We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Dogs revisited...”
Review of Oriel Milgi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Dogmaels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oriel Milgi
Ranked #1 of 5 St. Dogmaels B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our hosts were genuinely pleased to see us again, and the place has remained that quirky blend of old and new that is so much more than the often bland interiors of the modern day B & B.

Finding our feet more quickly second time around we got out and about every day. A daily run down to Poppit Sands was invigorating, following the previous evenings fantastic meals. For up-market local food, '25' in nearby Cardigan is a must (See our review). For simple fare, Bowens Fish and Chips, 5 mins away is very hard to beat, the fish must be some of the best anywhere. The White Hart, 8 mins, serves very fine Welsh Ales. Further afield we visited Melin Tregwynt, a working textile mill producing fantastic welsh blankets etc with a modern twist. On a similar theme, we also visited the National Wool Museum near Newcastle Emlyn. Check with them and get yourselves on a tour, the character delivers this with amusing anecdotes and demonstrations of the machinery. There seems plenty to occupy close at hand too, we somehow managed to to fit in the local farmers market, and got to go to the Pilates class!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerusalem-Arctichoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Oriel Milgi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 121 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I could wax lyrical and repeat all that has already been written in other reviews! Suffice to say that we (plus woofer) were very well looked after on our two night stay in a great part of Wales. It is clear to us that the owners are proud of the service they provide in thier home from home. Do try it you won't be unhappy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P4RXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we had a lovely nights stay in this fantastic and welcoming bed and breakfast. So refreshing to find dog friendly accommodation that isn't dated and old fashioned. Our room was spotlessly clean, with beautiful linen bed sheets, extremely stylish and a fab en suite with rainwater shower. Breakfast was lovely with all local produce which is such a nice touch. Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stumbled across this B&B by chance, reading a Guardian article on top ten places to stay in Pembs. I have been to parts of Pembs many times, but never to St Dogmaels and what a lovely treat it was.
Oriel Milgi was fantastic and Anne and Helen were excellent hosts, going out of their way to give us local information, tips on walking and where to source some of the lovely food we ate at breakfast! The room was lovely, possibly the biggest bed I have slept in.
On recommendation we caught the 9am bus from outside the front door, got off at Moylegrove and followed the coastal path back to Poppit sands. We had brilliant sunny weather and the views were fantastic.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and look forward to recommending to friends and family

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmaclat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were really sad to leave this fantastic place. Everything was just perfect and exceeded our expectations. The house has been very tastefully decorated to a very high standard. The breakfast was delicious and we loved the fact that the ingredients were all locally sourced.
Anne and Helen are so helpful and have excellent knowledge about things to do in the area. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaY01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Second visit here, I hadn't thought it could get better but it has, it's a very comfartable B&B and feels just like home. Anne and Helen are very welcoming, the B&B is comfortable, clean and well designed and the breakfasts great! The weather was much improved compared with our last stay and we enjoyed bodyboarding on the beaches at Tresaith and Penbryn. Cardigan is a nice little town for a mooch around the shops. We treated ourselves to a meal in the White Hart in St Dogmaels which was good value and very tasty. Hope to have another holiday in the area next summer, but may have to stop reviewing this place/area, it's getting so popular that if I'm not careful I may not be able to book!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Echo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this scrupulously clean, attractively decorated and extremely comfortable B&B. Rooms were large with modern bathrooms. All amenities including Wi Fi and iPod player. Welcoming hosts Helen and Anne were very friendly and helpful with tons of local knowledge. Organic breakfasts cooked to order. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Dogmaels
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
835 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
0.4 mi away
Argo Villa B&B
Argo Villa B&B
#3 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel Milgi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Milgi

Address: High Street, St. Dogmaels SA43 3EF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Dogmaels
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriel Milgi a boutique bed and breakfast in the exquisite West Wales village of St Dogmaels, North Pembrokeshire. Our contemporary B & B is only 30 minutes walk to the beautiful Blue Flag beach at Poppit Sands and the busy market town of Cardigan.The boutique B & B has a choice of three en-suite bedrooms and the use of a large lounge/dining area. We are the only dog-friendly bed and breaklfast in St Dogmaels, with one room available for well-behaved dogs. We serve a cooked, locally-sourced breakfast with vegetarian options and are a non-smoking house.Whether you wish to relax and take it easy, or are up for something more active, there is plenty to do here.You can swim, surf or kayak at Poppit Sands, walk, climb or coasteer the coastal path, walk in the Preseli mountains or along the many paths in the beautiful surrounding countryside. For something more relaxing you can browse the independent shops, followed by a lovely meal in the local cafes or restaurants.Whatever you choose to do, Oriel Milgi B and B, St Dogmaels offers the perfect escape from the bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriel Milgi St. Dogmaels, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing