We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay here if you want a tranquil and relaxing...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bwthyn Felgaws Graded 5 Star by Wales Tourist Board
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bwthyn Felgaws Graded 5 Star by Wales Tourist Board
Private Drive and ample parking and private garden Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Bwthyn Felgaws Graded 5 Star by Wales Tourist Board
Private Drive and ample parking and private garden
Master Bedroom
Lounge
Large well equipped kitchen
Very Spacious Lounge
Lounge
Log Fire at Christmas Time
Christmas in the Cottage
Twin Bedroom
Downstairs shower room
Large kitchen with breakfast bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Neath, Neath Port Talbot, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ununpenti...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here if you want a tranquil and relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We last stayed here in July 2013, and we were eager to come back and see if it was still as good as we remembered. In fact- it was better! When we arrived in 2013 we fell in love with the cottage but there were a couple of negatives (old television, wifi did not work well and there not being any washing up liquid and sponges provided). This time around there was some lovely little touches in the kitchen- sugar, tea bags, salt and pepper, a sponge and a cloth (however we had to buy washing up liquid). The wifi had obviously been changed/upgraded and there was a strong signal downstairs- good enough for us to watch Netflix on the new flatscreen TV that was provided!

Upstairs the wifi did not work terribly well but it did not concern us at all as we only went upstairs to sleep. The bed was as great as I remembered (it is huge!) the only downside was the pillows that we found quite hard.

When we arrived, we noticed that an extension was being built onto the cottage. Initially I feared that our stay would be blighted by construction work and noise, but fortunately no work was done on it while we were there. The garden is extremely spacious and there is some garden furniture provided.

The cottage is in a nice quiet and tranquil area which is perfect if you want a relaxing place to come to. The sat nav does not find it easily and it will tell you you've arrived when really you need to keep driving up the country lane for another 5 mins! It's centrally located for visiting Cardiff, Swansea, Neath, Gower. We discovered the Aberdulais Tinworks and Waterfall which was breathtaking and worth a visit.

We will look forward to returning and seeing what the extension is like! There is so much in south wales left for us to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet setting
Liked least: The pillows
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishRo...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional accommodation, perfect stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We could not speak more highly of this cottage. It was stunning and our stay was perfect. We travelled down to spend New Year with our family locally and this 5* warm, welcoming 'picture postcard' cottage provided us with the perfect setting. The Christmas tree and decorations around the fireplace just made it even more special given the time of year. The photographs do not come close to how beautiful this cottage is in reality.
With two young children with us it gave us the space we needed to relax and the owners had made some extra special touches to make even their young guests feel welcome; a giant teddy in their bedroom, small traditional bears on their beds and scooters by the front door! These extra special touches were very thoughtful and certainly went above and beyond. There were also plenty of toys within the cottage for the children to use which was lovely.
I love to cook and was in awe of the kitchen, so spacious and well planned out - it even had an american fridge freezer! I cooked a full Christmas roast dinner and found everything I needed to do so, including a choice of roasting tins. Upon arrival dishcloths, bin bags and a dishwasher tablet had been left to get us through the first 24 hours which was much appreciated.
The owners have clearly responded to guest feedback as the cottage featured a flat screen TV of over 42" and the wifi was good - powerful enough for our children to simultaneously stream on demand TV within the cottage. Everything within the cottage was of very good quality and the finish as a result is outstanding. Although we did not stay in them, the two lodges on the farm also look to be of very good quality.
Over our New Year break the area suffered a lot of rain as a result of the latest storm to hit the UK, however the farm and cottage were fully accessible. It was very warm and cosy, there was no problem with water on the farm or on the approach roads. We look forward to returning at a drier time of year when we filmier like venturing outdoors to make the most of the rest of the facilities!
We would recommend this property and its owners without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The exceptionally high quality finish
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddy161
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic, spacious, warm cottage with everything you need.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wonderful cottage, photos do not do it justice. Everything you need. Wifi access did not work but did not matter for us. Property has a sky box so bring your own sky card for full sky channels. Very warm, clean and comfortable. Will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, comfortable, quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flocktonf...
wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is a nice property but is short of 5 star quality”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Overall the house was a good size and roomy with nice touches (although the nude paintings were a bit unusual for a holiday home)
The main issue was the very poor wifi. This is something all guests seem to have had problems with. Although advertised as free it was patchy and unreliable. The owner will say it was due to BT work in the area, but more due to the cabling between the main house and the cottage being dodgy, and the lack of sufficient bandwith. No basics provided at all (salt/pepper, dishwasher tablets etc..) and a TV that was very clunky and on last legs. Owner made aware of our feedback but no response

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good size and comfort
Liked least: Poor wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilini301
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect relaxing holiday”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We had the perfect, relaxing holiday we were after... The house is lovely... Spacious, clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated... The garden is as large as it looks in the pictures... Our three year old loved running the width and breadth of it... There were plenty of games and toys to keep our little girl happy. The owners were very helpful and responded to any queries very fast ( even on email before getting there) There's a big tesco close by, which we found useful and the house has a huge fridge to hold all you buy!.All in all perfect place to relax and unwind... Would love to be back... Have recommended to so many already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherT1...
1 review
“Perfect christmas”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had the most peaceful, restful christmas at the cottage! It was stunning! Everything you could think of was provided including plenty of toys & games for our children!A beautiful location & the most perfect christmas we've ever had! None of us wanted to leave. A very special thank you from the Taylor family!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing