We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simon's Perfect 50th Birthday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of RIVER VIEW

PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
You need a great place with great service with great choices! Loads of group booking  experience!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
You need a great place with great service with great choices! Loads of group booking  experience!
Safe River View Area
Left for Restaurant, Right for Communal room
large garden with decking area and BBQ area
Thai restaurant onsite!
Can be catered or self catered or a bit of both!
Large communal TV lounge
Commercial grade kitchen
2 singles or 1 superking...up to you!
single superkings and bunks!
modern comfortable bedrooms
Thai or English menu
River walks...at the foot of the garden!
canal walks...right outside!
A Cartref Holidays PERFECT VIEW property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Neath, Neath Port Talbot, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beverley...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simon's Perfect 50th Birthday”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the very first contact Robert was incredibly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and regular contact was made before the event.
We took over the whole venue and the Restaurant was solely for our usage during the evening.
During the afternoon we had free reign to prepare for the party, decorations and table settings welcomed.
The bedrooms were clean and comfortable......many laughs being created as bunk bed options were available!
Ample bathrooms and showers.
Clean towels and bedding.
The chef was incredible assisting people who had not eaten Thai before to make their choices.
The communal area allowed for people to socialise and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere.
Breakfast was food a plenty!

A fantastic venue for a group gathering. Very laid back allowing flexibility for 'your own' party ideas.

Thank you Robert and staff. You made Simon's 50th Birthday a wonderful celebration and allowed us to make fabulous memories.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
You are all very welcome and thank you for bringing out all the aspects that we work hard to provide. Pleasure to welcome you and glad Simon's birthday celebration went so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thanks guys. It was a pleasure. Dont forget our fabulous value winter breaks with indoor activities included.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt D
1 review
“First rate group accommodation with a host who could not have been more helpful!”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I had the daunting but honourable task of arranging a weekend away for a stag do with up to 25 guests. It had to be close to a good night out and have a good selection of activities. Having filtered the country by the group size, River View stuck out due to its location being both 20 mins from Swansea for a night out and 20 minutes away from the Afan Valley bike trails which we thought would be (and which was) a great activity!

As soon as I first spoke to Bob, the host, I knew that this was going to be a great place to stay, but I hadn't realised how incredibly helpful he would be in making my task easier. Firstly, they have a fantastic Thai restaurant which they happily closed to the public for us to eat at. They also provided food for the other night of our stay and were happy to stagger it as we arrived. Bob and his staff took care of pre-booking taxis, providing packed lunches for us and pretty much covering my back for anything I might have forgotten. I could not have hoped to find a more helpful and useful guy to help me run the weekend. He was extremely good with payment too, understanding how difficult it can be to secure money from each member of the group and giving me as much time as possible to settle up before the weekend began.

In the end we had about 20 guests, all of whom had a fantastic time and would have been as happy to write a similarly glowing review as I am. The garden was large enough for an enjoyable game of cricket and has a fixed BBQ and a decked seating area. The rooms are furnished to a reasonable standard, perfectly adequate for what we needed that reflected the price quite nicely. Everything was nice and clean and the kitchen and lounge area that is available to use by guests is comfortable and well equipped.

The house is located right by the river so some of us enjoyed some refreshing morning walks, it is incredibly picturesque and isolated enough to be loud late into the evening without disturbing the neighbours.

All in all, I would highly recommend River View to anyone with similar requirements to mine. I'd also recommend it for group weekends for churches, scouts or other community groups etc.

Thanks again Bob for a brilliant weekend!

Date of stay: March 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
It was a great pleasure to take away any of the worries associated with organising for a large group and the guys were a pleasure to host. Thanks for such a full appraisal of the service we offer and the area in which we are located, especially the point of how diverse the area is and how easy it is to combine fun, activities and a good night out. Hope to meet you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahlfbu...
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekend away at a Brilliant Venue”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I booked Riverview House for my Husbands 30th Birthday as we had previously had a fantastic weekend away at Valley View (same owners) a couple of years before.
We were a large group of nearly 30 people and wanted somewhere where we could celebrate and relax without feeling conscious of noise and we weren't disappointed!!
From the first call made to Bob to leaving on the Sunday, I cannot stress enough how amazing and flexible the staff were. We had exclusive use of the house and restaurant for the weekend and were pretty much left to our own devises, with the exception of the Saturday night where they catered for all of us in the amazing Thai restaurant (more of that later)
The House - The communal areas were great and were the perfect size for our group. We were lucky enough to have use of the main kitchen for the Friday night, but the smaller kitchen in the communal area would have been sufficient if this wasn't available. Unfortunately the weather did not allow us to use the main garden at the back of the property however an all weather garden had just been finished with access from the Communal room, which was great for the smokers in our group (and would lend itself perfectly to be a small putting green) The Bedrooms were practical, clean and spacious and most importantly the beds were very comfortable and the showers were hot.
The Restaurant - We had exclusive use of the restaurant on the Saturday night and Bob and the team came in to cook and serve a fantastic Thai meal. Our group was 28 in total and included 2 people that required a gluten free menu (which was no bother at all) The food was amazing and came out quickly and piping hot. Our friends still rave about it.
I cannot recommend Riverview house and The Railway Thai table enough for Large groups. We are already looking at dates to return next year,

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
What a fantastic review! Thank you. It was a pleasure to see you all enjoying a good old family get together and our job was made easy by the relaxed atmosphere you created. Terrible weather and my only regret...next time, great fun in the garden I hope! We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julip85
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We went here for a hen party and it was an excellent location, rooms were very clean and spacious. The best part was the owner, he was so friendly and accommodating, he did everything to make sure our stay went well and we had a good time, he helped organise taxis to Swansea and even went above and beyond and took us to tesco when we were in a situation. The food at the attached Thai restraunt is also amazing and very handy!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2016
Thank you so much for your valued review. It was no trouble to help when needed...all part of the service!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Value for Money!”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A hen do of 16 stayed in River View for a night. We arrived earlier than check in stated was allowed but this was absolutely no problem for Rob who promptly helped us carry all our bags in. The rooms were clean and all had a hair dryer (which was very much appreciated by our group). We knew that they would have bunk beds as it states it on the write up about the property and also there are picture. We had a private room downstairs where we could congregate or the massive garden outside (this had the sun all day - the weather was perfect). It was completely private for us. We were allowed to take all our own alcohol and snacks which was a big plus. There are beautiful walks nearby and if you walk up the canal path and reach the lock, the family in the house opposite are very helpful - allowing us to use their loo and giving us a bottle of vodka for the walk back (it took roughly an hour to walk there). We had the Thai food in the evening which was delicious and any leftovers were put in containers for us to take home. I didn't stay for breakfast as I had to leave early but everyone who stayed said it was lovely. Lovely relaxing stay. Would definitely visit again and have been telling all my friends about it.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming, relaxing feel, nothing was a problem!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2016
Thank you so much. The weather certainly makes the most of our lovely garden and walks right on the doorstep. The kindness of our distant neighbors is typical of the friendliness of our local people but be warned...bottles of vodka are not to be expected!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The eating area which was the restaurant had ample of seating place.The mattresses, quilt and pillows were nice and soft.It had lots of toilets, basically one for each room.People who came to give us key were very welcoming and helpful.
Liked least: The room size was very disappointing.Too cramped with bunk beds.Partners has to sleep separately which they weren't very happy about.Not enough big cooking utensil for 28 people.Some rooms were dirty and smelt of cigarette.not value for money.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Hi
Thank you for the feedback and I'm sorry you were dissapointed in some areas.
I must point out that you were emailed a detailed plan of the sleeping arrangements.
I must point out that reports of members of your group smoking in the property against policy would have been the reason smoke smell was experienced. A full clean had established no smoking by the previous group over a week previous.
The kitchen is sanitised and spotless and supported by our Five Star hygiene rating as regularly and substancially monitored by the local authority. Five people work in the kitchen on busy nights so the space issue is somewhat misleading.
The communal room carpet is shampooed periodically but as a commercial business, it is fair to say this cannot be done weekly. I would however suggest that footwear would be advisable in any commercial premises as they are premises of multiple use.
I do feel that, on reflection, River View was not ideal for your family group but Would respectfully point out that we go out of our way to inform and assist at every point. Our previous reviews would support this.
I would also point out that your group had entered a secured restricted area and caused damage which we have ignored as we appreciate you would be unable to answer for members of your group at all times and did not wish to cause you any distress. Organising for a large group is a difficult task and frustration can lead to a need to look for reasons for shortcomings on either side.
I am pleased you enjoyed your time in the area .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing