We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baglan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Friendly staff, room good size, bathroom bigger than usual premier inn. Just had a drink in the Beefeater, they were nice too. Caught bus into Port Talbot town, there is a spar, chippy and chinese takeway by the bus stop, not a lot tin Port talbot after shops shut.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Premier Inn Port Talbot. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and our staff would be more than happy to make some recommendations on the best places to go after the shops shut. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 309 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room for three, which was fine. The only big problem was The fact that is was way too hot in The room. When we went to bed it was over 27' and during The night it didn't cool off. When we complained in The morning they gave back our money! What a service!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Spot1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We’re really disappointed to hear that you didn’t have a great night sleep in our hotel due to the hot weather. Here at Premier Inn, it really matters to us that you enjoy your stay and we guarantee everything you need for a good night but sometimes things are out of our control – especially with the warm weather we’ve been having lately! Our team would have honoured the good night guarantee, and we hope that the hot temperature didn’t ruin your stay here with us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was great and the staff were lovely making me feel very welcome, but what made the difference were the staff at the Beefeater across from the hotel. Excellent staff and will definitely use again.





  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review! We’re really glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Your comments have been passed on to our premier inn and beefeater staff and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed over at this hotel in July to attend my sons graduation. As we booked ahead we got a really keen price for two rooms of £30 each one for my wife and myself and another for my son. The check in went smoothly and the guy behind the desk was very helpful not batting an eye lid when I changed our initial breakfast order to the £22.95 meal deal meaning we got an evening meal plus drink and a free breakfast. The rooms we received where first floor ours at the front overlooking the Beef eater and the car park the other a back room overlooking a small tree filled garden. I am not sure who got the best room as whilst our room at the front was brighter there was a tiny bit of noise from some of the younger punters leaving the Beef eater later in the evening whereas the back room was a bit gloomy with the shade from the trees meaning it was best to leave a light on all the time. Nevertheless both rooms where spacious very comfortable and had nicely appointed bathroom suites, The beds as bragged of by Premier Inn where extremely comfortable and we all had an excellent nights sleep. Next morning we enjoyed a nice well cooked breakfast with pleasant attentive staff one of whom took pains to supply my wife with the gluten free bread she requires claiming he would have it toasted in the kitchen as it burns easily. This Premier Inn is not in the same league as the Swansea Waterfront with it's views over the marina but it is small and comfortable parking is easy and there is a restaurant on site. When you add to this the attentive staff at both the hotel and the restaurant I have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone considering staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank stingytownman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you so much for writing such a kind review on our hotel and beefeater. We’re really happy that you enjoyed your stay at Premier Inn Port Talbot, and we’re really glad you enjoyed your breakfast in the beefeater located opposite the hotel. We rarely have any noise outside the hotel, so we really do apologise if the noise from the customers leaving the beefeater disturbed you. We’re glad to hear that the rooms were comfortable for you and that you had a great night sleep! Your lovely comments have been passed onto the hotel and beefeater staff and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

ideally located near the main routes for swansea or cardiff etc. food and drink in the beefeater a few steps from the front door. clean and comfortable rooms, very quiet considering location. good wi-fi, not free but cheap.

Room Tip: all on ground floor, suspect theres very little difference between rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berwyn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review on our hotel. Premier Inn Port Talbot is located in-between Swansea and Cardiff so we agree that its ideally located near to the main routes! We have the M4 motorway close by, and there are a few bus stops in the area that our guests will find easy to use, especially if you need to travel to one of the towns close by. Baglan train station is also a five minute walk away which is also another alternative. Our team work hard to ensure your rooms are comfortable and to make sure there is hardly any noise which could affect your stay so we’re really glad you had no issues during your stay with us. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed three nights at this hotel as it is convenient for visiting relatives.

We asked for a ground floor room which was spacious with a settee to sit on, a plus for us. The room is basic and as others have said, a bit tired, but it was perfectly clean and comfortable, apart from the level of heat in the room.

the heater was set to 24 degrees and couldn't be changed. The staff tried for us and were also unsuccessful. There was a small fan in the room which helped a little but not a great deal. It was a glorious weekend weather wise so this may not be an issue on cooler days.Other members of our party had rooms at the rear which seemed to be a bit cooler.

Our room looked out over the car park which could be a bit noisy with people coming from the pub being a bit on the loud side. for this reason, I'd recommend asking for a room at the rear of the hotel.

The staff were exceptionally good and nothing was too much trouble. They are a credit to Premier Inn.

The Beefeater inn ajoining the hotel is very good indeed and I'd really recommend it. We only visited there for our evening meals but the food was very good indeed. It seems very popular so booking is recommended, even for late afternoon. One tip, don't book online after about 3pm as the restaurant don't seem to receive it.

I will certainly stay here again when coming to visit relative and I look forward to seeing the result of the refurbishment. Hopefully then I will be able to give a higher star rating but for now I can't rate this as highly as some of the other Premier inns that I've stayed in. The staff are up there with the best though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, not overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank blueaerodynamique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. We’re glad you found the room comfortable although we are very sad to hear the room was quite hot during your stay here with us. The temperature in the rooms aren’t usually that high but due to the hot weather we have had recently our staff try their best to make sure all of our guests are kept as cool as possible.

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your time in the Beefeater and your kind comments have been passed onto the staff there. We would also recommend to anyone to book a table in the beefeater as it is quite a popular location with the locals and our guests, and reservations could be made at the reception desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A nicely position hotel just off the M4 before Swansea...I was training in Neath the following morning so booked a room and a meal day for just over £100.

Arrived to plenty of parking after a long drive from London. Very friendly member of staff on reception who apologized for the wait as she was dealing with a customer on the phone. Given keys to the room 15 and my voucher for some grub in the restaurant opposite.

Ground floor room facing the car park which TBH was showing signs of age especially the bathroom. Perfectly clean but not the normal premier inn standard. Good nights sleep apart from the odd car leaving at 5am but I did sleep with the window open!!

TBH, i keep buying the meal deal, which is £23 for a two course evening meal and unlimited breakfast in the morning but never end up eating too much as the quality is pretty basic. My own fault rather than Premier Inn considering you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We understand our hotel may seem a little dated. We are really looking forward to having a refurbishment of the hotel in October, so the rooms will be of the highest spec!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baglan
1.5 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
528 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
5.9 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Twelve Knights
The Twelve Knights
#3 of 7 in Port Talbot
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel

Address: Baglan Road, Baglan, Port Talbot SA12 8HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot > Baglan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baglan
Price Range: $60 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Port Talbot town centre and train station are only 1.5 miles away. Local attractions include Aberavon beach, Swansea Bay and Gower Peninsula. Our Port Talbot Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, en suite bathrooms and incredibly comfy beds in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel Baglan, Neath Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing