We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in Smugglers Cottage 23th - 26th Nov

On arrival we were met by Yvonne who was genuinely warm and friendly and showed us around, Chris also came along to say hello which was nice as he was rushed off his feet due to the extremely heavy rain the area had experienced.

The cottage was warm, cosy, well equipped and spotlessly clean. We had a welcome pack of coffee, tea, homemade welsh cakes but most importantly of all a chilled bottle of wine!!

The hot tube was also spotless and we made good use of it over the weekend even though it didn't stop raining the whole weekend.

We didn't use the pool or bar as these were closed for the season but again both looked really well maintained as did the park as whole.

There was no mobile signal in the cottage but that suited us and only enhanced the quality (peace/quiet) of our stay.
All in all we had a very relaxing stay and would highly recommend Smugglers Cottage

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmj118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind review about the Smugglers cottage. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your comments to our staff as i know they shall be pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 468 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here with 2 teenagers during half term. A really friendly welcome and then a spotless, well equipped caravan, all in excellent condition.

The children loved the pool, we loved the hot tubs.

The dog loved the beach ( so did we) - the lifeboat station is directly where you access the beach and interesting to watch them working there in the evening.

Quite a long way from "civiilisation" but this was an upside for us. We walked part of the Pembroke coast path - not such a scenic start, but once you're at the top of the hill, even in the cloudy Autumn, there are stunning views.

Overall, a peaceful site for a relaxing break away from it all.

Room Tip: We had caravan 19 - well equipped and unlike other reviewers, we did not notice any music, other tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hectorshouse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was to your expectations. you are quite correct when you say the coastal path is spectacular and you must come back and visit us and see the views in the Summer.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

They run a pretty slick operation at this place. Five stars because they get the basics right, and staying in a caravan is a basic holiday. Here's what's good (I'll get to what's not so good):

* We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist. All staff were friendly and helpful.
* The caravan was modern and clean (we went for the lowest priced option)
* Only a few minutes walk from the sea. Great location.

Take customer service. In the caravan, they have one of those ovens where you have to crouch on the floor, stick your head inside, and risk burning your eyebrows as you light the gas with a match.

We didn't know this until we came to cook. It was late. We'd done our shopping. We had no matches.

I went to reception, asked for matches. They had a box ready for me under the counter. Slick.

Another time, we asked for extra bedding, as it was cold at night. The staff were happy to give us this.

We stayed in the last week of October. Not a half term, but the site was busy with families and other couples staying.

The caravan served as an ideal base for a wonderful holiday.

Not everything was perfect, however. Here were a few of the problems we encountered.

* Music blaring from speakers OUTSIDE reception all day and all night (by outside, I mean the speakers are in the open air). This is the context of a beautiful riverside location. The music was generally of the boom boom variety - not particularly relaxing, and we could hear it from our caravan. The first few nights it kept me awake. After that I complained to the night warden (because they have a no noise after 11pm rule, seems weird the site owners think they are above this rule). The warden turned it down for the night, but the next morning it was back to being loud again. I don't understand why they have the outside speakers switched on at all.
* There were no hooks to hang bath towels or clothes in either of the caravan's bathrooms. Just holes in the door where hooks used to be.
* The changing rooms in the swimming pool were dirty. Hot tubs in the pool are supposed to be for over 16s only, but this rule is not enforced.
* The staff drive around the site like maniacs. If I had small children, this would upset me.
* There is a takeaway on site. It's very convenient (when it's open), but it only serves the kind of food you can buy frozen from any supermarket and cook yourself. Go to the chip shop in St. Dogmael's - it's 10x better.

Overall, we were happy with our stay, and 5* because the basics were right, but they could have done better.

Room Tip: Ask for a caravan away from the reception building if you don't want to hear music all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your review regarding Cardigan Bay Holiday park and we are pleased that you enjoyed the park and your holiday with us. We do try to get everything right and it seems in the most part we have succeeded. As for the music in the pool area, it should be turned off at 11pm and I am unsure why on this occcasion it was left on during the night, I think you spoke to one of the young groundsman not the Warden who proberbly didnt know. However, I am sure we shall see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Supposedly the weekend before we arrived the park was "packed". The weekend we arrived we were met by an amicable receptionist, but this would be that last we would see of anyone severing the communal areas during our three night stay. A supposed "family friendly" place... had no entertainment and nothing for the kids to do after the sun went down. The "club" had a miserable fellow who served only a few drinks and would dish out reprimands to kids if they got off there stools.
Don't know how this place won awards. Maybe adjudicators tipped them off when they where coming.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kailua71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review, I feel I should respond to this firmly as I do not find the review faIr or Factual. You booked your holiday with Children during an off peak period, we do not offer or advertise entertainment at this time and neither do you pay for it. The park is labled a "Relax and Explore" holiday park. If you had wanted a park with entertainment then you should have booked with an all action holiday center. As for your your final comment, I find this offence and unfounded.

I shall let our true reviews speak for themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very nice site.Not to many caravans.Conveniently situated for Poppit Beach.Lovely indoor pool and bar.Caravan,a basic model,as we had a dog was very clean on arrival.Staff where very friendly and informative.Cardigan some 4 or so miles away has aTesco.an Aldi and Co-op for provisions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taffywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and that you and the dog had a great time, I shall pass on your nice words to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night break at the Cardigan Bay Holiday Park. Our caravan (Pembroke 3) was in superb condition and the kitchen and lounge facilities excellent The accommodation comprised of one large double bedroom and two twins although the beds in the twin bedrooms are not full sized singles, we found them perfectly adequate. The site was well maintained and the staff very helpful. We made use of the onsite swimming pool and also the two hot tubs in the area of the swimming pool were fabulous just to relax and chill out! Although we were there outside of the school holidays, we found this site quiet and ideal for a break away from it all! It is set in a good location and a short walk from Poppit Sands. We found fantastic bays and scenery just 10 minutes drive away and came home feeling totally relaxed and 'chilled out'. The area is full of oustanding natural coastal beauty and is the perfect getaway if you are lookiing for a restful, relaxing break! St Dogmaels is a 5 minute drive from the caravan park and there are a few restaurants/bars where you can have a meal. We will definiitely return to this site again as we loved the location and facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJones41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Sounds like you really had a wonderful time with us at Cardiagn Bay and we are pleased that you discovered so much of the area. You are right when you say it is an area of outstanding natual beauty. St Dogmaels and Poppit sands are both as charming as the names sound and its no surprise that they win the awards they do. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a nice weeks stay here in rainy Sept.

Staff were great and very helpful, even purchased extra heater for our caravan.

Lovely pool which our 2 year old loved.

Be aware there is no Vodafone reception but seems most of Wales is like that!

All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your review about how exeptional our staff were to you during your stay in September. I am pleased that you had a great time and I shall pass on your comments to the staff. see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Dogmaels
1.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
852 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
454 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ffynonwen Country Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
2.7 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardigan Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardigan Bay Holiday Park

Address: Poppit Sands, St. Dogmaels SA43 3LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in St. Dogmaels
Price Range: $56 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cardigan Bay Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park is set in a peaceful and secluded south facing valley which is situated just 300 yards from the golden sands of Poppit Beach near to the town of Cardigan. The park is graded 5 star by Visit Wales and is the perfect base to Relax and Explore the surrounding area. It has recently been awarded the UK Seaside and Blue Flag Award and is one of the leading caravan parks in south walesPoppit Sands is a charming a place as the name suggests, the extensive natural sand dunes and boating jetties perfectly frame this pristine sandy beach. The views of:Cardigan BayTeifi estuaryThese are simply stunning and will literally take your breath away. Poppit is an ideal location to enjoy a full range of water activities or spend days on the beach with the family. The demanding waves make good sailing and surfing and the beach is safe for swimming with lifeguards present during the summer months. The northern end of the Pembrokeshire Coastal path begins here where an array of picture perfect views, panoramas and a rich variety of landscape and wildlife can be enjoyed. The unspoilt coastline is a haven for seals, porpoises and even bottle-nosed dolphins. Our park has been designed to offer you and your family a safe and fun experience. Our unique tropical heated pool complex " The Cove" has a retractable roof which allows you to enjoy the facility whatever the weather, making Cardigan Bay the ideal location for a short break, holiday or even a second home of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cardigan Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park Hotel St. Dogmaels
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park St. Dogmaels, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing