We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baglan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We use this as our reserve 6 nations hotel and it always wants us to make it our number 1, it's only the distance from Cardiff that prevents it but sayimg that we always love the train journey back from the match! The staff our amazing and so helpful even when we might have had a few too many after the rugby! As always the rooms are exceptionally clean and well maintained and at just ove a hundred pounds for two nights on a match day weekend it's superb value, try it you will wonder why you spend top dollar in Cardiff!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonesy_boy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We thank you for your continued support of our hotel.

I am glad that the hotels in Cardiff fill so quickly during the 6 nations so you stay with us.

It is though very unfortuante that we are so far from Cardiff for you during this time but i am very glad you take advantage of the closeness of the train station.
Thank you for all the lovely things you said about the staff and the hotel at Port Talbot, we are very grateful.
I look forward to seeing you next year. ( in our newly improved and refurbished hotel -due to take place at the end of this year -2014)

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 306 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

As always the staff are very pleasant but the hotel is in need of a makeover. And who thought of putting the light switch for the bathroom on the wall next to the main light?!! This means that if you get up in the middle of the night to use the bathrom, there is every danger that you will put on the wrong light and wake up the other person(s) in the room!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesboradoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your honest comments with respect to your stay with us.

We really appreciate your review, especially your very kind remarks about the staff.

As far as the 'in need of a makeover' I am very happy to be able to let you know that we have been informed that we will be receiving a well needed upgrade at the end of the year. ( I know that some of it is due to guests like yourselves writing these kinds of reviews-so we thank you very very much)

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again to our new and improved site in 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had a very comfortable stay in Premier Inn for a very good price at the occasion. My bed was okay, heating very good, TV working, some milk and more to prepare a tea (if I wanted), towels okay, silence okay... I recommend! I just can't say so much about the location, as my friends ever picked me up to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Мозарт Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for passing on your very positive experience at Premier Inn Port Talbot on TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate it.

We do apologise that our location wasn't ideal for you on this occasion.

but we do hope that this won't stop you from staying with us if the situation calls for it in the future.

xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas and New Year. The hotel is getting near to having a refurb, but the rooms are still ok.
On the first visit, we found the receptionist to be friendly and helpful. However, she did ask too many personal questions. I would generally hope that reception staff at Premier Inn would remain professional, and to the point.
As it was Christmas, the breakfast service was limited. This had to be ordered the night before (by the item). Also, not everything was offered. It was to be brought up to the room at 9am. When it did arrive, it was late, and not of the quality one would expect.
Also, on Friday 27th December, breakfast was not served until 7am. However, this is not a bank holiday, so should have been served from 6:30am.
Also, the towel rail heater in our room was not working - I did inform them of this after the first visit.
For the second visit, things got worse. The receptionist really did ask too many personal questions, and did not stick to the check-in procedure. We were given the same room, still with the broken towel rail (and I was surprised about this, given I had raised the issue last time). Also, the room was cold overnight, and we were not as comfortable this time around.
We reported all the issues to the receptionist the next morning, and she did try and escape the conversation by indulging into further small talk about the previous evening (not a good move).
After the stay, we did report our concerns to the hotel management. They could not have been more apologetic about the whole thing, and were very keen to rectify the situation.
It was very pleasing to see that Premier Inn take matters raised so seriously.

Room Tip: I always avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinkySpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great stay friiendly staff, warm and comfy room,what more could you want at the prices they charge ? Great location for Mountain Biking @ Afan. We will be back. We even got to take bikes into room avoiding leaving them in cars

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for such great feedback. We really appreciate you taking your time to write it. The Premier Inn and the Afan Mountains look forward to seeing you again very soon.Maybe next time the weather will be a little warmer for your ride.Spring is on its way.

All the best

Port Talbot
Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A great place to stay for a business trip, friendly and helpful staff. Easy to get to from M4. Rooms quiet although near motorway. Lots of hot water, good sized towels. Extra tea bags and milk were asked for and was given a bag full.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPortTalbot, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank You very much for taking time out of your day to fill this out. We appreciate your very kind and thoughtful feedback. I am glad you were supplied with everything that you needed, including the extra milk and tea that I hope you put to good use, by making many well deserved cups of tea after being at work.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
from the team at:-
Port Talbot
Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was our third premier inn stop, and it remains a good value choice. This particular one was not as nice/modern as the previous two, but was still a sensible choice to stay.

Rooms were a bit smaller than previous, but clean. For some reason, all the light switches were by the front door which is annoying at night when you want to use the bathroom!

The quality of the breakfast was ok, but not as good as we have had elsewhere, e.g. the cooked tomato my wife asked for was raw with grill marks on it...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking time to fill it out.

We are really glad you chose to stay with us at Port Talbot Premier Inn, while on your trip.I hope the rest of your time over here was enjoyable.
We would really like to thank you for your honest comments and I am delighted to be able to advise that we are due a refurbishment now thanks to comments like yours,at the end of the year (2014).

We would like to apologise for the experience you had in the restaurant. The comments you made have been passed on to the management team to be worked out.

We look forward to welcoming you to the new and improved Port Talbot Premier Inn next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baglan
1.5 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
522 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
754 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Twelve Knights
The Twelve Knights
#3 of 7 in Port Talbot
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel

Address: Baglan Road, Baglan, Port Talbot SA12 8HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot > Baglan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baglan
Price Range: $59 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently positioned within easy reach of the M4. For shops and local amenities Port Talbot town centre and train station are only 1.5 miles away. Local attractions include Aberavon beach, Swansea Bay and Gower Peninsula. Our Port Talbot Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, en suite bathrooms and incredibly comfy beds in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel Baglan, Neath Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing