We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dog Friendly Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very nice site.Not to many caravans.Conveniently situated for Poppit Beach.Lovely indoor pool and bar.Caravan,a basic model,as we had a dog was very clean on arrival.Staff where very friendly and informative.Cardigan some 4 or so miles away has aTesco.an Aldi and Co-op for provisions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taffywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and that you and the dog had a great time, I shall pass on your nice words to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 461 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night break at the Cardigan Bay Holiday Park. Our caravan (Pembroke 3) was in superb condition and the kitchen and lounge facilities excellent The accommodation comprised of one large double bedroom and two twins although the beds in the twin bedrooms are not full sized singles, we found them perfectly adequate. The site was well maintained and the staff very helpful. We made use of the onsite swimming pool and also the two hot tubs in the area of the swimming pool were fabulous just to relax and chill out! Although we were there outside of the school holidays, we found this site quiet and ideal for a break away from it all! It is set in a good location and a short walk from Poppit Sands. We found fantastic bays and scenery just 10 minutes drive away and came home feeling totally relaxed and 'chilled out'. The area is full of oustanding natural coastal beauty and is the perfect getaway if you are lookiing for a restful, relaxing break! St Dogmaels is a 5 minute drive from the caravan park and there are a few restaurants/bars where you can have a meal. We will definiitely return to this site again as we loved the location and facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJones41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Sounds like you really had a wonderful time with us at Cardiagn Bay and we are pleased that you discovered so much of the area. You are right when you say it is an area of outstanding natual beauty. St Dogmaels and Poppit sands are both as charming as the names sound and its no surprise that they win the awards they do. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a nice weeks stay here in rainy Sept.

Staff were great and very helpful, even purchased extra heater for our caravan.

Lovely pool which our 2 year old loved.

Be aware there is no Vodafone reception but seems most of Wales is like that!

All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your review about how exeptional our staff were to you during your stay in September. I am pleased that you had a great time and I shall pass on your comments to the staff. see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend with 3 friends and2 puppies.
We arrived quite late on the Friday night so there wasn't a lot going on. The bar looked warm and cosy however we didn't go in as we has 2 puppy dogs with us. We found our caravan (was quite hard as was set back from the road and it was dark). The caravan was basic, but this was to be expected as we hired a caravan that took dogs, so this was nothing to complain about. However, the fire didn't work on the first night, we had a electric heater but the caravan was freezing! This issue was sorted out on the Saturday afternoon and Saturday night was lovely and cosy.
The camp site has a walk leading directly to the beach. The beach is gorgeous, it was full of people walking their dogs. There is a lovely little cafe in he beach that was open all weekend (incl Sunday) that served hot drinks and a wide selection of food!
The campsite was kept very well, manicured flower beds and all roads were clean. The pool looked nice, we didn't go in so unable to comment.
Was just a little too far for us to drive for a weekend otherwise would probably return for a dog friendly holiday!
Note: there is NO phone reception on site other that for Orange network.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Than you for your review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your holiday with us. I am sorry that you experienced a problem with the fire on the first night but happy that the staff sorted it out straight away. Unfortunaltly being in this beautiful part of Wales does have the odd drawback and phone reception can be hit or miss depending who you are with. However, free wi fi is available in the main building where many holidaymakers skype. A public phone is also available in the reception area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had an excellent September week at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park at Poppit Bay near St Dogmaels.

Beach is excellent and the local area meant we hardly ended up travelling more than 5 or 6 miles to enjoy the stunning coastline, the wildlife centre at Cardigan (huge marshes and really good modern visitor centre) and the castles and walks.


Much recommended. Try it.


Andrew & Rose Wilson

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and pleased that you and your family had a wonderful time with us. The park is five star and we do try our best to deliver what we promise. see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for a week first week of august. Caravan and park were well maintained and swimming pool is really great. Tried the clubhouse but was very quiet.
Beach a pleasant 10 minute walk and a further 10 minutes to the nearest pub, the Webley.
Very chilled place which we enjoyed but wouldnt fancy staying here without own transport, a little isolated.
Oh and a great nights sleep, caravan 100, very comfy dbl bed

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobsyerunkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've just come back from a weekend in one of the Pembroke caravan and loved it.
The caravan was very clean, the pool lovely and even when it was busy it was relatively quiet.
The site is very quiet and well maintained.

The beach is enormous and and in easy walking distance, the only drawback is that due to the number of boats in the estuary the sand is quite grubby and has a lot of diesel in it.

There was no entertainment when we were there which was perfect for us, we weren't looking for somewhere busy.

You need to be aware that apart from basic dishes etc there is nothing in your van and no shop on site. So you will need to go to Cardigan on your way to buy washing up liquid, food etc. There is a delivery service to the site for basics where you order from reception and pick up the next morning.

I would reccomend the site for families with young children without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank higginsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit, Owner at Cardigan Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for the review and pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. It sounds like you had a great few days away.

I hear that the bed in number 100 is very comfortable but have not tried it myself.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Dogmaels
1.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
835 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
451 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
0.5 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ffynonwen Country Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardigan Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardigan Bay Holiday Park

Address: Poppit Sands, St. Dogmaels SA43 3LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St. Dogmaels
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in St. Dogmaels
Price Range: $55 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cardigan Bay Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park is set in a peaceful and secluded south facing valley which is situated just 300 yards from the golden sands of Poppit Beach near to the town of Cardigan. The park is graded 5 star by Visit Wales and is the perfect base to Relax and Explore the surrounding area. It has recently been awarded the UK Seaside and Blue Flag Award and is one of the leading caravan parks in south walesPoppit Sands is a charming a place as the name suggests, the extensive natural sand dunes and boating jetties perfectly frame this pristine sandy beach. The views of:Cardigan BayTeifi estuaryThese are simply stunning and will literally take your breath away. Poppit is an ideal location to enjoy a full range of water activities or spend days on the beach with the family. The demanding waves make good sailing and surfing and the beach is safe for swimming with lifeguards present during the summer months. The northern end of the Pembrokeshire Coastal path begins here where an array of picture perfect views, panoramas and a rich variety of landscape and wildlife can be enjoyed. The unspoilt coastline is a haven for seals, porpoises and even bottle-nosed dolphins. Our park has been designed to offer you and your family a safe and fun experience. Our unique tropical heated pool complex " The Cove" has a retractable roof which allows you to enjoy the facility whatever the weather, making Cardigan Bay the ideal location for a short break, holiday or even a second home of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cardigan Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park Hotel St. Dogmaels
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park St. Dogmaels, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing