We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lemon tart to start with...”
Review of Le Petit Bulle

Le Petit Bulle
Ranked #6 of 99 Restaurants in Neath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: French, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family run French styled bistro, serving fish & vegetables sourced from Neath's historic Victorian indoor market & meats from Gwrhyd Mountain meats (Pontardawe). Opening Times: Wednesday, Thursday & Friday lunchtimes- 12:00-14:30, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday - 18:00-23:00 Full A La Carte Bistro menu (last meal order 20:30) Saturday- 12:00-24:00 - continuous service (last meal order 20:30, Plat du Jour from 12:00 - 15:00) Sunday traditional lunch -from 12:30 - 19:00 (last meal order, 15:30 - booking essential please see our website for music events). We also offer flexible opening times to suit specific parties and events, please call to discuss your requirements. Enjoy our friendly ambience where all are welcome and enjoy a meal or join us for Champagnes, wines & continental beers and cidres, which can be accompanied by charcuterie or fromage platters within our bar area - we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Found this restaurant by chance, we decided to have only coffee and cake as we had had lunch already but gosh that was so worth it. I am not big on desserts but the Tarte au citron is amazing, The coffee was great too and 'les patrons' very friendly and cared about our experience, not like in these places where you are just a face.
We are planing on going back this week to try the menu and this place will more than likely become our 'local'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwel G, Owner at Le Petit Bulle, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Merci a votre critique, we are always delighted when we are reviewed from either a frequent visitor to France or a French national as it gives us a chance to discuss the authenticity of what we are trying to deliver. We look forward to welcoming you,your husband and young son again.
Au revoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 387 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

this little restaurant is such a jewel. It has opened in Neath and is run by the owners Arwel and Jane. I think the maximum covers are about 20 so you certainly have a nice cosy feeling about the place and by the end of a very entertaining evening with lively chat from the host Arwel, you feel you have just eaten out with a group of friends whilst still able to have your own company on your table.
Jane, his wife is the Chef with son Tom lending a helping hand. ALL the food is cooked from scratch and so all the wonderful flavours of the food come through. Don't go there expecting small portions, even if you tell them small you will find yourself being indulged with 'Man size' helpings.
Whilst my husband is a carnivore, I am a veggie and yet a call to their restaurant and they ask if you have any preferences and if not, go to be delighted as Jane knows that Veggie means separate cooking of the food and 'Nothing with a face' so all cheese is checked and all ingredients so you can eat with confidence that she knows her stuff.
And if that is not enough, the prices are very realistic with a bottle of house around £12 and if you ask for a beer you get a full pint bottle.
Cannot recommend it enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwel G, Owner at Le Petit Bulle, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are committed to not offering the 'ready meal' option to our vegetarian diners, too often the only option in some venues and are more than happy to accommodate individual tastes and preferences whenever possible. You are correct in your review that our food is cooked from scratch and so we can be confident of ingredients and can give sound information for those with food preferences and allergies. We are always conscious of our pricing structure especially when menu and wine list changes are made and are committed to continuing to offer value for money. We look forward to seeing you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Love how quaint and gorgeous it looks, a proper mini French bistro! So nice to have a restaurant with fresh produce from our local market. Defiantly a must for any foodies who are fed up of the same old pub grub in Neath.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vixjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwel G, Owner at Le Petit Bulle, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you ,we have tried our best with the décor, after many years of visiting France and picking up ideas our aim was to attempt to reproduce the ambience and feel of the French bistro. This coupled with our determined approach to using fresh produce and sourcing as much as we can from Neath's historic indoor market seems to be working at the moment and we hope it will continue to please our diners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Once again Arwel and Jane, ably supported by their pleasant staff, produced a first rate menu. An ideal taster menu of French cuisine - seabass with fennel, chicken breast stuffed with sausage meat and lardon, scallops, crispy duck served with puy lentils, hot cabbage salad and lardons, fish dumplings with a langoustine sauce (heaven) and finally profiteroles with 3 sauces (raspberry, white chocolate and blueberry). With quality wines and coffee to finish what more could you ask for?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwel G, Owner at Le Petit Bulle, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we thoroughly enjoyed being able to deliver a celebratory Bastille menu, and the comments from all who attended have been fantastic, it was great fun and have confirmed to us that our special set menu nights are something that we will continue to do - Beaujolais Nouveau here we come!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have been very fortunate to eat at this restaurant on many occasions and have never been disappointed. From the wonderful menu and food, attentive and charming service to a very talented chef, this restaurant offers it all. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FamilyPhillips2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwel G, Owner at Le Petit Bulle, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your very generous comments, we are building a band of regular diners, and are very pleased that you and your family and friends are part of that excellent group of patrons who have supported and encouraged us. We hope that you continue to dine with us and continue to enjoy your experiences at Le Petit Bouchon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Bulle also viewed

Neath, Neath Port Talbot
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Le Petit Bulle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing