We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freezing cold with awful food.”
Review of Buffalo Bill

Buffalo Bill
Ranked #7 of 106 Restaurants in Neath
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family run business with a passion for excellence and amazing food! Nothing is too much for us to do for our customer's happiness. We do not aim to satisfy...we aim to amaze!!!
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I visited jamaican Jill's in November. It was 3 degrees outside but the owners couldn't even bother to make their guests comfortable by putting the heating on. We waited 45 mins for our meze starter for 2. Which cost 11 pounds but was not worth more than 7 . We then waited another 30 mins for our mains.. hubby chose the goat curry which he wasn't impressed with. I chose the jerk pork which was laughable. There was no hint of jerk or indeed any spiciness. The pork was covered with mint sauce !!!!!! Mint sauce goes with lamb and not pork!!!! If we had been paying full price this meal would have cost a hefty 40 pounds. But we were on a voucher but even then it was poor value. No wonder it was so quiet there. Never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElaineG32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We are very sorry you had a bad experience. On the night you attended everyone who booked chose to enjoy the Jamaican Jill menu seated in front in Buffalo Bills as we allow for people to eat from either menu wherever they sit. We were happy for you to sit in Jamaican Jill's despite the fact that it meant we were splitting the staff and service for only your table of two on a voucher offer because we believe what the customer wants is what matters. We did have the heating on but it was turned up for your use when you made your request. It might have taken some time to warm up and for that we apologise. Regarding the wait for food, whilst it was quiet in your section, out front was very busy and we apologise for any delay in service. The jerk pork is served with either mint or jerk sauce and you have an option when ordering.

The West Indian Mexe remains everyone's firm favourite so we are surprised you did not enjoy it. It's a starter for 2 with Saltfish fritters, jerk chicken wings, creole prawns, mutton curry with mango chutney and mint raitta! How could that be not worth £11.00? We will not accept this critique as being either reasonable or fair.

Notwithstanding we value your opinions and regret you were not happy with your experience. Please come again as we are sure we can make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 247 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went up for the weekend for a family wedding. Stayed at the Bluebell Hotel. Buffalo Bill's was just up the road. Had the most amazing meal. Presentation was amazing as was the food. Definitely one to go back too. Thoroughly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to visit us on your short trip. We trust you enjoyed the wedding and are pleased that we did not disappoint. We enjoyed having you and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a super duper meal last night.. Really nice to have some different cuisine! Food was superb and the service was fab.. Looking forward to trying the Sunday Buffet, will be returning really soon

Thank Lisalews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Shamazing! Thanks for this wonderful review. It was great fun serving you. See you at a Sunday Buffet soon! :0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Well...heard a lot about this Jamaican buffet from good friends who frequent buffalo bills...and it has to be said we were impressed....stunning food and lovely atmosphere which you only find in family run restaurants. The staff were really helpful and Bernie who is the life and soul of the place. Have already booked to go again....thanks again guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jonny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thanks for your kind review. We are pleased the buffet has taken off so well. Some say its a welcome alternative from the normal Sunday lunch! We enjoy making you all happy. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and friendly service and the food looked pretty with attention to presentation but ribs were cold and gristly and tough. Burger was average and ice cream was pretty tasteless and £5!! No wonder there isnt a dessert menu. Who would order icecream for a fiver? Gutted because I had heard good things about this place and was hoping for a taste sensation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RDJReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We are sorry you weren't completely happy with your experience but are surprised that there was no mention of any issues whilst you were with us. We always make a point of speaking with our customers with the view to ensuring they are totally satisfied. Regarding dessert menu we make homemade desserts and it fluctuates daily hence a menu would hinder chef's creativity. We do however state the price on the night so the choice is yours. We also are proud of our homemade Ice creams which have developed a reputation. And are surprised you found any to be tasteless but we have to accept that this is your subjective view. We note you are a Senior Contributor and therefor believe your views are genuine and so we take them on board and sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. Do come again and we are sure you will have a much better time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Bill also viewed

Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Buffalo Bill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing