Vegetarian breakfast was the best iv had in Wales. The owners were very welcoming and helpful with a wealth of knowledge about what to do in the local area, they made sure we (and our dog) had everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The boyfriend and I were looking to get away for a night; we are so lucky to have come across Oriel Milgi. Helen and Anne gave us a very warm welcome along with a pot of tea and Welshcakes. Was lovely to have their recommendations for places to eat, things to see and walks to do. The room (Rhosyn) was immaculate and perfectly decorrated. It's the first time my partner and I had stayed at a B&B and it certainly is an experience we will be repeating. Cannot wait to find another weekend to head to Llandudoch and Aberteifi again. Great locally sourced food, well designed, perfect location and reasonably priced, a must visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Certainly the best B&B I've been to. The location is precisely what we needed: it's only about a mile away from romantic Poppit Sands; the dramatic Pembrokeshire Coastal Path is stunning and just a walk around the corner; St Dogmaels itself is a beautiful village and a friendly community and Cardigan is, quite simply, unpretentiously cool (lively arts and food scene). We'd strongly recommend nipping across the road to The Lemon Tree cafe for soup, cake and tea, after a long walk.
Oriel Milgi's hosts (and their lovely, gentile and courteous dogs) are relaxed and so welcoming -at times we felt part of the household and their ample veggie breakfasts were enough to fuel us for a day's trek. The décor is stunning - they are art collectors and the have effortlessly created interiors that are wonderfully balanced throughout. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Quite simply the most unique, thoughtful, and well executed B&B in this part of Wales. Situated in the vibrant community of St. Dogmaels, Helen and Anne provide an aesthetic treat, with beautiful boutique rooms, gorgeous original artwork, Malmo furniture, and a locally sourced breakfast you couldn't beat. Staying at Oriel Milgi was a dream, and rich stories of the village from our hosts ensured that my trip felt even more special, as the business is clearly rooted in a vibrant community of local food suppliers, artists and conservationist, deeply linked to the stunning Pembrokeshire coast and countryside.

As a foodie, I'll never forget the amazing water powered flour mill in Dogmaels (one of only two remaining in Wales), and the award winning flour. Combine this with abundant local vegetables, preserves and the brilliant restaurant 'The 25 mile' in Cardigan, you can see why food lovers keep moving to this area of West Wales.

I'm an ecologist, and I never tire of visiting the Pembrokeshire coast - after staying at Oriel Milgi, I now know that North Pembs is the best bit! The cliffs west of Poppit Sands are the most breathtaking section of the Wales Coast Path, and walkers would be wise to head straight for this end of the path, avoiding the crowds in South Pembrokeshire. I spotted merlin, peregrine, a flock of chough, and hundreds of basking grey seals, all within a 1 hour section of the coast path starting from Poppit Sands - if you love nature, blue sky, sea and sands....then you'll love it here.

Room Tip: we had a peek at all the rooms, each with an individual 'boutique' feel. We opted for Coed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWC148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Long overdue review but we stayed at Oriel Milgi for a long weekend in September 2012 (a gloriously sunny one too!). Helen and Anne were brilliant hosts making us (and the brown four legged one) feel very welcome from the start. Excellent recommendations and tips for eating and walking. The B+B is beautifully decorated and the beds are so comfy! Our room was spacious and the monsoon shower was bliss. The breakfasts were yum with lots of locally sourced food. The location is brilliant, you can walk in to Cardigan for dinner and the coastal path is easily accesible. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emstararama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Dogmaels hotels
0.4 mi away
Argo Villa B&B
Argo Villa B&B
#3 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
97 reviews
0 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in St. Dogmaels
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Teifi Netpool Inn
Teifi Netpool Inn
#5 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel Milgi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Milgi

Address: High Street, St. Dogmaels SA43 3EF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Dogmaels
Price Range: $80 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriel Milgi a boutique bed and breakfast in the exquisite West Wales village of St Dogmaels, North Pembrokeshire. Our contemporary B & B is only 30 minutes walk to the beautiful Blue Flag beach at Poppit Sands and the busy market town of Cardigan.The boutique B & B has a choice of three en-suite bedrooms and the use of a large lounge/dining area. We are the only dog-friendly bed and breaklfast in St Dogmaels, with one room available for well-behaved dogs. We serve a cooked, locally-sourced breakfast with vegetarian options and are a non-smoking house.Whether you wish to relax and take it easy, or are up for something more active, there is plenty to do here.You can swim, surf or kayak at Poppit Sands, walk, climb or coasteer the coastal path, walk in the Preseli mountains or along the many paths in the beautiful surrounding countryside. For something more relaxing you can browse the independent shops, followed by a lovely meal in the local cafes or restaurants.Whatever you choose to do, Oriel Milgi B and B, St Dogmaels offers the perfect escape from the bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriel Milgi St. Dogmaels, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing